,

Fashion Industry Steps Up Climate Ambition with Renewed Charter

Menu
News
10.11.2021

Fashion Industry Steps Up Climate Ambition with Renewed Charter

Friday marks the end of the World Climate Change Conference in Glasgow. During the two-week conference, the Fashion Charter presented the renewed Fashion Industry Charter for Climate Action . Since February 2021, the specifications of the current Fashion Charter have served the Textiles Partnership and its members as a reference document for the processing of the sector risk Climate and GHG Emissions.

The Fashion Industry Charter for Climate Action is part of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC). The aim is to gradually reduce CO₂ emissions along the entire textile value chain. In this way, climate neutrality is to be achieved by 2050, in order to limit climate change to a maximum of 1.5°C.

In a press release the responsible UN Secretariat for Climate recognizes the fashion industry as a major global player needing to take an active part in contributing to the realization of these goals. The new version of the document form a decarbonization plan aligned with Paris Agreement ambitions to limit the global temperature rise to 1.5 degrees Celsius above pre-industrial levels. Central to this is the call for companies to set Science Based Targets or halve their emissions by 2030, with a pledge to achieve net-zero emissions no later than 2050. This is an update on the previous target of 30 per cent aggregate greenhouse gas emission reductions by 2030.

To achieve this goal, the Fashion Charter proposes the following measures, among others:

  • By 2030, companies should ensure that 100% of the energy for their own processes comes from renewable sources.
  • 100% of priority fibers must be preferred fibers by 2030 (aligned with Textile Exchange definition).
  • Companies should set short-term goals for improved product use and product design to extend the life cycle of products.

Fashion Charter signatories collectively represent a significant proportion of the fashion industry. There are currently 130 companies and 41 supporting organisations that have signed the Fashion Charter including some of the well-known brands such as Burberry, H&M Group, VF Corporation, adidas, Kering, Chanel, Nike, and PUMA as well as suppliers such as Crystal Group, TAL Apparel and others.

The Textiles Partnership has also been a Supporting Organization of the Fashion Charter since 2018. Since 2021, the Charter has served as the Textiles Partnership's reference document for reducing greenhouse gas emissions. Companies, suppliers and other stakeholders in the textile and fashion industry are to implement measures to achieve this goal. In doing so, they can get orientation in the Climate Action Playbook .

The Textiles Partnership is planning a webinar for members to inform them about the adjustments to the Fashion Charter and what it means for the Textiles Partnership.

About the Fashion Industry Charter for Climate Action

The mission of the Fashion Industry Charter for Climate Action is to bring the fashion industry to net-zero greenhouse gas emissions by 2050 at the latest in order to keep global warming below 1.5 degrees Celsius. Since the launch of the Charter in 2018, 130 companies and 41 supporting organizations have committed to climate action. The Charter provides a framework for stakeholder dialogue and commitment to climate action.

About the UNFCCC

With 197 Parties, the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) has near universal membership and is the parent treaty of the 2015 Paris Climate Change Agreement. The main aim of the Paris Agreement is to keep a global average temperature rise this century well below 2 degrees Celsius and to drive efforts to limit the temperature increase even further to 1.5 degrees Celsius above pre-industrial levels.

The UNFCCC is also the parent treaty of the 1997 Kyoto Protocol. The ultimate objective of all agreements under the UNFCCC is to stabilize greenhouse gas concentrations in the atmosphere at a level that will prevent dangerous human interference with the climate system, in a time frame which allows ecosystems to adapt naturally and enables sustainable development.

,

Aktualisierung der Fashion Industry Charter for Climate Action

Menü
Aktuelles
10.11.2021

Aktualisierung der Fashion Industry Charter for Climate Action

Am Freitag endet die Weltklimakonferenz in Glasgow. Während der zweiwöchigen Konferenz stellte das Fashion Charter die neue Fassung der Fashion Industry Charter for Climate Action vor. Die Vorgaben der jeweils aktuellen Fashion Charter dienen dem Textilbündnis und seinen Mitgliedern seit Februar 2021 als Referenzrahmen für die Bearbeitung des Sektorrisikos Treibhausgas-Emissionen.

Die Fashion Industry Charter for Climate Action ist Teil der Klimarahmenkonvention der Vereinten Nationen (United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change, UNFCCC). Ziel ist es, den CO₂-Ausstoß entlang der gesamten textilen Wertschöpfungskette schrittweise zu reduzieren. Auf diese Weise soll bis 2050 Klimaneutralität erreicht werden, um den Klimawandel auf maximal 1,5°C zu beschränken.

In einer Pressemitteilung schreibt das zuständige UN-Sekretariat für Klima, die Modeindustrie sei ein wichtiger globaler Akteur, der aktiv zur Verwirklichung der Pariser Klimaziele beitragen muss. Die neue Fassung des Dokuments bilde einen Dekarbonisierungsplan, mit dem die Modebranche das gemeinsame Ambitionsniveau steigere, um der Begrenzung der Klimaerwärmung auf maximal 1.5°C gerecht zu werden, bzw. die Treibhausgase bis 2030 zu halbieren und bis 2050 Nullemissionen anzustreben.

Zur Erreichung dieses Zieles bezeichnet die Fashion Charter tiefgreifende systemische Änderungen als notwendig. Sie fordert von Unternehmen, sich wissenschaftlich fundierte Ziele zu setzten (Science Based Targets, SBT) und schlägt unter anderem folgende Maßnahmen vor:

  • Bis 2030 sollen Unternehmen sicherstellen, dass die Energie für ihre eigenen Prozesse zu 100% aus erneuerbaren Quellen stammen.
  • 100% der vorrangig genutzten Fasern müssen bis 2030 aus bevorzugten Fasern bestehen (angelehnt an die Textile Exchange Definition).
  • Unternehmen sollen sich kurzfristige Ziele für verbesserte Produktnutzung und Produktdesign setzen, um den Lebenszyklus der Produkte zu verlängern.

Die Unterzeichner der Fashion Charter repräsentieren einen signifikanten Anteil der weltweiten Mode- und Textilindustrie. Bisher haben 130 Unternehmen und 41 “Supporting Organisations” die Fashion Charter unterzeichnet, darunter Burberry, H&M Group, VF Corporation, adidas, Kering, Chanel, Nike, und PUMA aber auch Lieferanten wie Crystal Group, TAL Apparel und viele weitere.

Auch das Textilbündnis ist seit 2018 eine unterstützende Organisation der Fashion Charter. Seit 2021 dient die Charter im Textilbündnis als Referenzrahmen für die Reduzierung von Treibhausgas-Emissionen. Unternehmen, Lieferanten und weitere Akteure der Textil- und Modeindustrie sollen Maßnahmen umsetzen, um dieses Ziel zu erreichen. Sie können sich dabei am Handbuch zum Klimaschutz (Climate Action Playbook) orientieren.

Das Textilbündnis plant ein Webinar für Mitglieder, um sie über die Anpassungen der Fashion Charter und deren Bedeutung für das Textilbündnis zu informieren.

Über die Fashion Industry Charter for Climate Action

Das Ziel der Fashion Industry Charter for Climate Action ist es, die Modeindustrie bis spätestens 2050 auf Netto-Null-Treibhausgasemissionen zu bringen, um die globale Erwärmung unter 1,5 Grad Celsius zu halten. Seit dem Start der Charter im Jahr 2018 haben sich 130 Unternehmen und 41 unterstützende Organisationen zu Klimaschutzmaßnahmen verpflichtet. Die Charter bietet einen Rahmen für den Stakeholder-Dialog und das Engagement für den Klimaschutz.

Über das UNFCCC

Die United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) hat mit 197 Vertragsparteien eine nahezu universelle Mitgliedschaft und ist der Muttervertrag des Pariser Klimaschutzabkommens von 2015. Hauptziel des Pariser Abkommens ist es, den globalen durchschnittlichen Temperaturanstieg in diesem Jahrhundert deutlich unter 2 Grad Celsius zu halten und die Bemühungen um eine weitere Begrenzung des Temperaturanstiegs auf 1,5 Grad Celsius über dem vorindustriellen Niveau voranzutreiben.

Das UNFCCC ist auch der Muttervertrag des Kyoto-Protokolls von 1997. Oberstes Ziel aller Vereinbarungen im Rahmen des UNFCCC ist die Stabilisierung der Treibhausgaskonzentrationen in der Atmosphäre auf einem Niveau, das eine gefährliche Beeinträchtigung des Klimasystems durch den Menschen verhindert, und zwar in einem Zeitrahmen, der den Ökosystemen eine natürliche Anpassung und eine nachhaltige Entwicklung ermöglicht.