Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien
News
12.03.2020

OECD published results of the Alignment Assessment

Recently, the OECD published the results of Alignment Assessment of the Partnership for Sustainable Textiles (PST) . With the Alignment Assessment, the OECD examines to what extent the approach of the Textiles Partnership takes into account the recommendations on due diligence in the textile sector (OECD Due Diligence Guidance for Responsible Supply Chains in the Garment and Footwear Sector). The study focused on the review process and the support offered to member companies.

The results in brief

In its requirements for member companies for the review process and in the supporting documents, the Textiles Partnership takes into account the vast majority of the OECD recommendations in full or at least in part (50 % to 70 % agreement).

The PST also has clear strengths as a platform for dialogue and learning. This was confirmed by companies, NGOs, trade unions and the German government in interviews conducted by the OECD.

However, deficits are apparent in parts of the question grid, in the specifications for binding and recommended targets and in the external audit in the review process. There it is emphasised that the audits do not evaluate the quality of the objectives set and the measures carried out systematically enough and therefore cannot sufficiently support the member companies in fulfilling their due diligence obligations.

In addition, some important principles of the due diligence approach, such as meaningful stakeholder dialogue and a consistent gender perspective in the review process, have not yet been sufficiently taken into account.

With regard to the publication of roadmaps and progress reports, the OECD also notes that, due to the existing procedural and substantive requirements in the Textiles Partnership, the informative value of the reports for the public could be improved.

What are the benefits of the results?

The OECD recommendations were an important basis for the revision of the review process. As of this year, the companies in the PST are therefore undergoing a fundamentally revised and improved review process. Further information on the review process can be found here.

The results of the Alignment Assessment will also contribute to the further alignment activities with other initiatives at European level. As two of our most important cooperation partners - the Dutch Agreement on Sustainable Garments and Textile and the Sustainable Apparel Coalition - have also gone through the Alignment Assessment and implemented the OECD recommendations, significant progress can be expected.

Links and further information

The OECD published the report here .

Find a response of the Textiles Partnership on how to deal with the OECD recommendations here.

In our last year's annual report (DE and EN) you will find further Information on the Alignment Assessment of the PST (p. 35).

Share this article

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
© Copyright - Partnership for Sustainable Textiles

Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien
Aktuelles
12.03.2020

OECD veröffentlicht Ergebnisse des Alignment Assessment

Die OECD hat kürzlich die Ergebnisse des Alignment Assessments des Textilbündnisses veröffentlicht. Mit dem Alignment Assessment prüft die OECD, inwiefern der Ansatz des Textilbündnisses die Empfehlungen zu unternehmerischen Sorgfaltspflichten im Textil- und Bekleidungssektor berücksichtigt (OECD Due Diligence Guidance for Responsible Supply Chains in the Garment and Footwear Sector). Im Fokus der Untersuchung standen der Review-Prozess und die Unterstützungsangebote für Mitgliedsunternehmen.

Die Ergebnisse im Überblick

Das Textilbündnis berücksichtigt in seinen Anforderungen an Mitgliedsunternehmen für den Review-Prozess und in den unterstützenden Dokumenten den weit überwiegenden Teil der Empfehlungen der OECD vollständig oder zumindest teilweise (50 % bis 70 % Übereinstimmung).

Klare Stärken hat das Bündnis auch als Dialog- und Lernplattform. Dies bestätigen sowohl Unternehmen, als auch NROs, Gewerkschaften und die Bundesregierung in einer von der OECD durchgeführten Befragung.

Lücken zeigen sich dagegen bei Teilen des Fragerasters, bei den Vorgaben für verbindliche und empfohlene Ziele sowie bei der externen Prüfung im Review-Prozess. Dort wird hervorgehoben, dass die Prüfungen die Qualität der gesetzten Ziele und der durchgeführten Maßnahmen nicht systematisch genug bewerten und die Mitgliedsunternehmen daher nicht hinreichend bei der Erfüllung unternehmerischer Sorgfaltspflichten unterstützen können.

Darüber hinaus werden einige wichtige Prinzipien des Due-Diligence-Ansatzes, zum Beispiel sinnvoller Stakeholder-Dialog und durchgehende Gender-Perspektive im Review-Prozess bislang nicht hinreichend berücksichtigt.

Mit Blick auf die Veröffentlichung von Roadmaps und Fortschrittsberichten merkt die OECD weiterhin an, dass aufgrund der bestehenden prozessualen und inhaltlichen Vorgaben im Bündnis die Aussagekraft der Berichte für die Öffentlichkeit verbesserungswürdig ist.

Wozu dienen die Ergebnisse?

Die Empfehlungen der OECD waren eine wichtige Grundlage für die Überarbeitung insbesondere des Review-Prozesses. Ab diesem Jahr durchlaufen die Unternehmen im Textilbündnis daher einen grundlegend überarbeiteten und verbesserten Review-Prozess. Weitere Informationen zum Review-Prozess hier.

Die Ergebnisse des Alignment Assessment fließen darüber hinaus in die weiteren Aktivitäten zur Angleichung mit anderen Initiativen auf europäischer Ebene ein. Da auch zwei unserer wichtigsten Kooperationspartner – das niederländische Textilbündnis (AGT) und die Sustainable Apparel Coalition – das Alignment Assessment durchlaufen und die Empfehlungen der OECD umgesetzt haben, sind hier deutliche Fortschritte zu erwarten.

Links und weitere Informationen

Den Bericht hat die OECD hier veröffentlicht.

Die Erklärung des Textilbündnisses zum Umgang mit den OECD-Empfehlungen finden Sie hier.

Im letzten Jahresbericht (DE und EN) finden Sie zudem weitere Informationen zum Alignment Assessment des Textilbündnisses (S. 35f.).

Diesen Beitrag teilen

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
© Copyright - Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien