,

Working Meeting 2021

Menu
News
08.11.2021

Finally a meeting in presence again, get in contact with others and see old acquaintances again!

At least in part, because this year's Working Meeting of the Partnership for Sustainable Textiles took place on 27 October as a hybrid event. About 60 representatives of the Partnership's members met at the KOMED in Cologne. Additionally, up to 30 people dialed in online for the workshops and two plenary sessions.
Revised Review Process: experiences and expectations

In his welcome note, Jürgen Janssen, head of the Partnership's secretariat, spoke about experiences and expectations in this year's Review Process. As a result of the adaptation based on the recommendations of the OECD, corporate due diligence obligations are at the core of the consideration. The purpose of the Review Process is for companies to demonstrate how they are fulfilling their individual responsibilities and to receive structured support in this regard.

A central aspect of this is the change in perspective when considering risks. Whereas previously the focus was primarily on economic risks for the company itself, now it is more a question of what risks the company's own business activities cause for stakeholders in the supply chain and for the environment.

In addition, it would be necessary to see how well the Review Process in the Textiles Partnership was in line with regulatory requirements such as the Act on Corporate Due Diligence Obligations in Supply Chains, which was passed in June. Consultations with the German Federal Office for Economic Affairs and Export Control (BAFA), which is responsible for the review, are one of the things to be done. Nevertheless, Janssen is already certain: "The Review Process is a good basis to be compliant with future requirements."

Greetings from Dr. Maria Flachsbarth, Parliamentary State Secretary at the BMZ

Dr. Maria Flachsbarth, Parliamentary State Secretary to the Federal Minister for Economic Cooperation and Development, was present from Berlin. She also spoke about the Review Process, which is particularly challenging for companies during the pandemic and global crisis: "I am very pleased that many of you have taken on this challenging review. The Review Process provides transparency and commitment and is a quality control. You are taking a courageous step forward and showing that you not only want to take responsibility, but are ultimately doing so in a verifiable manner. For this, I have great respect and many thanks. I am convinced that your efforts are worthwhile."

At the end of the legislative term, she also expressed her thanks for the good cooperation in recent years and emphasized how important it is for politics, business and civil society to work together. Because only together could we succeed in banishing unacceptable conditions such as low wages, child labor and environmental harm: "If the PST didn't exist, we would have to invent it. And if we hadn't invented it in 2014, we wouldn't be where we are today. We have made good progress with each other, recognized the necessities and signs of the times, and are therefore further ahead in the textile sector than in other industries."

It's not called a working meeting for nothing - six workshops on the various Partnership topics

As in previous years, members worked on Partnership topics at this Working Meeting. The agenda included workshops on gender-based violence, climate protection, purchasing practices, supply chain transparency and sustainable public procurement.

There was also great interest in the panel with Jorge Conesa (Policy Manager at Fair Trade Advocacy Office) and Baptiste Carriere-Pradal (Chair of the Policy Hub) on developments at EU level. The two experts addressed, among other things, the EU Textiles Strategy, which aims to strengthen competitiveness and innovation in the textile and garment sector, boost the EU market for sustainable and recyclable textiles, push back fast fashion and promote new business models. This is to be achieved through a series of measures, including a sustainable products initiative and extended producer responsibility.

The discussion on binding requirements regarding corporate due diligence also came up. A possible due diligence law at EU level would require companies to take action to address their negative impacts on sustainability in their own operations and in their value chain by identifying relevant risks, taking preventive measures and mitigating negative impacts.

Textiles Partnership members can find the follow-up documents (minutes, workshop recordings, photos) in the closed members' area.

,

Arbeitstreffen 2021

Menü
Aktuelles
08.11.2021

Endlich wieder ein Treffen in Präsenz, neue Kontakte knüpfen und alte Bekannte wiedersehen!

Zumindest zum Teil, denn das diesjährige Arbeitstreffen des Bündnisses für nachhaltige Textilien fand am 27. Oktober hybrid statt. Im KOMED in Köln trafen sich rund 60 Vertreter*innen der Bündnismitglieder, zusätzlich wählten sich bis zu 30 Personen online in die Workshops und zwei Sessions im Plenum ein.
Überarbeiteter Review-Prozess: Erfahrungen und Erwartungen

Bei der Begrüßung ging der Leiter des Bündnissekretariats Jürgen Janssen auf Erfahrungen und Erwartungen im diesjährigen Review-Prozess ein. Durch die Anpassung auf der Grundlage der Empfehlungen der OECD stehen nun die unternehmerischen Sorgfaltspflichten noch klarer im Mittelpunkt der Betrachtung. Der Zweck des Review-Prozesses sei es, dass Unternehmen darstellen wie sie ihrer individuellen Verantwortung nachkommen und dass sie dazu strukturierte Unterstützung erhalten.

