Second Annual Conference of the MSI-TN

News
28.02.2020

Second Annual Conference of the MSI-TN

The Multi-Stakeholder Initiative Tamil Nadu (MSI-TN) is making progress – this became visible at the Second International Annual Conference. About 140 participants attended the conference on 6th February 2020 in Coimbatore, which was supported by the Partnership Initiative Tamil Nadu.

The training and dialogue formats of the MSI-TN are accepted and appreciated by local and international stakeholders. In comparison to the conference last year it was shown that trust has grown, and the cooperation of all members becomes more and more routine.

Die Partnership Initiative pursues long-term systemic improvements in working conditions, especially for young women in the textile and garment industry in Tamil Nadu, with a special focus on spinning mills. HUGO BOSS, KiK, Otto Group, Tchibo, FEMNET, the BMZ, TransFair and Brands Fashion are working together in Tamil Nadu.

Representatives of the Partnership Initiative from Germany and Bangladesh travelled to the conference. The delegation met different stakeholders of the South Indian textile industry, visited two spinning mills and had an exchange with local partners at the conference.

Part of the delegation has been Gisela Burckhardt (FEMNET), Rapha Breyer & Claudia Brück (TransFair), Patric Hehemann (BMZ), Hossain Manzoor Kashfin (KiK), Felix Rauer (Otto Group), Rabea Schafrick (Brands Fashion) and representatives from the Partnership Secretariat.

Workers in a Spinning Mill in Tirupur. © Textiles Partnership
Change is possible and happening

One of the key objectives of the MSI-TN was the inspiration for this year’s conference theme: „Partnering for Sustainable Growth“. Right at the beginning Mr Aloysius, Convener of the MSI-TN pointed out: “Change is possible and happening”.

2nd Annual Conference of the MSI-TN "Partnering for Sustainable Growth". © Textiles Partnership

In Coimbatore all stakeholders have met: political and business representatives (especially from spinning mills in Tamil Nadu), also members from NGOs, labour unions, trade unions and (inter)national organisations. All of them described their perspectives and expectations to the Multi-Stakeholder Partnerships.

Mr Narayanasamy, General Manager of Armstrong Spinning Mills, spoke about his motivation for attending the conference: “With Armstrong, we started very early on the path to sustainable improvements in working conditions. But still, we are learning. Today I joined the conference to hear what else we can do.”

Moreover, Dr. K. Venkatachalam, Chief Advisor of Tamil Nadu Spinning Mills Association (TASMA) acknowledged the hosts: “The MSI-TN is doing a wonderful job. I hope it will expand continuously and reach more and more people.”

Vibrant exchange in working groups on action plans

In the afternoon, the annual action plans of the MSI-TN in the four production districts of Erode, Tirupur, Dindigul and Coimbatore were the focus of attention. The key topics were:

  • Prevention & redressal of harassment of women at workplace
  • Better living conditions in working women hostels
  • Social security and statutory benefits for workers
  • Labour laws supporting sustainable growth

After representatives from international organizations, trade unions, NGOs and the MSI-TN steering committee had commented on the action plans, the conference participants gathered in four working groups to discuss and fine-tune the action plans for their district.

Exchange in working groups on district action plans. © Textiles Partnership

On behalf of the members of the Partnership Initiative Patric Hehemann, Felix Rauer, Hossain Manzoor Kashfin and Gisela Burckhardt presented current developments in Germany and the cooperation with the MSI-TN. Rauer emphasized that in the face of climate change, excessive use of resources and inhumane working conditions in some contries, cooperation is "what we need to move together towards the future. And by collaborating we can bring this initiative [MSI-TN] with its dialogue and training to another level".

Gisela Burckhardt (FEMNET) presented the collaboration with the MSI-TN. © Textiles Partnership
Patric Hehemann, BMZ Department Sustainable Supply Chains. © Textiles Partnership
Non-compliance must be more expensive than compliance

In addition to the conference, the delegation also had meetings with political stakeholders on the agenda. The German Consul General in Tamil Nadu Karin Stoll received the delegation in her office in Chennai. She supports the Partnership Initiative with her contacts to the Tamil Nadu government in order to further establish the MSI-TN and support in its implementation.

In the afternoon, the Consul General accompanied the Textiles Partnership delegation to meetings with government representatives of the State of Tamil Nadu. The additional chief Secretary of the "Labour and Employment Department" Shri. Thiru Md. Nasimuddin focused the discussion on the social and ecological challenges in the textile sector in Tamil Nadu.

One positive aspect, he said, was that inspections of factories were increasingly being carried out without prior notice.

Hendrik Plein (Partnership Initiative), Consul General Karin Stoll, Michael Janinhoff (Partnership Initiative), Felix Rauer (Otto Group), Shri. Thiru. Md. Nasimuddin, Hossain Manzoor Kashfin (KiK), Gisela Burckhardt (FEMNET), Rohini Chandrasekaran (MSI-TN). © Textiles Partnership

It was agreed on the German and Indian sides that it should not be a competitive advantage for companies and textile factories to bypass human rights and due diligence: "Non-compliance must be more expensive than compliance.”

Tmt S. Madhumathi. © Textiles Partnership

After a meeting with the "Ministry of Handlooms, Handicrafts, Textiles and Khadi Department", the delegation met Tmt S. Madhumathi, Secretary of the "Social Welfare and Nutritious Meal Programme Department". Her department is particularly committed to the protection and development of women and girls in the textile sector, promotes the adequate accommodation of workers in factory accommodation and has, for example, set up a helpline for workers.

Madhumathi showed a strong commitment to change and to find solutions for all these issues. The working conditions are continuously monitored, and violations are punished. The situation has already improved and there are, for example, more Works Committees and women in leading positions. Nevertheless, the priority is to continue to inform workers about their rights and to improve accommodation in the factory's own hostels.

Visiting the implementation partners of the Partnership Initiative

The MSI-TN is the local implementation partner of the Partnership Initiative Tamil Nadu. The team of the MSI-TN welcomed the delegation on the second day of the trip in their office in Tirupur. They presented the work and progress of dialogue formats and factory training.

More than 40 meetings at district/state level have already been held to discuss health and safety and social standards and develop action plans on these topics. In addition, training courses are being held in over 180 factories, where over 15,000 workers have been trained about their rights and internal complaints committees are being set up.

In the afternoon, the delegation visited two spinning mills where the NGO Social Awareness and Voluntary Education (SAVE) provides training and forms and supports Works and Internal Complaints Committees.

The German and international guests had the opportunity to talk directly to a complaints committee about its work and to convince themselves that the women have taken on their role in this committee and are fulfilling their function.

Rohini Chandrasekaran, MSI-TN. © Textiles Partnership
Representatives of an Internal Complaints Committee. © Textiles Partnership
Training in a spinning mill. © Textiles Partnership

Share this article

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest

Zweite Jahreskonferenz der MSI-TN

Aktuelles
28.02.2020

Zweite Jahreskonferenz der MSI-TN

Die Multi-Stakeholder-Initiative Tamil Nadu (MSI-TN) macht Fortschritte – das wurde bei der zweiten internationalen Jahreskonferenz deutlich. Rund 140 Teilnehmende kamen am 06. Februar 2020 zur Konferenz nach Coimbatore, die von der Bündnisinitiative Tamil Nadu unterstützt wurde.

Die Trainings und Dialogformate der MSI-TN werden von den lokalen und internationalen Interessenvertreter*innen angenommen und geschätzt. Im Vergleich zur ersten Jahreskonferenz vor einem Jahr zeigte sich, dass das Vertrauen gewachsen und die Zusammenarbeit aller Beteiligten routinierter geworden sind.

Die Bündnisinitiative verfolgt langfristig systemische Verbesserungen der Arbeitsbedingungen insbesondere von jungen Frauen in der Textil- und Bekleidungsindustrie Tamil Nadus mit besonderem Fokus auf Spinnereien. HUGO BOSS, KiK, Otto Group, Tchibo, FEMNET, das BMZ, TransFair und Brands Fashion engagieren sich gemeinsam vor Ort.

Vertreter*innen der Bündnisinitiative reisten aus Deutschland und Bangladesch zur Konferenz. Die Delegation traf unterschiedliche Akteure der südindischen Textilindustrie, besuchte zwei Spinnereien und tauschte sich bei der Konferenz direkt mit lokalen Partner*innen aus.

