Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien
News
11.10.2017

General Assembly 2017 - A look back and a look forward

On the occasion of the third General Assembly of the Partnership for Sustainable Textiles on 11 October, over 150 Alliance members and guests gathered at the Quadriga Forum in Berlin. In addition to contributions by Thomas Silberhorn, Parliamentary State Secretary in the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development, and BMZ textile ambassador Barbara Meier, there were rounds of talks with international experts, parallel workshops and plenty of opportunities for discussion and exchange.

The Partnership Secretary presented the Annual Report 16/17 and looked at results, successes and learning experiences. The focus was on findings from the action plans, which each member had to draw up for the first time this year. State Secretary Silberhorn had a lot of recognition for the creation of these so-called roadmaps. He thanked the members for their commitment and urged them to continue on this path.

In working groups on topics such as due diligence, transparency in the supply chain, prevention of corruption and professional qualification in the textile industry, the members exchanged experiences and jointly discussed solutions for the most pressing challenges in the textile sector. For example, best practices for more transparency in the supply chain and ideas for improving vocational qualification in textile factories were presented.

To the question "Just pay more? On the way to living wages" discussed Christa Luginbühl (Public Eye), Frank Hoffer (ACT), Henning Seidentopp (Melawear), Lary Brown (Esprit), Martin Curley (Fair Wear Foundation) and Mark Starmanns (BSD Consulting). The discussion showed that the problem cannot be tackled by one actor alone - it is precisely in this area that new forms of cooperation are crucial for success. In the coming year, the Partnership would like to meet this challenge and present itself with a Partnership Initiative  .

In the evening, model and textile ambassador Barbara Meier gave an interview in which she praised the Partnership members, showed how to walk the catwalk properly, and revealed her strategy to help her create a "sustainable wardrobe".

Presentation of the Steering Committee

Panel on "Just pay more?"

Share this article

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
© Copyright - Partnership for Sustainable Textiles

Mitgliederversammlung 2017 – Ein Blick zurück und Blick nach vorn

Anlässlich der dritten Mitgliederversammlung des Bündnisses für nachhaltige Textilien kamen am 11. Oktober über 150 Bündnismitglieder und Gäste im Quadriga Forum in Berlin zusammen. Neben Beiträgen von Thomas Silberhorn, Parlamentarischer Staatssekretär im Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit, und BMZ-Textilbotschafterin Barbara Meier gab es Gesprächsrunden mit internationalen Experten, parallele Workshops sowie viel Gelegenheit zur Diskussion und zum Austausch.

Das Bündnissekretariat präsentierte den Jahresbericht  2016 / 2017 und blickte auf Ergebnisse, Erfolge und Lernerfahrungen. Im Zentrum standen Erkenntnisse aus den Maßnahmenplänen, die jedes Mitglied in diesem Jahr erstmalig erstellen musste. Für die Erstellung dieser sogenannten Roadmaps hatte Staatssekretär Silberhorn viel Anerkennung im Gepäck. Er dankte den Mitgliedern für ihr Engagement und forderte dazu auf, diesen Weg konsequent weiter zu verfolgen.

In Arbeitsgruppen zu Themen wie Sorgfaltspflichten von Unternehmen (Due Diligence), Transparenz in der Lieferkette, Korruptionsprävention aber auch berufliche Qualifizierung in der Textilindustrie tauschten die Mitglieder Erfahrungen aus und erörterten gemeinsam Lösungen für die drängendsten Herausforderungen im Textilsektor. So wurden beispielsweise Best Practices für mehr Transparenz in der Lieferkette und Ideen zur Verbesserung der beruflichen Qualifizierung in den Textilfabriken vorgestellt.

Zur Frage „Einfach mehr zahlen? Auf dem Weg zu existenzsichernden Löhnen“ diskutierten Christa Luginbühl (Public Eye), Frank Hoffer (ACT), Henning Seidentopp (Melawear), Lary Brown (Esprit), Martin Curley (Fair Wear Foundation) und Mark Starmanns (BSD Consulting). Die Diskussion zeigte : Die Problematik kann nicht von einem Akteur alleine bewältigt werden – gerade in dieser Frage sind neue Formen der Zusammenarbeit erfolgsentscheidend. Das Bündnis möchte sich im kommenden Jahr dieser Herausforderung stellen und mit einer Bündnisinitiative  einen gezielten Beitrag leisten.

Am Abend verteilte Model und Textilbotschafterin Barbara Meier in einem Interview Lob für die Bündnismitglieder, zeigte wie man richtig über einen Laufsteg schreitet und verriet ihre Strategie, die ihr zu einem „nachhaltigen Kleiderschrank“ verhelfen soll.

 

Vorstellung des Steuerungskreises 2017

Podiumsdiskussion zum Thema „Einfach mehr zahlen? Auf dem Weg zu existenzsichernden Löhnen“