Ein zentraler Aspekt dabei sei der Perspektivwechsel bei der Risikobetrachtung. Standen vormals in erster Linie ökonomische Risiken für das eigene Unternehmen im Mittelpunkt, gehe es nun vielmehr um die Frage, welche Risiken die eigene Geschäftstätigkeit bei anderen Akteuren in der Lieferkette und für die Umwelt verursacht.

Darüber hinaus müsse man schauen, wie gut sich der Review-Prozess im Textilbündnis mit gesetzlichen Anforderungen wie dem im Juni beschlossenen Lieferkettensorgfaltsgesetz decke. Dazu stehen unter anderem Konsultationen mit dem für die Prüfung zuständigen Bundesamt für Wirtschaft und Ausfuhrkontrolle (BAFA) an. Janssen ist sich dennoch schon jetzt sicher: „Der Review Prozess ist eine gute Grundlage zur Erfüllung künftiger Anforderungen.“

Grußbotschaft der Parlamentarischen Staatssekretärin im BMZ, Dr. Maria Flachsbarth

Aus Berlin war die geschäftsführende Parlamentarische Staatssekretärin des BMZ, Dr. Maria Flachsbarth zugeschaltet. Auch sie ging auf den Review-Prozess ein, der gerade während der Pandemie und weltweiten Krise herausfordernd sei: „Ich freue mich sehr, dass sich viele von Ihnen dieser anspruchsvollen Prüfung gestellt haben. Der Review-Prozess sorgt für Transparenz und Verbindlichkeit und ist eine Erfolgskontrolle. Sie gehen mutig voran und zeigen, dass Sie Verantwortung nicht nur übernehmen wollen, sondern es letztendlich auch nachprüfbar tun. Dafür mein großer Respekt und großer Dank. Ich bin überzeugt, dass ihre Mühe lohnt.“

Zum Ende der Legislatur bedankte sie sich auch für die gute Zusammenarbeit in den letzten Jahren und unterstrich, wie wichtig es ist, dass Politik, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft zusammenarbeiten. Denn nur gemeinsam könne es gelingen, inakzeptable Zustände wie Hungerlöhne, Kinderarbeit und Umweltzerstörung zu verbannen: „Wenn es das Textilbündnis nicht gäbe, müsste man es erfinden. Und wenn wir es 2014 nicht erfunden hätten, wären wir heute nicht da, wo wir sind. Wir sind miteinander gut vorangegangen, haben die Notwendigkeiten und Zeichen der Zeit erkannt und sind deshalb im Textilbereich weiter als in anderen Branchen.“

Es heißt nicht umsonst Arbeitstreffen – sechs Workshops zu den verschiedenen Bündnisthemen

Wie in den Vorjahren arbeiteten die Mitglieder auch bei diesem Arbeitstreffen an den Bündnisthemen. Auf der Agenda standen unter anderem Workshops zu geschlechtsspezifischer Gewalt, Klimaschutz, Einkaufspraktiken, Lieferkettentransparenz und nachhaltiger öffentlicher Beschaffung.

Großes Interesse bestand auch am Panel mit Jorge Conesa (Policy Manager at Fair Trade Advocacy Office) und Baptiste Carriere-Pradal (Chair des Policy Hub) zu Entwicklungen auf EU-Ebene. Die beiden Experten gingen untern anderem auf die EU-Strategie für Textilien ein, die darauf abzielt, die industrielle Wettbewerbsfähigkeit und die Innovation in der Textil- und Bekleidungsbranche zu stärken, den EU-Markt für nachhaltige und kreislauffähige Textilien anzukurbeln, Fast Fashion zurückzudrängen und neue Geschäftsmodelle zu fördern. Erreicht werden solle dies durch eine Reihe von Maßnahmen, darunter eine Initiative für nachhaltige Produkte und die erweiterte Herstellerverantwortung (Extended Producer Responsibility).

Auch die Diskussion um verbindliche Anforderungen hinsichtlich unternehmerischer Sorgfaltspflichten kam zur Sprache. Ein mögliches Lieferkettengesetz auf EU-Ebene würde Unternehmen dazu verpflichtet, Maßnahmen zu ergreifen, um ihre negativen Auswirkungen auf die Nachhaltigkeit in ihren eigenen Betrieben und in ihrer Wertschöpfungskette anzugehen, indem sie relevante Risiken identifizieren, Maßnahmen zur Prävention ergreifen und negative Auswirkungen abmildern.

Textilbündnis-Mitglieder finden die Nachlese-Unterlagen (Protokolle, Workshop-Aufzeichnungen, Fotos) im geschlossenen Mitgliederbereich.