Review Process
1.000 small steps. Improving year after year.
Supply Chain Responsibility
In the review process the members commit to their individual responsibility for their supply chains.

The review process represents the individual commitment of the companies in the Textiles Partnership to assume responsibility for sustainability in their supply chain. The aim of the review process is to effectively prevent and mitigate the major social, environmental and compliance risks in the value chain.

An individual risk analysis based on eleven sector risks is the basis of the process (Guide DE and EN). On the basis of the results of the risk analysis, the companies derive targets and measures for the next two years. In addition to the prevention and mitigation, the aim is to provide remedial action and compensation in the case of negative effects.

However, the members do not only focus on the future. They also look back. What have they achieved in the past year to make their supply chains more sustainable? What measures have they been able to implement successfully and what goals have they achieved? All these aspects are documented in the progress report.

For the verification and quality assurance of the risk analysis as well as the set objectives and the reported progress, an in-person assessment meeting is held, which is prepared and conducted by an external service provider as well as by the Partnership Secretariat.

This will address in particular the following questions: Are the objectives appropriate to prevent or mitigate the most serious risks? Are the objectives and measures derived in a meaningful and comprehensible way from the risk analysis and the progress report? All reports are then published here .

Review Process Procedures.

The members of the other stakeholder groups - i.e. associations, non-governmental organisations, standard organisations, trade unions and the federal government - also fulfil a reporting obligation in the Partnership. They report on how they have contributed to the Partnership in the past reporting period and what measures they have undertaken to achieve the Textiles Partnership's objectives.

Mandatory Commitment for all Companies

In 2019, the review process was fundamentally revised and due diligence was brought into focus. This process was guided by the requirements and specifications of international frameworks such as the UN Principles for Business and Human Rights, the OECD Due Diligence Guidance for Responsible Supply Chains in the Garment and Footwear Sector and the ILO Labour Standards. In contrast to the past, the members are not pursuing any uniformly binding goals in the Textiles Partnership. Instead, the companies derive targets and measures from their individual risk analysis and prioritization, thus addressing their major risks:

  1. Freedom of Association and Collective Bargaining
  2. Discrimination, Sexual Harassment and Gender-based Violence
  3. Health and Safety
  4. Wages, Social Benefits and Living Wages
  5. Working Hours
  6. Child and Forced Labour
  7. Corruption
  8. Chemical Management, Wastewater
  9. Environment, Resource Input
  10. Greenhouse Gas Emissions
  11. Animal Welfare (incl. Sheep Farming, Mulesing)

Independently from their own individual risk assessment, companies must set targets for the following three risks: Living wages, Chemical & Wastewater Management and Corruption. Companies are also obliged to promote access to effective remedial and complaints mechanisms. The joint goal of enhancing the share of sustainable cotton also maintains: By 2025, the share of sustainable cotton is to be increased to a total of 70 percent and the proportion of organic cotton contained in it to 20 percent. The joint target of 35 percent sustainable cotton by 2020 is already almost achieved by 2018 (see article).

Each cotton-procuring Partnership member contributes to the joint success by continuously increasing its share of sustainable cotton. In order to achieve measurable targets, the Partnership members have defined minimum requirements for sustainable cotton cultivation. On this basis, the Textiles Partnership agreed on eleven standard systems, the use of which is considered proof.

Standards Systems for Sustainable Cotton

The standards include the Better Cotton Initiative (BCI) standard, the Australian myBMP standard, Cotton made in Africa, Fairtrade Cotton, and CottonConnect. The following standards apply to purchasing of organic cotton: the Global Organic Textile Standard (GOTS), the International Association of Natural Textile Industry (NATURTEXTIL IVN) standard, the Textile Exchange Organic Content Standard (OCS), the bioRe Social & Environmental Standard, and all the organic standards forming part of the IFOAM Family of Standards. IFOAM standards, along with the Responsible Wool Standard (RWS), also apply to the purchase of sustainable wool.

Review-Prozess
1.000 kleine Schritte. Von Jahr zu Jahr besser werden.
Verantwortung für die Lieferkette
Beim Review-Prozess bekennen sich die Mitglieder zu ihrer individuellen Verantwortung für die Nachhaltigkeit in ihren Lieferketten.

Der Review-Prozess steht für die individuelle Verpflichtung der Unternehmen im Textilbündnis, Verantwortung für die Nachhaltigkeit in ihrer Lieferkette zu übernehmen. Ziel des Review-Prozesses ist es, den schwerwiegendsten sozialen, ökologischen und Compliance-Risiken in der Wertschöpfungskette effektiv vorzubeugen und sie zu mindern.

Eine individuelle Risikoanalyse anhand von elf Sektorrisiken ist die Grundlage des Prozesses (Leitfaden DE und EN). Basierend auf den Ergebnissen der Risikoanalyse leiten die Unternehmen Ziele und Maßnahmen für die kommenden zwei Jahre ab. Neben der Vorbeugung und Milderung soll im Falle von negativen Auswirkungen Abhilfe und Wiedergutmachung geleistet werden.

Doch die Mitglieder blicken dabei nicht nur in die Zukunft. Sie werfen auch einen Blick zurück. Was haben sie im vergangenen Jahr für mehr Nachhaltigkeit in ihren Lieferketten erreicht? Welche Maßnahmen konnten sie erfolgreich umsetzen und welche Ziele haben sie erreicht? All das wird im Fortschrittsbericht erfasst.

Zur Verifizierung und Qualitätssicherung der Risikoanalyse wie auch der gesetzten Ziele und berichteten Fortschritte findet ein qualitatives Auswertungsgespräch statt, das sowohl von einem externen Dienstleister als auch vom Bündnissekretariat vorbereitet und geführt wird.

Darin geht es insbesondere um die folgenden Fragen: Sind die Ziele angemessen, um den schwerwiegendsten Risiken vorzubeugen bzw. diese zu mildern? Leiten sich die Ziele und Maßnahmen sinnvoll und nachvollziehbar aus der Risikoanalyse und dem Fortschrittsbericht ab? Alle Berichte werden anschließend hier veröffentlicht.

Ablauf des Review-Prozesses.

Auch die Mitglieder der übrigen Akteursgruppen – also Verbände, Nichtregierungsorganisationen, Standardorganisationen, Gewerkschaften und die Bundesregierung – kommen im Bündnis einer Berichterstattungspflicht nach. Sie beschreiben, wie sie sich im vergangenen Berichtszeitraum in das Bündnis eingebracht haben und welche Maßnahmen sie sich zur Erreichung der Bündnisziele vorgenommen haben.

Verbindlichkeit für alle Unternehmen im Bündnis

2019 wurde der Review-Prozess grundlegend überarbeitet und der Sorgfaltspflichtenansatz (Due Diligence) in den Fokus gestellt. Orientierung boten dabei die Anforderungen und Vorgaben internationaler Rahmenwerke wie die UN Leitprinzipien für Wirtschaft und Menschenrechte, die OECD Due Diligence Guidance for Responsible Supply Chains in the Garment and Footwear Sector und die ILO Kernarbeitsnormen. Anders als in der Vergangenheit verfolgen die Mitglieder nun keine einheitlich verbindlichen Ziele im Bündnis. Stattdessen leiten die Unternehmen Ziele und Maßnahmen von ihrer individuellen Risikoanalyse und -priorisierung ab und gehen so gezielt ihre schwerwiegendsten Risiken an:

  1. Vereinigungsfreiheit und Kollektivverhandlungen
  2. Diskriminierung, sexuelle Belästigung und geschlechtsspezifische Gewalt
  3. Gesundheit und Sicherheit
  4. Lohn und Sozialleistungen, existenzsichernde Löhne
  5. Arbeitszeiten
  6. Kinder- und Zwangsarbeit
  7. Korruption
  8. Chemikalieneinsatz, Abwassser
  9. Umweltschutz, Ressourceneinsatz
  10. Treibhausgasemissionen
  11. Tierwohl (inkl. Schafhaltung, Mulesing)

Unabhängig von der individuellen Risikobewertung müssen sich die Unternehmen zu den folgenden drei Risiken Ziele setzen: Existenzsichernde Löhne, Chemikalieneinsatz & Abwasser und Korruption. Unternehmen sind darüber hinaus verpflichtet, den Zugang zu effektiven Abhilfe- und Beschwerdemechanismen zu fördern. Auch das gemeinsame Ziel zur Steigerung des Anteils nachhaltiger Baumwolle bleibt bestehen: Bis 2025 soll der Anteil nachhaltiger Baumwolle auf insgesamt 70 Prozent steigen, der darin enthaltene Anteil an Bio-Baumwolle auf 20 Prozent. Das gemeinsame Ziel von 35 Prozent nachhaltiger Baumwolle bis 2020 haben die Mitglieder bereits 2018 nahezu erreicht (siehe Artikel).

Jedes baumwollbeschaffende Bündnismitglied leistet einen Beitrag zum gemeinsamen Erfolg, indem es kontinuierlich seinen Anteil an nachhaltiger Baumwolle steigert. Für eine messbare Zielerreichung haben die Bündnismitglieder Mindestanforderungen für einen nachhaltigen Baumwollanbau festgelegt. Auf dieser Grundlage verständigte sich das Textilbündnis auf elf Standardsysteme, deren Verwendung gilt als Nachweis gilt.

Standardsysteme für nachhaltige Baumwolle

Hierzu gehören der Standard der Better Cotton Initiative (BCI), der australische myBMP Standard, Cotton made in Africa, Fairtrade Cotton und CottonConnect. Für die Beschaffung von Biobaumwolle gelten der Global Organic Textile Standard (GOTS), der Standard des Internationalen Verbands der Naturtextilwirtschaft NATURTEXTIL IVN, der Organic Content Standard (OCS) von Textile Exchange und der BioRe Social & Environmental Standard sowie alle Bio-Standards der IFOAM Family of Standards. Die Standards der IFOAM Family of Standards gelten auch für die Beschaffung nachhaltiger Schurwolle, ebenso wie der Responsible Wool Standard (RWS).