Zur Delegation gehörten Gisela Burckhardt (FEMNET), Rapha Breyer & Claudia Brück (TransFair), Patric Hehemann (BMZ), Hossain Manzoor Kashfin (KiK), Felix Rauer (Otto Group), Rabea Schafrick (Brands Fashion) begleitet vom Bündnissekretariat.

Arbeiterinnen in einer Spinnerei in Tirupur. © Textilbündnis
Wandel ist möglich und findet statt

Dem Ziel der MSI-TN entsprechend, durch Zusammenarbeit gemeinsam nachhaltig zu wachsen, lautete das Thema der zweiten Jahreskonferenz „Partnering for Sustainable Growth“. Gleich zu Beginn betonte Mr. Aloysius, Convener der MSI-TN: „Wandel ist möglich und findet statt.“

Zweite Jahreskonferenz der MSI-TN "Partnering for Sustainable Growth". © Textilbündnis

In Coimbatore kamen alle Stakeholder zum Dialog zusammen: Vertreter*innen aus Politik und Wirtschaft – insbesondere der zahlreichen Spinnereien in Tamil Nadu – sowie Mitarbeiter*innen von NGOs, Gewerkschaften, Wirtschaftsverbänden und (inter)nationalen Organisationen. Sie alle schilderten ihre Perspektiven auf und ihre Erwartungen an Multi-Stakeholder-Partnerschaften.

Mr. Narayanasamy, General Manager der Armstrong Spinning Mills, sagte über seine Motivation an der Konferenz teilzunehmen: „Mit Armstrong haben wir uns schon sehr früh auf den Weg zu nachhaltigen Verbesserungen der Arbeitsbedingungen gemacht. Dennoch lernen wir immer weiter dazu. Ich bin heute hier zur Konferenz gekommen, um zu hören, was wir noch tun können.“

Zudem würdigte Dr. K. Venkatachalam, Chief Advisor der Tamil Nadu Spinning Mills Association (TASMA) die Veranstalter: „Die MSI-TN macht wunderbare Arbeit. […] Ich wünsche ihr, dass sie weiter wächst und noch mehr Leute erreicht.“

Lebendiger Austausch in Arbeitsgruppen zu Aktionsplänen

Am Nachmittag standen die jährlichen Aktionspläne der MSI-TN in den vier Produktionsdistrikten Erode, Tirupur, Dindigul und Coimbatore im Mittelpunkt. Zentral waren dabei diese Themen:

  • Prävention und Abhilfe bei Belästigung von Frauen am Arbeitsplatz
  • Bessere Wohnbedingungen in den Fabrikunterkünften für Frauen
  • Soziale Sicherheit und staatliche Leistungen für Arbeiter*innen
  • Arbeitsrechte zur Förderungen nachhaltigen Wachstums

Nachdem Vertreter*innen von internationalen Organisationen, Gewerkschaften, NGOs und des Steuerungskreises der MSI-TN die Aktionspläne kommentiert hatten, sammelten sich die Konferenzteilnehmenden in vier Arbeitsgruppen, um die Aktionspläne für ihren Distrikt zu diskutieren und zu schärfen.

Austausch in den Distrikt Arbeitsgruppen. © Textilbündnis

Vonseiten der Bündnisinitiativen-Mitglieder nutzten Patric Hehemann, Felix Rauer, Hossain Manzoor Kashfin und Gisela Burckhardt die Konferenz, um aktuelle Entwicklungen in Deutschland und die Zusammenarbeit mit der MSI-TN zu präsentieren. Rauer betonte, angesichts von Klimawandel, einem exzessiven Ressourcenverbrauch und teils inhumanen Arbeitsbedingungen sei Zusammenarbeit das, „was wir brauchen, um gemeinsam in die Zukunft zu gehen. Durch Zusammenarbeit können wir diese Initiative [MSI-TN] mit ihren Dialogen und Trainings auf eine andere Ebene bringen.“

Gisela Burckhardt (FEMNET) sprach über die Zusammenarbeit mit der MSI-TN. © Textilbündnis
Patric Hehemann, BMZ-Stabsstelle Nachhaltige Lieferketten. © Textilbündnis
Non-Compliance muss teurer sein als Compliance

Neben der Konferenz standen für die Delegation auch Treffen mit politischen Akteuren auf dem Programm. Die deutsche Generalkonsulin in Tamil Nadu Karin Stoll empfing die Delegation in ihrem Büro in Chennai. Sie unterstützt die Bündnisinitiative mit ihren Kontakten zur indischen Regierung, um die MSI-TN zu etablieren und bei der Umsetzung zu unterstützen.

Am Nachmittag begleitete die Generalkonsulin die Bündnisdelegation zu Meetings mit Regierungsvertreter*innen des Bundesstaats Tamil Nadu. Der Staatssekretär des „Labour and Employment Department“ Shri. Thiru Md. Nasimuddin thematisierte vor allem die sozialen und ökologischen Herausforderungen im Textilsektor in Tamil Nadu.

Positiv sei etwa, dass Inspektionen in Fabriken immer häufiger ohne Vorankündigung durchgeführt würden.

Hendrik Plein (Bündnisinitiative), Generalkonsulin Karin Stoll, Michael Janinhoff (Bündnisinitiative), Felix Rauer (Otto Group), Shri. Thiru. Md. Nasimuddin, Hossain Manzoor Kashfin (KiK), Gisela Burckhardt (FEMNET), Rohini Chandrasekaran (MSI-TN). © Textilbündnis

Einigkeit bestand auf deutscher und indischer Seite dahingehend, dass es für Unternehmen und Textilfabriken kein Wettbewerbsvorteil sein dürfe, Sorgfaltspflichten und Menschenrechte zu umgehen: „Non-Compliance muss teurer sein als Compliance.“

Tmt S. Madhumathi. © Textilbündnis

Nach einem Treffen mit dem „Ministry of Handlooms, Handicrafts, Textiles and Khadi Department“ traf die Delegation Tmt S. Madhumathi, Staatsekretärin des „Social Welfare and Nutricious Meal Programme Department“. Ihr Department setzt sich im Textilbereich insbesondere für den Schutz und die Entwicklung von Frauen und Mädchen ein, fördert die adäquate Unterbringung von Arbeiter*innen in Fabrikunterkünften und hat beispielsweise ein Hilfe-Telefon eingerichtet.

Madhumathi zeigte spürbaren Veränderungswillen und Lösungsansätze für all diese Themen. Die Arbeitsbedingungen würden kontinuierlich geprüft und Verstöße geahndet. Die Situation habe sich bereits verbessert und es gebe beispielsweise mehr Workers Commitees und Frauen in leitenden Positionen. Es sei dennoch prioritär, Arbeiter*innen weiterhin über ihre Rechte zu informieren und die Unterbringung in fabrikeigenen Hostels zu verbessern.

Zu Besuch bei den Umsetzungspartnern der Bündnisinitiative

Die MSI-TN ist der lokale Umsetzungspartner der Bündnisinitiative Tamil Nadu. Die Mitarbeiter*innen der MSI-TN hießen die Delegation am zweiten Tag der Reise herzlich in ihrem Büro in Tirupur willkommen. Sie berichteten über die Arbeit und die Fortschritte der Austauschformate und der Fabriktrainings.

So konnten bereits über 40 Treffen auf Distrikt-/State-Level durchgeführt werden, um über Arbeitsschutz und Sozialstandards zu sprechen und Action Pläne zu erarbeiten. Daneben werden in über 180 Fabriken Trainings durchgeführt, bei denen über 15.000 Arbeiter*innen über ihre Rechte aufgeklärt und interne Beschwerdekomitees aufgebaut werden.

Am Nachmittag ging es für die Delegation in zwei Spinnereien, in denen die Nichtregierungsorganisation Social Awareness and Voluntary Education (SAVE) Trainings anbietet und Schlichtungs- und Beschwerdekomitees bildet und unterstützt.

Die deutschen und internationalen Gäste konnten sich direkt mit einem Beschwerdekomitee über dessen Arbeit austauschen und sich davon überzeugen, dass die Frauen ihre Rolle in diesem Gremium verinnerlicht haben und ihre Funktion wahrnehmen.

Rohini Chandrasekaran, MSI-TN. © Textilbündnis
Vertreterinnen eines Internal Complaints Committee. © Textilbündnis
Training in einer Spinnerei. © Textilbündnis

Diesen Beitrag teilen

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest