PST members call on the German government to ratify ILO Convention 190

Menu
News
08.03.2022

PST members call on the German government to ratify ILO Convention 190

Violence and Harassment Convention

On International Women's Day, 33 members wrote a letter to the Federal Minister for Economic Cooperation and Development, Svenja Schulze, and the Federal Minister of Labour, Hubertus Heil. In the letter, they call on the German government to quickly ratify Convention 190 of the International Labour Organisation (ILO) to end violence and harassment in the world of work. The convention specifically highlights gender-based violence and harassment and formulates concrete requirements for companies.

"ILO Convention 190 is a historic milestone. These are perhaps the most far-reaching regulations on labour standards ever adopted by the ILO. The convention provides the first international definition of violence and harassment in the world of work. And especially important for women: it explicitly includes gender-based violence and harassment," says Christina Stockfisch (DGB), who was involved in the negotiations of the agreement.

So far, only ten countries have ratified the convention. When Greece and Italy signed the convention, the process began to move at the European level. In the coalition agreement, the German government announces that it will ratify the agreement.

In their letter, the Textiles Partnership members point out that an estimated 500 million women of working age live in countries without legal protection against violence and harassment in the workplace. In textile production, women make up an estimated 70 percent of the 60 million employees. They are often exposed to gender-based violence, harassed and discriminated. The corona pandemic has further exacerbated the situation. It is therefore even more important that the German Federal Government uses its strong position in the EU to promote the convention. With the signing, Germany could send a signal to partner and production countries to take decisive action against gender-based violence in the world of work.

The Partnership for Sustainable Textiles is committed to a social, ecological and corruption-free textile and clothing industry. By joining the Textiles Partnership, all members are committed to zero tolerance for gender-based violence and harassment – within their own organisation and with the contractual partners in the supply chain. Together, the approximately 130 members from the private sector, politics and civil society are committed to a working world free of violence and harassment, which is based on the principles of dignity, respect and equality. But that alone is not enough. "All actors, including the German Federal Government, must fulfil their responsibilities. Only sufficient legal framework conditions can break down structural barriers. An effective international agreement to end violence and harassment in the world of work is an important step in this direction,"the Partnership members write.

These 33 Partnership members have signed the letter to the German Federal Development Minister and the German Federal Minister of Labour: 3FREUNDE, ALDI Nord, ALDI Süd, Bierbaum-Proenen, Blutsgeschwister, Brands Fashion, Bundesverband der Deutschen Sportartikel-Industrie e.V. (BSI), CARE, Cotton made in Africa/Aid by Trade Foundation, Deltex, German Trade Union Confederation (DGB), erlich textil, Ethical Made, FaRev, FEMNET, Frauenwerk der Nordkirche, Global Nature Fund, GOTS, Greiff, HEJ Support, Hugo Boss, IG Metall, INKOTA, Institute of Development Research and Development Policy of the Ruhr University Bochum (IEE), International Association of Natural Textiles (IVN), Ivy & Oak, LIDL, Mantis World, SÜDWIND, Sympatex, Tchibo, VAUDE, VerbraucherService im KDFB e.V.

Textilbündnis-Mitglieder rufen die Bundesregierung auf, das ILO-Übereinkommen 190 zu ratifizieren

Menü
Aktuelles
08.03.2022

Textilbündnis-Mitglieder rufen die Bundesregierung auf, das ILO-Übereinkommen 190 zu ratifizieren

Beendigung von Gewalt und Belästigung in der Arbeitswelt

Am Internationalen Weltfrauentag wenden sich 33 Mitglieder in einem Brief an die Bundesentwicklungsministerin Svenja Schulze und Bundesarbeitsminister Hubertus Heil. Darin fordern sie die Bundesregierung auf, das Übereinkommen 190 der Internationalen Arbeitsorganisation (ILO) zur Beendigung von Gewalt und Belästigung in der Arbeitswelt zügig zu ratifizieren. Die Konvention hebt geschlechtsspezifische Gewalt und Belästigung besonders hervor und formuliert konkrete Anforderungen an Unternehmen.

„Das ILO-Übereinkommen 190  ist ein historischer Meilenstein. Es sind die vielleicht weitreichendsten Vorschriften zu Arbeitsstandards, die je von der ILO beschlossen wurden. Das Übereinkommen bietet die erste internationale Definition von Gewalt und Belästigung in der Arbeitswelt. Und für Frauen besonders wichtig: Sie schließt geschlechtsspezifische Gewalt und Belästigung explizit ein“, sagt Christina Stockfisch vom Deutschen Gewerkschaftsbund DGB, die an den Verhandlungen des Abkommens beteiligt war.

Bisher haben lediglich zehn Länder das Übereinkommen ratifiziert. Als nun Griechenland und Italien die Konvention unterzeichnet haben, kam auf europäische Ebene Bewegung in den Prozess. Die Bundesregierung kündigt im Koalitionsvertrag an, das Abkommen zu ratifizieren.

Die Textilbündnismitglieder weisen in ihrem Brief darauf hin, dass schätzungsweise 500 Millionen Frauen im erwerbstätigen Alter in Ländern ohne gesetzlichen Schutz vor Gewalt und Belästigung am Arbeitsplatz leben. In der Textilproduktion machen Frauen schätzungsweise 70 Prozent der 60 Millionen Beschäftigten aus. Häufig sind sie geschlechtsspezifischer Gewalt ausgesetzt, werden belästigt und diskriminiert. Durch die Corona-Pandemie habe sich die Situation weiter verschärft. Umso wichtiger sei daher, dass die Bundesregierung ihre starke Stellung in der EU nutze, um für die Konvention zu werben. Mit der Unterzeichnung könne Deutschland ein Signal an Partner- und Produktionsländer senden, entschlossen gegen geschlechtsspezifische Gewalt in der Arbeitswelt vorzugehen.

Das Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien setzt sich für eine soziale, ökologische und korruptionsfreie Textil- und Bekleidungsbranche ein. Mit dem Beitritt ins Textilbündnis bekennen sich alle Mitglieder zu Null Toleranz gegenüber geschlechterbasierter Gewalt und Belästigung – innerhalb der eigenen Organisation und bei den Vertragspartnern in der Lieferkette. Gemeinsam engagieren sich die rund 130 Mitglieder aus Wirtschaft, Politik und Zivilgesellschaft für eine Arbeitswelt frei von Gewalt und Belästigung, die auf den Prinzipien von Würde, Respekt und Gleichberechtigung fußt. Doch das allein reiche nicht aus. „Alle Akteure, auch die Bundesregierung, müssen ihrer Verantwortung nachkommen. Nur hinreichende gesetzliche Rahmenbedingungen können strukturelle Barrieren abbauen. Ein effektives internationales Abkommen zur Beendigung von Gewalt und Belästigung in der Arbeitswelt ist ein wichtiger Schritt in diese Richtung“, schreiben die Bündnismitglieder.

Diese 33 Bündnismitglieder haben den Brief an die Bundesentwicklungsministerin und den Bundesarbeitsminister unterschrieben: 3FREUNDE, ALDI Nord, ALDI Süd, Bierbaum-Proenen, Blutsgeschwister, Brands Fashion, Bundesverband der Deutschen Sportartikel-Industrie e.V. (BSI), CARE, Cotton made in Africa/ Aid by Trade Foundation, Deltex, Deutscher Gewerkschaftsbund (DGB), erlich textil, Ethical Made, FaRev, FEMNET, Frauenwerk der Nordkirche, Global Nature Fund, GOTS, Greiff, HEJ Support, Hugo Boss, IG Metall, INKOTA, Institut für Entwicklungsforschung und Entwicklungspolitik der Ruhr-Universität Bochum (IEE), Internationaler Verband der Naturtextilwirtschaft (IVN), Ivy & Oak, LIDL, Mantis World, SÜDWIND, Sympatex, Tchibo, VAUDE, VerbraucherService im KDFB e.V.