Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien
News
15.02.2021

UNFCCC Playbook now available in German

The UNFCCC Climate Action Playbook is a living document for all stakeholders in the textile and garment industry. It supports them on their way to reducing reduce CO2 emissions to net zero by 2050. Now the playbook is also available in German. The Fashion Industry Charter for Climate Action published the English version in September 2020.

The playbook is designed to help companies identify what actions to take and what initiatives and programs they could support.

It is especially a support for smaller and medium sized brands and suppliers - that may have less experience with carbon accounting and planning carbon reduction strategies. For them, it offers an introduction to the topic and supports them in taking their first steps. However, more experienced, larger companies will also find valuable information, tips and examples, for example on climate management in the supply chain.

"I am very happy that we now also have the German translation of the playbook, because climate action is becoming increasingly important in the Textiles Partnership. An expert group has been working on this since last year. In January, the Steering Committee decided that the UN Fashion Industry Charter for Climate Action should serve as a reference framework for greenhouse gas emissions for the Partnership for Sustainable Textiles. On this basis, we can initiate joint activities," says Rahel Lemke, who is in charge of climate relevant topics in the Partnership Secretariat.

You are invited to download the Playbook:

Background

The Fashion Industry Climate Charter is part of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC). The charter pursues the goal of achieving net zero greenhouse gas emissions across the industry by 2050 at the latest in order to keep global warming below 1.5 degrees. The Partnership for Sustainable Textiles is a Supporting Organisation. Partnership members and partners Puma, Adidas, Textile Exchange and ZDHC were among those involved in developing the Playbook.

Share this article

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
© Copyright - Partnership for Sustainable Textiles

Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien
Aktuelles
15.02.2021

Handbuch zum Klimaschutz jetzt auch auf Deutsch

Das Handbuch zum Klimaschutz ist ein lebendiger Leitfaden für alle Akteure der Textil- und Bekleidungsbranche. Es unterstützt sie auf ihrem Weg zur Reduktion von Treibhausgasen auf Netto-Null bis 2050. Jetzt ist das Handbuch auch auf Deutsch verfügbar. Die Klimaschutzcharta der Modeindustrie veröffentlichte die englische Fassung im September 2020 (UNFCCC Playbook for Climate Action).

Das Handbuch zum Klimaschutz und zur Treibhausgas-Reduktion soll Unternehmen helfen, herauszufinden, welche Maßnahmen zu ergreifen sind und welche Initiativen und Programme sie unterstützen könnten.

Es ist insbesondere eine Unterstützung für kleinere und mittlere Textilunternehmen, die sich noch nicht so intensiv mit dem Thema auseinandergesetzt haben. Für sie bietet es eine Einführung ins Thema und unterstützt sie bei den ersten Schritten. Doch auch erfahrenere, größere Unternehmen finden darin wertvolle Hinweise, Tipps und Beispiele, etwa zum Klimamanagement der Lieferkette.

„Es freut mich sehr, dass wir das Handbuch jetzt auch auf Deutsch haben, denn das Thema Klimaschutz wird im Textilbündnis immer wichtiger. Seit letztem Jahr arbeitet dazu eine Expert*innen-Gruppe. Im Januar hat der Steuerungskreis entschieden, dass die UN Fashion Industry Charter for Climate Action dem Textilbündnis als Referenzrahmen für Treibhausgas-Emissionen dienen soll. Auf dieser Grundlage können wir als Bündnis gemeinsame Aktivitäten anstoßen,“ sagt Rahel Lemke, die im Bündnissekretariat das Thema Klimaschutz betreut.

Das Handbuch zum Klimaschutz können Sie hier herunterladen:

Hintergrund

Die Klimaschutzcharta der Modeindustrie ist Teil der VN-Klimarahmenkonvention (United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change, UNFCCC). Die Charta verfolgt das Ziel, bis spätestens 2050 Netto-Null-Treibhausgas-Emissionen in der gesamten Branche zu erreichen, um die globale Erwärmung unter 1,5 Grad zu halten. Das Textilbündnis unterstützt die Charta als Supporting Organisation. An der Erarbeitung des Playbook for Climate Action waren unter anderem die Bündnismitglieder und Partner Puma, Adidas, Textile Exchange und ZDHC beteiligt.

Diesen Beitrag teilen

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
© Copyright - Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien