On-site Initiatives
Fairness and Environmental Protection Worldwide.

Partnership Initiative Tamil Nadu

The Partnership Initiative Tamil Nadu aims at systematically improving the working conditions within the textile and clothing industry in the Indian State of Tamil Nadu, especially for women and girls in spinning mills. In close cooperation with its Indian partners, the Initiative aims at initiating changes on several levels.

A dialogue seeks to raise awareness of workers' rights among key players in the local textile industry. In addition, a training programme accompanies the planned establishment of complaints offices in 200 spinning mills and factories. Workers and management are also informed about labour rights and complaint mechanisms.

The Tamil Nadu Partnership Initiative was launched in July 2018 and will run until end of September 2020.

A factsheet about the Partnership Initiative can be found in German and English.

On the website of our local implementation partner (MSI-TN) you will find further information as well as an overview of the trainings that have been carried out.

"Everyone has to take responsibility"
P. Mugilan has been coordinating the training programme at MSI-TN, the Indian partner organisation of the PI Tamil Nadu, since October 2018. The Partnership Secretariat asked him for a review of the first year of the initiative.

The full interview can be found in the Annual Report of 2019 (DE and EN).

More than 100 training sessions on labour rights and complaints mechanisms were held this year. How did the trainings in the factories go? Were the initiative’s expectations met?
We have initiated 85 percent of the trainings, but we have not yet completed them. Because it took a lot of time and we are still working on communicating the work of the MSI-TN on the factory managers. Since many stakeholders now know the MSI-TN and its goals, we were able to start all training phases from level 1 to 6. In level 1 we explain what MSI-TN is and what it does: Basically we form two bodies, the Internal Complaint Committees (ICC), and the Workers Committee (WC). We were able to convince the managers that we were improving both working conditions and business-relevant processes. It´s a win-win situation. [...] 80 percent female and 20 percent male workers are selected for the ICC training. They should learn to take responsibility for banning sexual harassment from factories. This means that we must train them to become leaders. In Indian culture, women are often oppressed, in particular in Tamil Nadu in southern India. Women must be able to take the lead and act as representatives of others. In some factories the ICC committees have already been set up and the trainings have been carried out.

Have you noticed any concrete improvements?
Many workers did not know what ICC were or why they were in the committee. In capacity building, we therefore communicate how and for what purpose the committees work and explain exactly what sexual harassment is. Of course, sexual acts are sexual harassment, but sexually explicit looks are sexual harassment as well. Indian men are often unaware of this. Sexual violence is not only perpetrated at work, but often also at home. Here we promote awareness and clarify laws and possible sanctions. That´s great progress.

What was your biggest learning?
I work with people. And with their feelings. Many report that they are very stressed. That is why we have already carried out many activities to reduce stress. It must not happen that angry managers insult the workers. On the contrary, it is precisely the superiors who should be role models for the workers. In the past, many managers thought that the workers were not worth much. There is an urgent need for a rethink here and everyone must perceive and respect each other as human beings. This is how you begin to treat people equally and with respect. With the trainings we appeal to their minds, especially the mill managers and the HR managers. All this goes beyond the committee trainings.

Women during a training conducted by SAVE in a factory. Copyright @SAVE
Factory Training by SAVE in Tamil Nadu. Copyright @SAVE
The Initiative's Partners

Key partners: German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ), FEMNET e.V., Hugo Boss AG, KiK Textilien & Non Food GmbH, Otto GmbH & Co. KG, Tchibo GmbH

Associated partners: TransFair e.V., Brands Fashion GmbH

Main Implementation Partners: Multi-Stakeholder Initiative Tamil Nadu (MSI-TN) as well as SAVE (Social Awareness and Voluntary Education) as Secretariat of the MSI-TN.

Partnership for Sustainable Textiles

c/o Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale
Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH
Friedrich-Ebert-Allee 36
53113 Bonn

mail@textilbuendnis.com
Phone: +49 228 4460-3560

@2019 Partnership for Sustainable Textiles

Vor Ort
Weltweit für Fairness und Umweltschutz.

Bündnisinitiative Tamil Nadu

Die Bündnisinitiative Tamil Nadu zielt darauf ab, die Arbeitsbedingungen in der Textil- und Bekleidungsindustrie in dem gleichnamigen indischen Staat systemisch zu verbessern, insbesondere für Frauen und Mädchen in Spinnereien. In enger Zusammenarbeit mit den indischen Partnern will die Initiative Veränderungen auf mehreren Ebenen anstoßen.

Ein Dialog soll die wesentlichen Beteiligten der lokalen Textilindustrie für die Rechte der Arbeiter*innen sensibilisieren. Daneben begleitet ein Schulungsprogramm die geplante Einrichtung von Beschwerdestellen in 200 Spinnereien und Fabriken. Zudem werden Arbeiter*innen und Management über Arbeitsrechte und Beschwerdemechanismen informiert.

Die Bündnisinitiative Tamil Nadu hat im Juli 2018 begonnen und läuft bis Ende Juni 2020.

Das Factsheet der Bündnisinitiative finden Sie hier in Deutsch und Englisch.

Auf der Website unseres lokalen Umsetzungspartners (MSI-TN) finden Sie weitere Informationen sowie eine Übersicht der durchgeführten Trainings.

"Alle müssen Verantwortung übernehmen"
Mugilan P. koordiniert seit Oktober 2018 das Trainings-Programm bei SAVE, der indischen Partnerorganisation der Bündnisinitiative Tamil Nadu. Das Bündnissekretariat hat ihn nach einer Bilanz des ersten Jahres der Initiative gefragt.

Das gesamte Interview finden Sie im Jahresbericht 2019 (DE und EN).

In diesem Jahr wurden über 100 Trainings zu Arbeitsrechten und Beschwerdemechanismen durchgeführt. Wie sind die Trainings in den Fabriken gelaufen? Wurden die Erwartungen der Initiative erfüllt?
Wir haben die Trainings zu 85 Prozent in die Wege geleitet, aber noch nicht abgeschlossen. Es hat sehr viel Zeit gebraucht und wir arbeiten weiterhin daran, den Fabrikmanagern die Arbeit der MSI-TN zu vermitteln. Da inzwischen viele Stakeholder die MSI-TN und ihre Ziele kennen, konnten wir alle Trainingsphasen von Level 1 bis 6 starten. In Level 1 erklären wir zum Beispiel, was die MSI-TN ist und was sie macht: Im Grunde bilden wir zwei Gremien, ein internes Beschwerdegremium [engl. Internal Complaint Committee; Abk. ICC] sowie ein Works Committee [Abk. WC]. Wir konnten die Manager davon überzeugen, dass wir sowohl die Arbeitsbedingungen als auch geschäftsrelevanten Prozesse verbessern. Es ist eine Win-win-Situation. […] Für das ICC-Training werden 80 Prozent weibliche und 20 Prozent männliche Arbeitskräfte ausgewählt. Sie sollen lernen Verantwortung dafür zu übernehmen, sexuelle Belästigung aus den Fabriken zu verbannen. Das bedeutet, dass wir sie zu Führungskräften ausbilden müssen. In der indischen Kultur werden Frauen oft unterdrückt, insbesondere hier im südindischen Tamil Nadu. Frauen müssen die Führung übernehmen und als Vertreterinnen für andere auftreten können. In einigen Fabriken sind die ICC bereits aufgebaut und die Trainings durchgeführt worden.

Haben Sie dadurch konkrete Verbesserungen festgestellt?
Viele Arbeiter*innen wussten nicht, was ICC sind und auch nicht, warum sie im Gremium sitzen. Daher vermitteln wir beim Capacity-Building, wie und wofür die Gremien arbeiten und erklären, was genau sexuelle Belästigung ist. Natürlich sind sexuelle Handlungen sexuelle Belästigung, aber auch zum Beispiel sexuell eindeutige Blicke. Indische Männer sind sich dessen oft nicht bewusst. Sexuelle Gewalt wird nicht nur am Arbeitsplatz, sondern oft auch zuhause ausgeübt. Wir fördern hier das Bewusstsein und klären über Gesetze und Sanktionen auf. Das ist ein großer Fortschritt. […]

Was haben Sie bisher am meisten für sich mitgenommen?
Ich arbeite mit Menschen. Und mit ihren Gefühlen. Viele berichten, dass sie sehr gestresst sind. Deshalb haben wir bereits viele Aktivitäten zum Stressabbau durchgeführt. Es darf nicht passieren, dass wütende Manager oder Betreuer die Arbeiter*innen beschimpfen. Im Gegenteil sollten gerade die Vorgesetzten Vorbilder für die Arbeiter*innen sein. Früher dachten viele Führungskräfte, die Arbeiter*innen seien nicht viel wert. Hier braucht es dringend ein Umdenken und alle müssen sich gegenseitig als Menschen wahrzunehmen und respektieren. Damit beginnt man, Menschen gleichberechtigt und mit Respekt zu behandeln. Wir appellieren mit den Trainings an ihren Verstand, insbesondere bei den Führungskräften und Personalmanager*innen. Das alles geht über das Training für die Gremien hinaus.

Frauen während eines von SAVE durchgeführten Trainings in einer Fabrik. Copyright @SAVE
Fabrik-Training von SAVE in Tamil Nadu. Copyright @SAVE
Partner der Initiative

Hauptpartner: Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ), FEMNET e.V., Hugo Boss AG, KiK Textilien & Non Food GmbH, Otto GmbH & Co., Tchibo GmbH

Assoziierte Partner: TransFair e.V., Brands Fashion GmbH

Implementierungspartner: Multi-Stakeholder Initiative Tamil Nadu (MSI-TN) sowie SAVE (Social Awareness and Voluntary Education) als Sekretariat der MSI-TN

Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien

c/o Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale
Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH
Friedrich-Ebert-Allee 36
53113 Bonn

mail@textilbuendnis.com
Telefon: +49 228 4460-3560

@2019 Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien