Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien
News
06.04.2020

"The MSI-TN is doing a wonderful job" - Statements from Tamil Nadu

At the second international Annual Conference of the Multi Stakeholder Initiative Tamil Nadu (MSI-TN) we interviewed some of the conference attendees. Among other things, we asked them how they assess the work of the MSI-TN, how they work with the MSI-TN and what their wishes for the future are.

Mr. A. Narayanasamy, General Manager, Armstrong Spinning Mills

Often the workers in the factories come from different districts and the factory management notes a lack awareness of their rights. This is where the cooperation with the MSI-TN and their trainings pays off: “We are very impressed what the MSI-TN is doing and offering. For example, workers should know what is their salary, what is social compliance and everything. […] We have to keep our workers happy, at the same time business has to continue. […] So yes, if our workers are happy, we are also happy.”

Renida Sarala, Director of WORD (Women's Organisation in Rural Development)

WORD is a non-governmental organisation (NGO) based in the Namakkal district of Tamil Nadu. The organisation is committed to the promotion of the rural population, especially women and children. WORD Director Sarala on the cooperation with the MSI-TN: “In many mills the girls living there have no sufficient salary, no sufficient rest and no good food. To address these problems, I got in touch with the MSI-TN and we started to work inside the textile mills. Initially, it is difficult to get access to the mills. They do not allow us to work inside the mills. But with the help of the MSI-TN dialogue team we are slowly entering to the mills. This is a great help for us.”

Dr. K. Venkatachalam, Chief Advisor, Tamil Nadu Spinning Mills Association (TASMA)

“The MSI-TN is doing a wonderful job. They are taking care of the workers employed in the textile and apparel industry here in Tamil Nadu”, says Venkatachalam from TASMAabout the MSI-TN. His association will continue to support the MSI-TN so that it can become active in even more districts. Among other things, he highlighted the posters that the MSI-TN provides to the factories: „Safety posters can also be printed in the local languages and displayed in various places prominently so that everyone who crosses the area would understand that these are all the obligations to maintain the safety and the dignity of workers. They help make the factories a good and safe place.”

Dr. K. Rajeswari, Programme Manager, MSI-TN

The engagement as a woman for women is a very personal issue for Rajeswari: „I work as a programme manager for the MSI-TN. In my life, I got a lot of opportunities, that is why I am standing in front of you. But there are lot of women having a lot of potential but still standing in the dark. But once we meet them and give them training, they are getting empowered and they understand what their potential is. Personally, I am happy that I am able to do a certain service for the women. That makes me very happy.”

Prabhu Dhamodharan, Convener, Indian Texpreneurs Federation (ITF)

Dhamodharan (ITFemphasised the importance of providing training and further education for the workers: “We need a more empowered workforce. […] We should take them to the next level, so that everyone takes its own responsibility in achieving excellence. So we need to improve the knowledge and skills of the workers. And we need to ensure that they are working in a happy environment. The aim of our association is to create a happy work place.” The collaboration with the MSI-TN and the other stakeholders helps all, "to work more in progressive goals and make the world more sustainable.”

"The MSI-TN helps..."

Moreover we asked the conference attendees for short statements:

Share this article

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
© Copyright - Partnership for Sustainable Textiles

„Die MSI-TN macht wunderbare Arbeit“ – Stimmen aus Tamil Nadu

Aktuelles
31.03.2020

„Die MSI-TN macht wunderbare Arbeit“ – Stimmen aus Tamil Nadu

Bei der zweiten internationalen Jahreskonferenz der Multi-Stakeholder-Initiative Tamil Nadu (MSI-TN) haben wir einige Teilnehmende interviewt. Dabei haben wir sie unter anderem gefragt, wie sie die Arbeit der MSI-TN beurteilen, wie sie mit ihr zusammenarbeiten und welche Wünsche sie für die Zukunft haben.

Mr. A. Narayanasamy, General Manager, Armstrong Spinning Mills

Oft kommen die Arbeiter*innen in den Fabriken aus ganz unterschiedlichen Distrikten und die Fabrikleitung stellt bei vielen ein mangelndes Bewusstsein für die eigenen Rechte fest. Gerade hier zahle sich die Zusammenarbeit mit der MSI-TN und ihren Trainings aus: “Wir sind sehr beeindruckt von der Arbeit und dem Angebot der MSI-TN. Zum Beispiel sollten die Arbeiterinnen und Arbeiter wissen, wie hoch ihr Gehalt ist, was Social Compliance ist. […] Wir müssen dafür sorgen, dass unsere Arbeiterschaft zufrieden ist; gleichzeitig muss das Geschäft weitergehen. […] Wenn unsere Arbeiterinnen und Arbeiter glücklich sind, sind wir es auch.”

Renida Sarala, Director of WORD (Women's Organisation in Rural Development (WORD)

WORD ist eine eingetragene Nichtregierungsorganisation (NGO) mit Sitz im Distrikt Namakkal in Tamil Nadu. Die Organisation engagiert sich für die Förderung der Landbevölkerung, insbesondere von Frauen und Kindern. WORD-Direktorin Sarala über die Zusammenarbeit mit dem MSI-TN: „Die Frauen und Mädchen, die auf dem Fabrikgelände wohnen, bekommen oft zu wenig Lohn und kein gutes Essen. Außerdem können sich nicht ausreichend von der Arbeit erholen. Um diese Probleme anzugehen, habe ich mich an die MSI-TN gewandt und wir haben angefangen, direkt in den Fabriken tätig zu werden. Anfangs ist es oft schwierig, Zugang zu den Fabriken zu bekommen. Das Fabrikmanagement lässt uns nicht rein. Aber mithilfe des Dialogteams der MSI-TN kommen wir nach und nach in die Fabriken. Das ist eine große Hilfe für uns“.

Dr. K. Venkatachalam, Chief Advisor, Tamil Nadu Spinning Mills Association (TASMA)

„Die MSI-TN macht wunderbare Arbeit. Sie kümmern sich um die Arbeiterinnen und Arbeiter in der Textilindustrie hier in Tamil Nadu“, lobte Venkatachalam von TASMA. Sein Verband werde die MSI-TN auch weiterhin unterstützen, damit sie in noch mehr Distrikten tätig werden könne. Er hob unter anderem die Poster hervor, die die MSI-TN den Fabriken zur Verfügung stellt: „Poster mit Sicherheitshinweise können in den lokalen Sprachen ausgedruckt werden und prominent an verschiedenen Orten in den Fabriken aufgehängt werden. Jeder der an ihnen vorbeikommt, versteht so, worauf er oder sie achten muss, um für Sicherheit am Arbeitsplatz zu sorgen. So tragen die Poster der MSI-TN dazu bei, die Fabriken zu guten und sicheren Arbeitsstätten zu machen.“

Dr. K. Rajeswari, Programm-Managerin, MSI-TN

Der Einsatz als Frau für Frauen ist Rajeswari ein ganz persönliches Anliegen: „Ich arbeite als Programm-Managerin für die MSI-TN. In meinem Leben habe ich viele Chancen bekommen, weshalb ich jetzt in dieser Funktion vor Ihnen stehe. Aber es gibt viele Frauen, die zwar viel Potenzial haben, dieses aber nicht sichtbar machen und ausschöpfen können. Aber wenn wir sie bei den Fabriktrainings treffen, werden sie gestärkt und verstehen, was ihr Potenzial und ihre Stärken sind. Ich persönlich bin froh, dass ich die Arbeiterinnen auf diese Weise unterstützen kann. Das macht mich sehr glücklich.“

Prabhu Dhamodharan, Convener, Indian Texpreneurs Federation (ITF)

Dhamodharan (ITF) betonte, wie wichtig es ist, die Arbeiter*innen gezielt aus- und fortzubilden: “Wir brauchen ein stärkeres Empowerment der Belegschaften in den Fabriken. […] Wir sollten sie dabei unterstützen, ihre individuelle Verantwortung für das Erreichen von guten Leistungen zu übernehmen. Wir müssen also das Wissen und die Fähigkeiten der Arbeitnehmer ausbauen. Und wir müssen dafür sorgen, dass sie in einem würde- und respektvollen Arbeitsumfeld arbeiten. Das Ziel unseres Verbandes ist es, einen guten Arbeitsplatz zu schaffen.” Die Zusammenarbeit mit der MSI-TN und den anderen Stakeholdern helfe allen Beteiligten dabei, „gemeinsam an ambitionierten Zielen zu arbeiten und die Welt nachhaltiger zu machen.“

"The MSI-TN helps..."

Außerdem haben wir die Teilnehmenden der Konferenz um kurze Statements gebeten:

Diesen Beitrag teilen

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest