Menu
Sector Risks
Wages and Social Security
About the sector risk

According to the World Bank, almost 700 million people worldwide live below the poverty line. Even work does not always protect against poverty: especially in textile production, low wages and excessive overtime are a frequent problem and workers often cannot live on their wages. A wage is considered a living wage if it covers the living costs of workers and their dependent family members and allows for adequate reserves for emergency situations. According to the ILO, this wage must be achieved in a standard working week of no more than 48 hours.

Although statutory minimum wages exist in many countries, they are usually too low to meet the above criteria. Low wages, overtime and the risk of child labour are interrelated and constitute a structural problem in the textile sector. Therefore, improvements towards living wages require joint action by different actors and approaches at different levels. Possible solutions include the right to Freedom of Association and Collective Bargaining, training of suppliers in production countries to isolate labour costs in cost calculations, and responsible purchasing practices by buying companies.

Social benefits are designed to provide financial protection for workers in certain circumstances. These include, for example, illness, accidents at work or pregnancy. Although there are respective legal regulations in some production countries, these are often circumvented in order to save costs.

The COVID-19 pandemic has once again shown that the living conditions of workers in the textile industry are precarious and that there is a lack of social protection. For this reason, the Textiles Partnership, together with other organisations, has issued a joint statement calling on the governments of producing countries to strengthen social security systems in their countries in the long term.

The Partnership’s social goals and standards

The Textiles Partnership has formulated social goals that all members recognize by joining the Partnership. These goals are based on international social standards, in particular the ILO Conventions, the UN Guiding Principles on Business and Human Rights and the OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises. With regard to health and safety at work, the goal is as follows:

Integration into all fields of work of the Textiles Partnership
Individual Responsibility

Wages and social benefits are among the eleven sector risks that the Partnership companies focus on in the review process. Based on the results of their risk analysis, they define targets and measures on how to improve the wage situation.

Collective Engagement

Because individual actors can achieve little on this issue, the Textiles Partnership has launched a Bündnisinitiative zu existenzsichernden Löhnen on living wages. The members work together to develop effective solutions to address the wage issue.

Mutual Support

A peer learning group is working on purchasing practices. In addition, there are various support materials on the topic, for example the Guideline on living wages (DE and EN). It gives an introduction to the topic, shows practical starting points and assistance and provides support in developing one's own strategy for implementing living wages in the supply chain.

Strategic cooperation

Since 2017, the Textiles Partnership has been cooperating with ACT (Action, Collaboration, Transformation). The initiative campaigns for living wages and promotes collective bargaining and collective agreements. In addition, the Partnership has also been cooperating with the Fair Wear Foundation on wages since 2017.

Partnership Initiative on Living Wages

Twelve Partnership companies joined together in 2019 in a Peer Learning Group (PLG) to analyse their purchasing practices using the Purchasing Practices Self-Assessment Tool (PPSA). The PLG companies are now developing action plans to improve their purchasing practices.

In the second module of the Partnership Initiative, joint supplier trainings are offered with the Fair Wear Foundation and the Dutch Agreement on Sustainable Garments and Textile (AGT). The aim of the trainings is to educate suppliers on basic social standards. They also learn about tools and methods to support them in raising wages for workers.

The Cambodia country module supports the ACT initiative in its efforts to promote collective agreements in Cambodia. In view of the EU Commission's decision to suspend tariff preferences for Cambodia and the impact of COVID-19, it is still unclear how the negotiations initiated by ACT will continue on the ground.

With responsible purchasing practices to higher wages

Purchasing practices are the principles and processes by which brands and retailers interact and do business with the manufacturers and suppliers of their products. Responsible purchasing practices enable all partners in the supply network to plan their production and working hours effectively and to pay workers fairly. At the same time, they can invest in the overall improvement of working conditions and thus strengthen resilience in the value chain. Making it the Annual Topic of 2021, the Textiles Partnership puts a special focus on responsible purchasing practices. 

The COVID-19 pandemic has shown that working in partnership with suppliers and other business partners in production countries is crucial to protect workers' rights. To mitigate the short-term negative impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic, the Textiles Partnership published guidelinesin April 2020, which contain recommendations for dealing with orders as well as health risks and the risk of infection in production facilities. Some members used the document to make a public commitment to act responsibly.

Together with other multi-stakeholder initiatives, the Textiles Partnership is working on a common framework on purchasing practices. Among others, the Ethical Trading Initiative, ACT and Fair Wear Foundation are involved.

With the help of the Basic Training companies in the Textiles Partnership learn how their purchasing practices affect working conditions in the supply chain and how they can improve them. The 30-minute video introduces to the topic for all employees of departments involved in purchasing practices: CSR, purchase, design, HR, quality management, accounting. The video is available in German and English and was produced by the Partnership Secretariat with the support of Partnership member ALDI Süd.

Further information and tools:

ACT: Action, Collaboration, Transformation (ACT)

ASN Bank: Living Wage in the garment sector: Results of the 2019 reviews (2019).

Partnership for Sustainable Textiles: Responding responsibly to the COVID-19 crisis (2020).

Clean Clothes Campaign: Living Wage.

Fair Wear Foundation: Pushing for Living Wages.

German Institute for Human Rights: Bringing Human Rights into Fashion Chapter 3.5: Social protection and work safety are inadequate.

GLWC: Global Living Wage Coalition

WageIndicator Foundation: Wage Indicator.

Menü
Sektorrisiken
Löhne und Sozialleistungen
Über das Sektorrisiko

Weltweit leben laut Weltbank knapp 700 Millionen Menschen unterhalb der Armutsgrenze. Auch Arbeit schützt nicht immer vor Armut: Gerade in der Textilproduktion sind geringe Löhne und exzessive Überstunden ein häufiges Problem und die Beschäftigten können von ihrem Lohn oft nicht leben. Als existenzsichernd gilt ein Lohn, wenn er die Lebenshaltungskosten von Arbeiter*innen und ihren abhängigen Familienangehörigen abdeckt und angemessene Rücklagen für Notsituationen ermöglicht. Dieser Lohn muss laut ILO in einer Standardarbeitswoche von nicht mehr als 48 Stunden erreicht werden.

Zwar existieren in vielen Ländern gesetzliche Mindestlöhne, diese sind jedoch meist zu niedrig, um die genannten Kriterien zu erfüllen. Niedrige Löhne, Überstunden und das Risiko von Kinderarbeit hängen zusammen und bilden ein strukturelles Problem im Textilsektor. Daher erfordern Verbesserungen hin zu existenzsichernden Löhnen gemeinsames Handeln verschiedener Akteure und Lösungsansätze, die auf unterschiedlichen Ebenen ansetzen. Zu den möglichen Lösungen zählen das Recht auf Vereinigungsfreiheit und Kollektivverhandlungen, die Schulung von Lieferanten in den Produktionsländern zur Isolierung von Lohnkosten in der Kostenkalkulation und verantwortungsvolle Einkaufspraktiken der einkaufenden Unternehmen.

Sozialleistungen dienen dazu, Arbeiter*innen in bestimmten Situationen finanziell abzusichern. Dazu zählen beispielsweise Krankheit, Arbeitsunfälle oder Schwangerschaft. Zwar existieren in einigen Produktionsländern entsprechende gesetzliche Regelungen, diese werden jedoch oft umgangen, etwa um Kosten zu sparen.

Die COVID-19-Pandemie  hat noch einmal gezeigt, dass die Lebenssituation von Arbeiter*innen in der Textilindustrie vielerorts prekär ist und es an sozialer Sicherung fehlt. Aus diesem Grund hat das Textilbündnis zusammen mit anderen Organisationen in einem gemeinsamen Statement die Regierungen von Produktionsländern dazu aufgerufen, langfristig die sozialen Sicherungssysteme in ihren Ländern zu stärken.

Soziale Bündnisziele und -standards

Das Textilbündnis hat soziale Bündnisziele formuliert, die alle Mitglieder durch den Beitritt ins Bündnis anerkennen. Diese Ziele orientieren sich an internationalen Sozialstandards, insbesondere an den ILO-Übereinkommen, den UN-Leitprinzipien für Wirtschaft und Menschenrechte und den OECD-Leitsätzen für multinationale Unternehmen. Die sozialen Bündnsziele enthalten auch Anforderungen in Bezug auf Löhne, Einkommen und Sozialleistungen.

Berücksichtigung in allen Arbeitsfeldern des Textilbündnisses
Individuelle Verantwortung

Löhne und Sozialleistungen zählen zu den elf Sektorrisiken, die von den Bündnisunternehmen im Review-Prozess in den Blick genommen werden. Basierend auf den Ergebnissen ihrer Risikoanalyse definieren sie Ziele und Maßnahmen, wie sie die Lohnsituation verbessern können.

Gemeinsames Engagement

Weil einzelne Akteure in dieser Frage nur wenig bewirken können, hat das Textilbündnis eine Bündnisinitiative zu existenzsichernden Löhnen gestartet. Die Mitglieder arbeiten hier zusammen, um wirkungsvolle Lösungen in der Lohnfrage zu entwickeln.

Gegenseitige Unterstützung

Eine Peer Learning Group arbeitete zu Einkaufspraktiken. Darüber hinaus gibt es verschiedenes Unterstützungsmaterial zum Thema, zum Beispiel die Handreichung zu existenzsichernden Löhnen (DE und EN). Sie gibt eine Einführung in das Thema, zeigt praktische Ansatzpunkte und Hilfestellungen und unterstützt bei der Entwicklung einer eigenen Strategie zur Umsetzung von existenzsichernden Löhnen in der Lieferkette.

Strategische Kooperation

Seit 2017 kooperiert das Textilbündnis mit ACT (Action, Collaboration, Transformation). Die Initiative setzt sich für existenzsichernde Löhne ein und fördert Kollektivverhandlungen und Tarifverträge. Zudem kooperiert das Bündnis seit 2017 auch mit der Fair Wear Foundation im Bereich Löhne.

Bündnisinitiative Existenzsichernde Löhne

Zwölf Bündnisunternehmen schlossen sich 2019 in einer Peer-Learning-Gruppe (PLG) zusammen, um ihre Einkaufspraktiken mithilfe des Purchasing Practices Self-Assessment Tool (PPSA) zu analysieren. Die Unternehmen der PLG erarbeiten nun Maßnahmenpläne zur Verbesserung ihrer Einkaufspraktiken.

Im zweiten Modul der Bündnisinitiative werden gemeinsame Lieferanten-Trainings mit der Fair Wear Foundation und dem niederländischen Agreement on Sustainable Garments and Textile (AGT) angeboten. Ziel der Trainings ist es, Zulieferer in Bezug auf grundlegende Sozialstandards zu schulen. Zudem lernen sie Tools und Methoden kennen, die sie darin unterstützen sollen, die Löhne für Arbeiter*innen anzuheben.

Das Ländermodul Kambodscha unterstützt die Initiative ACT bei ihren Bemühungen um Tarifverträge in Kambodscha. Angesichts der Entscheidung der EU-Kommission, die Zollpräferenzen für Kambodscha auszusetzen, und der Auswirkungen von COVID-19 ist noch unklar, wie die von ACT initiierten Verhandlungen vor Ort weitergeführt werden.

Mit verantwortungsvollen Einkaufspraktiken zu höheren Löhnen

Einkaufspraktiken sind alle Prinzipien und Prozesse, mit denen Markenunternehmen und Einzelhändler mit den Herstellern und Lieferanten ihrer Produkte interagieren und Geschäfte machen. Verantwortungsvolle Einkaufspraktiken ermöglichen es allen Partnern im Liefernetzwerk, ihre Produktion und Arbeitszeiten effektiv zu planen und Arbeitnehmer*innen fair zu bezahlen. Gleichzeitig können sie in die allgemeine Verbesserung der Arbeitsbedingungen investieren und stärken somit die Resilienz in der Wertschöpfungskette. Mit dem Jahresthema legt das Textilbündnis 2021 einen besonderen Fokus auf verantwortungsvolle Einkaufspraktiken. 

Die COVID-19-Pandemie hat gezeigt, dass eine partnerschaftliche Zusammenarbeit mit Lieferanten und weiteren Geschäftspartnern in den Produktionsländern entscheidend ist, um die Rechte von Arbeitnehmer*innen zu schützen. Um kurzfristig negative Auswirkungen der COVID-19-Pandemie zu mildern, veröffentlichte das Textilbündnis im April 2020 Leitsätze, die Empfehlungen für den Umgang mit Aufträgen sowie Gesundheitsrisiken und der Ansteckungsgefahr in Produktionsstätten enthalten. Einige Mitglieder nutzten das Dokument, um sich mit einer Selbstverpflichtung öffentlich zu verantwortlichem Handeln zu bekennen.

Zusammen mit anderen Multi-Stakeholder-Initiativen arbeitet das Textilbündnis an einem gemeinsamen Referenzrahmen zu Einkaufspraktiken. Mit dabei sind unter anderem Ethical Trading Initiative, ACT und Fair Wear Foundation.

Mit einem Basistraining erfahren Unternehmen im Textilbündnis, wie sich ihre Einkaufspraktiken auf die Arbeitsbedingungen in der Lieferkette auswirken und wie sie diese verbessern können. Das 30-minütige Basistraining im Videoformat richtet sich an alle Mitarbeiter*innen aus Abteilungen, die in Einkaufspraktiken involviert sind, darunter CSR, Einkauf, Design, Personal, Qualitätssicherung und Buchhaltung. Das Video ist in deutscher und englischer Sprache verfügbar und wurde vom Bündnissekretariat mit Unterstützung des Bündnismitglieds ALDI Süd erstellt.

Weiterführende Informationen

ACT: Action, Collaboration, Transformation (ACT)

ASN Bank: Living Wage in the garment  sector: Results of the 2019 reviews (2019).

Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien: Responding responsibly to the COVID-19 crisis (2020).

Clean Clothes Campaign: Living Wage.

Fair Wear Foundation: Pushing for Living Wages.

German Institute for Human Rights: Bringing Human Rights into Fashion (2018). Kapitel 3.5: Social protection and work safety are inadequate.

GLWC: Global Living Wage Coalition

WageIndicator Foundation: Wage Indicator.