Menu
Partnership Initiatives

Partnership Initiative Complaints Mechanisms

Promoting complaints mechanisms and access to remedy is a fundamental part of corporate due diligence. Workers in the textile supply chain must have the opportunity to report abuses in the workplace and obtain effective remedy when needed.

This requires functioning complaints mechanisms. For example, internal factory complaint channels, civil society contact points and/or so-called back-up mechanisms of purchasing companies or industry initiatives are possible. The aim of the Partnership Initiative (BI) Complaint Mechanisms, which was launched in 2020, is therefore to support Partnership members in implementing effective complaint mechanisms. The BI already consists of two cooperation projects. Further projects are being planned.

Module to open the Fair Wear complaints mechanism to Partnership members
Key data

Period: April 2021 to October 2022

Cooperation partners: Fair Wear Foundation, Dutch Agreement on Sustainable Garments and Textile

Participating Partnership members: Esprit, s.Oliver, Seidensticker, FEMNET

Participating AGT signatories: G-Star, HEMA, Arisa

Countries: Vietnam, India

The Partnership for Sustainable Textiles cooperates with the Fair Wear Foundation (FWF) and the Dutch Agreement on Sustainable Garments and Textile (AGT) to provide workers in the supply chain of participating partnership members with improved access to grievance mechanisms as well as to remedy and redemption. Furthermore, the project participants aim to avoid a myriad of (new) parallel, often ineffective channels and instead build on and further develop existing and successful mechanisms.

Through the cooperation, a group of the Partnership and AGT companies get access to the Fair Wear Foundation's grievance mechanism in Vietnam and India. The same requirements apply to the companies as to FWF members themselves, for example:

  • Educate workers about the use of the FWF mechanism,
  • Participation in the investigation of complaints,
  • Implementation of remedy and redemption,
  • Transparent publication of grievance cases on the Fair Wear website.

At the same time, the companies are closely assisted: Fair Wear supports them in establishing internal processes for receiving and resolving complaints as well as raising awareness of the mechanism in their supplier factories.

In the long term, a joint grievance mechanism is to be created that members of different initiatives can use. Therefore, the first phase of the project focuses on identifying and defining parameters and elements for such a joint mechanism. The incorporation of further companies and countries is envisaged for the second phase.

"With this joint approach, we want to work towards strengthening the rights of the employees in our supply chains.", Larissa Forntheil, Corporate Responsibility Manager at Seidensticker.

Sabrina Müller, Head of Sustainability at s.Oliver Group: "We would like to further develop our existing approach to complaints and remedial action in our supply chain. This cooperation gives us the opportunity to address this issue more efficiently and, most importantly, together with various actors such as the Fair Wear Foundation. In this way, we can avoid a multitude of different channels and facilitate access for workers throughout the industry."

“Making sure that workers are listened to and can voice their complaints requires a system. Our complaints helplines in major garment-producing countries serve exactly this purpose. Working together with our member brands, we work hard to address the complaints that the helplines bring to light.”

The Fair Wear Foundation's complaints mechanism offers workers at supplier factories the opportunity to make complaints about working conditions via phone, email or app. These are received and processed by local FWF employees. Together, the buying company and the factory concerned investigate the complaint and, if necessary, provide remedy and redemption. The FWF publishes the content and status of incoming complaints on its website.

The Fair Wear Complaints procedure provides further insights into the approach.

FairWearFoundation
Module on strengthening factory-internal grievance handling in Pakistan
Key data

Period: February 2022 to April 2023

Cooperation partners: Fairtrade Deutschland e.V.

Participating companies: Primark, Hch. Kettelhack, Hugo Boss, Takko, Tex idea 

Country: Pakistan

Functioning grievance mechanisms contribute to the reporting and remediation of poor working conditions. Possible mechanisms include factory-internal complaints channels, civil society contact points and/or so-called back-up mechanisms of purchasing companies or sector initiatives. The objective of the cooperation project between Fairtrade Germany, the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) and member companies of the German Partnership for Sustainable Textiles is to improve internal complaints structures at Pakistani suppliers. The companies Primark, Hch. Kettelhack, Hugo Boss and Takko are actively participating in the project. The Pakistani GIZ project TextILES provides financial and technical support.

The project equips workers and management in around 20 Pakistani textile factories with the necessary knowledge and tools to jointly resolve complaints about working conditions. This is achieved through a tailor-made training programme that includes sensitising management, raising awareness among workers and jointly building and strengthening functioning and sustainable grievance structures.

The project is being implemented by Fairtrade Germany with a local team. It will draw on the experience and know-how of the Fairtrade Textile Programme, which has already been successfully implemented in India since 2014. The programme's approach to dealing with complaints will be transferred and adapted to the local context in Pakistan.

Which measures are planned?

  • Sensitizing management for workers' needs and training on how to deal with incoming complaints.
  • Training for workers on their rights and the benefit of complaints mechanisms
  • Training on the function and set up of grievance mechanisms for workers and management.

The textile and garment sector is Pakistan’s most important branch of the manufacturing industry. Some 15 million people (around 38 per cent of the total workforce) work in the textile sector, of which approx. 70% are male.

The working conditions in the textile industry in Pakistan are characterised by poor workplace safety, low wages, as well as a lack of co-determination at company level and a lack of dialogue between management, workers and state institutions.

The analysis has shown that a legal framework on labour law, grievance handling, trade unions and labour inspections on a provincial and federal level is in place. The laws prescribe e. g. the implementation of grievance committees in the context of harassment, shop stewards for internal grievance handling or the right of freedom of association and collective bargaining is legally guaranteed. However, insufficient job security and rarely conducted labour inspections lead to a lack of implementation and do not contribute to address and remediate the most pressing topics as intimidation and harassment of independent unions, forced overtime, sexual harassment, unsanitary conditions, lack of breaks or medical leaves, denying wages or absence of written contracts.

Partnership for Sustainable Textiles

c/o Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale
Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH
Friedrich-Ebert-Allee 36
53113 Bonn

mail@textilbuendnis.com
Phone: +49 228 4460-3560

@2022 Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien

Menü
Bündnisinitiativen

Bündnisinitiative Beschwerdemechanismen

Die Förderung des Zugangs zu Abhilfe und Wiedergutmachung ist ein elementarer Bestandteil der unternehmerischen Sorgfaltspflicht. Arbeiter*innen in der textilen Lieferkette müssen die Möglichkeit haben, auf Missstände am Arbeitsplatz aufmerksam zu machen und bei Bedarf wirksame Abhilfe zu erhalten.

Dazu braucht es funktionierende Beschwerdemechanismen. Möglich sind etwa fabrikinterne Beschwerdekanäle, zivilgesellschaftliche Anlaufstellen und/oder sogenannte Back-up-Mechanismen von einkaufenden Unternehmen oder Brancheninitiativen.​ Das Ziel der 2020 gestarteten Bündnisinitiative (BI) Beschwerdemechanismen ist es deshalb, Bündnismitglieder dabei zu unterstützen, effektive Beschwerdemechanismen zu implementieren. Die BI besteht bereits aus zwei Kooperationsprojekten. Weitere Projekte sind in Planung.

Modul zur Öffnung des Fair Wear Beschwerdemechanismus für Bündnismitglieder
Eckdaten

Zeitraum: April 2021 bis Oktober 2022

Kooperationspartner: Fair Wear Foundation, Dutch Agreement on Sustainable Garments and Textile

Beteiligte Bündnismitglieder: Esprit, s.Oliver, Seidensticker, FEMNET

Beteiligte AGT-Unterzeichner: G-Star, HEMA, Arisa

Länder: Vietnam, Indien

Inhalte und Ziele

Das Textilbündnis kooperiert mit der Fair Wear Foundation (FWF) und dem holländischen Agreement on Sustainable Garments and Textile (AGT), um Arbeiter*innen in der Lieferkette der beteiligten Bündnismitglieder einen besseren Zugang zu Beschwerdemechanismen sowie zu Abhilfe und Wiedergutmachung zu ermöglichen. Darüber hinaus wollen die Projektbeteiligten eine Vielzahl von (neuen) parallelen, oftmals ineffektiven Kanälen vermeiden und stattdessen auf bestehende und erfahrene Mechanismen bauen und diese weiterentwickeln.

Durch die Kooperation kann eine Gruppe von Bündnis- und AGT-Unternehmen den Beschwerdemechanismus der Fair Wear Foundation in Vietnam und Indien nutzen. Für die Unternehmen gelten dabei die gleichen Anforderungen wie auch für FWF-Mitglieder selbst, unter anderem:

  • Aufklärung der Arbeiter*innen über die Nutzung des FWF Mechanismus,
  • Mitwirkung bei der Untersuchung von Beschwerdefällen,
  • Umsetzung von Abhilfe und Wiedergutmachung,
  • transparente Veröffentlichung der Beschwerdefälle auf der Fair Wear Website

Gleichzeitig werden diese eng begleitet: Die Fair Wear unterstützt sie dabei, interne Prozesse zur Annahme und Lösung von Beschwerden zu etablieren sowie in ihren Zulieferfabriken auf den Mechanismus aufmerksam zu machen.

Langfristig soll ein gemeinsamer Beschwerdemechanismus entstehen, den Mitglieder unterschiedlicher Initiativen nutzen können. In der ersten Projektphase geht es somit auch darum, Parameter und Elemente für einen solchen Mechanismus zu identifizieren und zu definieren. Die Aufnahme weiterer Unternehmen und Länder ist für die zweite Phase angedacht.

„Mit diesem Ansatz möchten wir die Rechte der Beschäftigten in unseren Lieferketten stärken. Zudem wollen wir durch die Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Unternehmen und Stakeholdern voneinander lernen und Wissen aufbauen, wie man mit Beschwerden umgeht und Arbeiterinnen und Arbeiter richtig unterstützt,“ Larissa Forntheil, Managerin für Corporate Responsibility bei Seidensticker.

Sabrina Müller, Head of Sustainability bei der s.Oliver Group: „Wir möchten unseren bestehenden Ansatz bezüglich Beschwerden und Abhilfemaßnahmen in unserer Lieferkette weiterentwickeln. Die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Bündnis, anderen Unternehmen und der Fair Wear Foundation mit ihrem etablierten Beschwerdesystem bietet uns die Chance, dieses Thema effizienter und vor allem gemeinsam anzugehen. So können wir eine Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Kanäle vermeiden und Arbeiterinnen und Arbeitern in der Branche den Zugang erleichtern.“

Hintergrund: FWF-Beschwerdemechanismus

“Making sure that workers are listened to and can voice their complaints requires a system. Our complaints helplines in major garment-producing countries serve exactly this purpose. Working together with our member brands, we work hard to address the complaints that the helplines bring to light.”

Der Beschwerdemechanismus der Fair Wear Foundation bietet Arbeiter*innen bei Zulieferbetrieben telefonisch, per Mail oder App die Möglichkeit, Beschwerden über Arbeitsbedingungen vorzubringen. Diese werden von lokalen Mitarbeiter*innen der FWF entgegengenommen und bearbeitet. Gemeinsam gehen einkaufendes Unternehmen und die betroffene Fabrik der Beschwerde nach und leisten bei Bedarf Abhilfe und Wiedergutmachung. Inhalt und Status eingehender Beschwerden veröffentlicht die FWF auf ihrer Homepage.

Die Fair Wear Complaints procedure gibt weitere Einblicke in die Vorgehensweise.

Modul zur Stärkung fabrikinterner Beschwerdemechanismen in Pakistan
Eckdaten

Zeitraum: Februar 2022 bis April 2023

Kooperationspartner: Fairtrade Deutschland e.V.

Beteiligte Unternehmen: Primark, Hch. Kettelhack, Hugo Boss, Takko, Tex idea 

Land: Pakistan

Inhalte und Ziele

Funktionierende Beschwerdemechanismen tragen dazu bei, mangelhafte Arbeitsbedingungen zu melden und zu beheben. Mögliche Mechanismen sind etwa fabrikinterne Beschwerdekanäle, zivilgesellschaftliche Anlaufstellen und/oder sogenannte Back-up-Mechanismen von einkaufenden Unternehmen oder Brancheninitiativen. Zielsetzung des Kooperationsprojektes zwischen Fairtrade Deutschland, der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) sowie Mitgliedsunternehmen des Bündnisses für nachhaltige Textilien ist die Verbesserung interner Beschwerdestrukturen bei pakistanischen Zulieferern. Die Textilunternehmen Primark, Hch. Kettelhack, Hugo Boss und Takko beteiligen sich aktiv an dem Projekt. Das pakistanische GIZ-Vorhaben TextILES unterstützt finanziell und inhaltlich.

Das Projekt stattet Arbeitnehmer*innen und Management in bis zu 20 pakistanischen Textilfabriken mit den notwendigen Kenntnissen und Mitteln aus, um Beschwerden über Arbeitsbedingungen gemeinsam zu lösen. Dies wird durch ein maßgeschneidertes Schulungsprogramm erreicht, das die Sensibilisierung des Managements, die Bewusstseinsbildung der Arbeitnehmer*innen und den gemeinsamen Aufbau und die Stärkung funktionierender und nachhaltiger Beschwerdestrukturen umfasst.

Umgesetzt wird das Vorhaben von Fairtrade Deutschland mit einem lokalen Team. Dabei wird auf die Erfahrungen und das Know-how des Fairtrade-Textilprogramms zurückgegriffen, das bereits seit 2014 erfolgreich in Indien umgesetzt wird. Der Programmansatz zum Umgang mit Beschwerden wird auf den lokalen Kontext in Pakistan übertragen und angepasst.

Welche Maßnahmen sind geplant?
  • Sensibilisierung des Managements für die Bedarfe der Arbeitnehmer*innen und Schulung im Umgang mit eingehenden Beschwerden
  • Trainings für Arbeitnehmer*innen, um sie über ihre Rechte und die Nutzung von Beschwerdemechanismen aufzuklären
  • Trainings zur Funktion und Etablierung von Beschwerdemechanismen für Arbeitnehmer*innen und Management
Hintergrund: Pakistanische Textilindustrie

Der Textil- und Bekleidungssektor ist der wichtigste Industriezweig Pakistans. Etwa 15 Millionen Menschen (rund 38 % der Arbeitskräfte im verarbeitenden Gewerbe) sind in Pakistans Textilindustrie beschäftigt. Anders als in vielen anderen Produktionsländern der Textilindustrie ist in Pakistan ist die Mehrzahl der Beschäftigten in Pakistan männlich (ca. 70 %).

Doch die Probleme sind dieselben, unter anderem mangelnde Arbeitssicherheit, niedrige Löhne sowie fehlende Mitbestimmung und Dialog zwischen Management, Arbeitnehmer*innen und staatlichen Institutionen.

Zwar existiert in Pakistan ein rechtlicher Rahmen für Arbeitsrecht, die Behandlung von Beschwerden, Gewerkschaften und Arbeitsinspektionen auf Provinz- und Bundesebene. Die Gesetze schreiben zum Beispiel die Einrichtung von Beschwerdeausschüssen im Zusammenhang mit Mobbing, Vertrauensleuten für die interne Bearbeitung von Beschwerden oder das Recht auf Vereinigungsfreiheit und Kollektivverhandlungen vor. Allerdings erschweren unzureichende Beschwerdemöglichkeiten und zu selten durchgeführte Arbeitsinspektionen die Behebung schwerwiegender Probleme wie Einschüchterung unabhängiger Gewerkschaften, erzwungene Überstunden, sexuelle Belästigung, unzureichende hygienische Bedingungen, fehlende Pausen, Krankheitsurlaub oder Verweigerung von Löhnen.

Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien

c/o Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale
Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH
Friedrich-Ebert-Allee 36
53113 Bonn

mail@textilbuendnis.com
Telefon: +49 228 4460-3560

@2022 Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien