,

Online Trainings: Sheep Welfare in Wool Production

News
16.02.2021

Online Trainings: Sheep Welfare in Wool Production

In December, the animal welfare organisation FOUR PAWS and the Dutch Agreement on Sustainable Garment and Textiles (AGT) organised a training on Sheep Welfare in Wool Production. The workshop resulted in three online trainings on responsible wool production. The three videos are helpful for textile and clothing companies.

Part 1: Animal welfare in sheep farming

Rebecca Picallo Gil, campaign manager and project manager of Wool With a Butt at FOUR PAWS, kicks things off. She introduces the topic of animal welfare and animal protection in sheep farming. Best practices in wool production are also addressed. Fashion brands should only source wool from sheep that are kept without mulesing (see info box).
Video link (41 minutes)

Part 2: Sourcing wool at Patagonia

In the second video, Nicolas Allen, Senior Traceability and Animal Welfare Manager at Patagonia, presents the requirements the outdoor brand places on its wool. For example, all suppliers of virgin wool must be RWS (Responsible Wool Standard) certified and comply with the Patagonia Wool Standard (PWS).
Video link (31 minutes)

Part 3: Best Practices of the Schneider Group

In the third part of the online training, Willi Gallia presents the work of the Schneider Group. He is Chief Sustainability Officer at the Italian family-owned company. The Schneider Group procures, processes, trades and produces animal fibres, especially wool and cashmere. In the process, the company uses only mulesing-free wool and relies on labels such as RWS and GOTS.
Video link (27 minutes)

Animal welfare and protection

The Textile Partnership recognises pure new wool as sustainable if the owners adhere to the "Five Freedoms" and refrain from mulesing their animals. All member companies that use virgin wool are obliged to publish a policy in which they reject mulesing (https://www.textilbuendnis.com/know-how/branchen-risiken/fasern/schurwolle/).

Five Freedoms

The Five Freedoms were defined on the basis of the 1965 Brambell Report. They are used to determine whether and which animal welfare requirements are met. In order to establish an internationally accepted basis for animal welfare in agriculture, the Farm Animal Welfare Council (FAWC) published five basic requirements in 1993/94, which have become known as the "Five Freedoms". These requirements form an important basis for animal welfare today, regardless of the animal welfare regulations of the respective country. They represent the ideals of animal welfare and are to be understood as keeping animals "as free as possible from" the negatives mentioned in these principles.

  1. Freedom from hunger, thirst and malnutrition. The animals have free access to water and receive species-appropriate food to ensure health and vitality.
  2. Freedom from discomfort: The animals are kept in an animal-friendly environment.
  3. Freedom from pain, injury and disease through prevention or rapid diagnosis and treatment.
  4. Freedom to act out normal behaviour: Keepers provide sufficient space and species-appropriate facilities and keep the animals together with conspecifics.
  5. Freedom from fear and suffering: The animals are kept and treated in such a way that psychological suffering is avoided.
Mulesing

Often sheep are affected by a heavy fly infestation. To deal with this problem, a surgical procedure called "mulesing" emerged about ninety years ago. In this operation, parts of the skin around the tail of sheep are removed - in many cases without painkillers or anaesthesia. Smooth scar tissue forms at the wound where blowflies can no longer lay eggs. Mulesing is strongly criticised by animal welfare organisations. In New Zealand, the practice has been banned since 2018. Australian sheep farmers actually wanted to phase out mulesing by 2010, but the practice is still common. The alternative to mulesing means that the animals must be examined frequently to determine whether fly infestation is present. If so, the affected animal must be treated. This procedure is much more labour-intensive than mulesing.

Share this article

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest

Online-Trainings zu Tierwohl in der Schafhaltung und Wollproduktion

Menü
Aktuelles
16.02.2021

Online-Trainings zu Tierwohl in der Schafhaltung und Wollproduktion

Im Dezember veranstalteten die Tierschutzorganisation FOUR PAWS und das niederländische Textilbündnis (Agreement on Sustainable Garment and Textiles, AGT) ein Training zu Tierwohl in der Schafhaltung. Aus dem Workshop sind drei Online-Trainings zur verantwortungsvollen Wollproduktion hervorgegangen. Die drei Videos richten sich an Textil- und Bekleidungsunternehmen.

Teil 1: Tierwohl in der Schafhaltung

Den Auftakt macht Rebecca Picallo Gil, Kampagnenleiterin und Projektmanagerin von Wool With a Butt bei FOUR PAWS. Sie führt ins Thema Tierwohl und Tierschutz in der Schafhaltung ein. Darüber hinaus werden Best Practices in der Wollproduktion aufgegriffen. Modemarken sollten nur Wolle beziehen, die von Schafen stammt, die ohne Mulesing (siehe Infokasten) gehalten werden.
Link zum Video (41 Minuten)

Teil 2: Beschaffung von Wolle bei Patagonia

Im zweiten Teil stellt Nicolas Allen, Senior Traceability und Animal Welfare Manager bei Patagonia, vor, welche Anforderungen die Outdoormarke an ihre Wolle stellt. Beispielsweise müssen alle Lieferanten von Schurwolle RWS-zertifiziert (Responsible Wool Standard) sein und den Patagonia Wool Standard (PWS) einhalten.
Link zum Video (31 Minuten)

Teil 3: Best Practices von der Schneider Group

Im dritten Teil des Online-Trainings stellt Willi Gallia die Arbeit der Schneider Group vor. Er ist Chief Sustainability Officer bei dem italienischen Familienunternehmen. Die Schneider Group beschafft, verarbeitet, handelt und produziert tierische Fasern, insbesondere Wolle und Kaschmir. Dabei verwendet die Firma ausschließlich Mulesing-freie Wolle und setzt auf Siegel wie RWS und GOTS.
Link zum Video (27 Minuten)

Tierwohl und Tierschutz​

Das Textilbündnis erkennt Schurwolle als nachhaltig an, wenn sich die Halter an die „Fünf Freiheiten“ halten und auf Mulesing ihrer Tiere verzichten. Alle Mitgliedsunternehmen, die Schurwolle verwenden, sind dazu verpflichtet, eine Policy zu veröffentlichen, in der sie Mulesing ablehnen: Sektorrisiko Tierwohl

Fünf Freiheiten​

Die Fünf Freiheiten wurden auf der Grundlage des Brambell-Berichts von 1965 definiert. Sie dienen zur Feststellung, ob und welche Tierschutzanforderungen erfüllt werden. Um eine international akzeptierte Grundlage für den Tierschutz in der Landwirtschaft zu schaffen, hat der Farm Animal Welfare Council (FAWC) 1993/94 fünf grundlegende Anforderungen veröffentlicht, die als die „Fünf Freiheiten“ bekannt geworden sind. Diese Anforderungen bilden heute unabhängig von den Tierschutzvorschriften des jeweiligen Landes eine wichtige Grundlage für Tierschutz. Sie stehen für die Ideale des Tierschutzes und sind so zu verstehen, dass die Tiere „so frei wie möglich von“ den in diesen Grundsätzen genannten Negativa zu halten sind.

  1. Freiheit von Hunger, Durst und Fehlernährung. Die Tiere haben freien Zugang zu Wasser und erhalten artgerechte Nahrung zur Gewährleistung der Gesundheit und Vitalität
  2. Freiheit von Unbehagen: Die Tiere werden in einer tiergerechten Umgebung gehalten.
  3. Freiheit von Schmerz, Verletzung und Krankheit durch Prävention oder eine schnelle Diagnose und Behandlung.
  4. Freiheit zum Ausleben normalen Verhaltens: Die Halter sehen ausreichend Platz und artgerechte Einrichtungen vor und halten die Tiere zusammen mit Artgenossen.
  5. Freiheit von Angst und Leiden: Die Tiere werden so gehalten und behandelt, dass psychisches Leid vermieden wird.
Mulesing

Oft sind Schafe von einem starken Fliegenbefall betroffen. Um dieses Problem in den Griff zu bekommen, kam vor etwa neunzig Jahren ein chirurgisches Verfahren namens „Mulesing“ auf. Bei dieser Operation werden Schafen Teile der Haut rund um den Schwanz entfernt – in vielen Fällen ohne Schmerzmittel oder Betäubung. An der Wunde bildet sich glattes Narbengewebe, in dem Schmeißfliegen keine Eier mehr ablegen können. Mulesing wird von Tierschutzorganisationen stark kritisiert. In Neuseeland ist diese Praxis seit 2018 verboten. Die australischen Schafhalter wollten das Mulesing eigentlich bis 2010 auslaufen lassen, doch ist diese Praxis nach wie vor üblich. Die Alternative zum Mulesing bedeutet, dass die Tiere häufig begutachtet werden müssen, um festzustellen, ob Fliegenbefall vorliegt. Ist dies der Fall, muss das betroffene Tier behandelt werden. Diese Vorgehensweise ist deutlich arbeitsintensiver als das Mulesing.