Pilot Project Organic Cotton in India

Menu
Joint projects
Pilot Project on Organic Cotton in India
Investing in organic and fair trade cotton in India: A partnership model to increase the supply of organic cotton in the global market.
Copyright: Fairtrade International / FLO-CERT Chetna Organic / Fairtrade Cotton

Cotton is the most widely used natural fiber in the global textile sector. The demand for organic cotton has hugely accelerated over the past years. However, one of the biggest challenge in the sector is aligning the growing demand for certified organic cotton with its availability. At the same time, the risk of contaminated cotton from genetically modified organisms (GMOs) needs to be decreased. 

In the organic cotton pilot project in India (South Odisha), several companies and organisations have joined efforts.

Their objective is to to increase the amount of available organic cotton on the world market through a variety of measures including training, empowerment of women, support in the conversion to organic cultivation, GMO-free seeds, purchase guarantees and premiums. 

Based on the learnings from the pilot project, the Partnership for Sustainable Textiles is planning a Partnership Initiative for organic cotton in India. Brands, retailers and standard organisations are invited to participate.

Find more information in our factsheet.

Details
Cooperation Partners

Transfair e.V. (Fairtrade Germany), Tchibo GmbH, Dibella b.v. and the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH, Chetna – FFID, Organic Cotton Accelerator (OCA)

Phase

June 2020 to March 2023

Contact

mail@textilbuendnis.com (Dr. Lisa Wegner)

Project website from Fairtrade

Pilotprojekt Bio-Baumwolle in Indien

Menü
Gemeinsame Projekte
Pilotprojekt Bio-Baumwolle in Indien​ ​
Investieren in Bio- und Fairtrade-Baumwolle in Indien: Ein Partnerschaftsmodell zur Erhöhung des Gesamtangebots von Bio-Baumwolle auf dem Weltmarkt​ ​
Copyright: Fairtrade International / FLO-CERT Chetna Organic / Fairtrade Cotton

Baumwolle ist die am meisten genutzte Naturfaser im globalen Textilsektor. Modemarken und Einzelhändler fragen seit einigen Jahren vermehrt Bio-Baumwolle nach. Eine der größten Herausforderungen besteht darin, die steigende Nachfrage nach zertifizierter Bio-Baumwolle mit deren Verfügbarkeit in Einklang zu bringen. Gleichzeitig steigt aber auch das Risiko verunreinigter Baumwolle durch gentechnisch veränderte Organismen (GVO). 

Beim Pilotprojekt Bio-Baumwolle in Indien (Süd-Odisha) haben sich mehrere Firmen und Organisationen zusammengeschlossen.

Ihr Ziel ist es, die Menge an verfügbarer Bio-Baumwolle auf dem Weltmarkt zu erhöhen, unter anderem durch Trainings, gezielte Förderung von Frauen, Unterstützung bei der Umstellung auf Bio-Anbau, GVO-freies Saatgut, Abnahmegarantien und Prämien. 

Neben dem Pilotprojekt plant das Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien eine Bündnisinitiative Bio-Baumwolle in Indien. An der Bündnisinitiative können sich Handelsmarken, Einzelhändler und Standardorganisationen beteiligen.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie in unserem Factsheet.

Steckbrief
Kooperationspartner

Transfair e.V. (Fairtrade Deutschland), Tchibo GmbH, Dibella b. v., Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH, indische Chetna Kooperative im FFID Dachverband der Kooperativen von (Baumwoll-)Kleinbäuerinnen und -bauern, Organic Cotton Accelerator (OCA)

Laufzeit

1. Juni 2020 bis 31. März 2023

Kontakt

mail@textilbuendnis.com (Dr. Lisa Wegner)

Projektseite bei Faitrade