Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien
News
23.02.2021

New guidance document "Due Diligence, Social Audits and Gender-Based Violence and Harassment"

Gender-based violence is a widespread problem in the textile sector. However, gender-based violence is often not identified in social audits and is therefore difficult to measure. Making audits gender-sensitive can help uncover cases of gender-based violence in the supply chain – an important prerequisite for developing appropriate prevention and remediation measures in dialogue with stakeholders.

A new guidance document addresses the gender-sensitive design of social audits. It was created in a project by members of the Textiles Partnership and the International Association of Natural Textiles (IVN) as well as GOTS. Over the past months, the project partners have been working intensively on the challenges of identifying gender-based violence in social audits and how to better integrate gender-sensitive audits into due diligence processes.

The new guidance document is aimed at companies, auditors and certifiers alike. It first introduces the topic of gender-based violence in the textile sector. Based on this, it offers guidance on how companies can best integrate gender-sensitive social audits into their due diligence processes. In addition, the guidance document contains numerous practical hints, best practices and checklists for the gender-sensitive design and implementation of audits.

In 2020, gender-based violence was our annual topic in the Partnership for Sustainable Textiles. More information here.

Share this article

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
© Copyright - Partnership for Sustainable Textiles

Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien
Aktuelles
23.02.2021

Neue Handreichung „Due Diligence, Social Audits and Gender-Based Violence and Harassment“

Geschlechtsspezifische Gewalt ist auch im Textilsektor ein weit verbreitetes Problem. In Sozialaudits wird geschlechtsspezifische Gewalt jedoch oftmals nicht erkannt und lässt sich daher nur schwer messen. Die gendersensible Gestaltung von Audits kann dabei helfen, Fälle von geschlechtsspezifischer Gewalt in der Lieferkette aufzudecken – eine wichtige Voraussetzung, um im Dialog mit Stakeholdern geeignete Präventions- und Abhilfemaßnahmen zu entwickeln.

Eine neue Handreichung befasst sich mit der gendersensiblen Gestaltung von Sozialaudits. Sie ist in einem Projekt von Mitgliedern des Textilbündnisses und des Internationalen Verbands der Naturtextilwirtschaft (IVN) sowie GOTS-zertifizierte Unternehmen entstanden. Die Projektpartner haben sich in den vergangenen Monaten intensiv damit beschäftigt, welche Herausforderungen bei der Identifizierung von geschlechtsspezifischer Gewalt in Sozialaudits bestehen und wie sich gendersensible Audits besser in Sorgfaltspflichtenprozesse integrieren lassen.

Die neue Handreichung richtet sich an Unternehmen, Auditor*innen und Zertifizierer gleichermaßen. Sie führt zunächst ins Thema geschlechtsspezifische Gewalt im Textilsektor ein. Darauf aufbauend bietet sie Orientierung, wie Unternehmen gendersensible Sozialaudits sinnvoll in ihre Sorgfaltspflichtenprozesse integrieren können. Zudem beinhaltet die Handreichung zahlreiche praxisnahe Hinweise, Tipps und Checklisten zur gendersensiblen Gestaltung und Durchführung von Audits.

Diesen Beitrag teilen

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
© Copyright - Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien