Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien
News
24.05.2017

What's better now than three years ago?

Interview mit Dr. Jürgen Janssen, Leiter Bündnissekretariat | © GIZ

Dr. Jürgen Janssen,
Head of the Partnership Secretary

Dr. Jürgen Janssen: A lot: For the first time, the key social groups are working together to make the textile sector fairer and more environmentally friendly. Business, politics, civil society and trade unions are learning from each other, optimising the processes and business practices of companies here in Germany and working on concrete problems in the producing countries that none of the groups can solve alone. This triad is a novelty!

The approximately 150 members also submitted annual plans for the first time this year and thus committed themselves to individual goals. This makes 150 x improvements: - in business practices, by training workers or in the management of hazardous chemicals.

Isn't this all going way too slow?

Janssen: I would also like to see an all-will-be-good button that solves all the problems in the textile sector ad hoc. But unfortunately that does not exist. A multi-stakeholder approach is certainly not the quickest way, but in my view it is the most effective and, above all, the most sustainable. It is clear that all beginnings are difficult: negotiating common goals, establishing criteria behind which nobody has to hide and which everyone can support at the same time, developing a mechanism for formulating and reviewing goals that is both ambitious and feasible - and that for all members and company types - these are mammoth tasks. The first step in drawing up the annual plans is therefore naturally a learning process. In subsequent years, the processes will be smoother and the steps in the right direction larger and more visible.

But what really arrives at the seamstress?

Janssen: There is no general answer to this question. The textile supply chain is complex and changes do not immediately penetrate every ramification. But: What we are now initiating a thousand times over with the Textiles Partnership will be passed on into the overall system in waves and will bring tangible improvements for everyone in the long term. In addition to the structural change of the overall system, which indeed takes time, the Textiles Partnership has also managed to leverage the Partnership Initiatives: As a result, several members of the Partnership have joined forces to tackle individual problems in production countries immediately.

Can't you just raise the price of a T-shirt and then the problem is solved?

Janssen: I'm afraid not. This is a structural problem, which is also related to the complexity of the supply chain. Especially in the case of fashion clothing, production costs are often only a small part of the final price. In addition there are design, advertising, costs for preliminary products, transport costs and taxes, middlemen and last but not least costs for distribution and sales in Germany. Unfortunately, the price of a T-shirt is not a good indicator of social and ecological production. Credible seals offer good indications of this, but increasingly also good information from brand manufacturers and retailers, who report transparently on origin and production conditions and their activities. The Textile Alliance will publish the first annual plans of its members from July 2017. This is also an important step towards socially and ecologically fair textile production.

..

Share this article

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
© Copyright - Partnership for Sustainable Textiles

Was ist jetzt besser als vor 3 Jahren?

Interview mit Dr. Jürgen Janssen, Leiter Bündnissekretariat | © GIZ

Dr. Jürgen Janssen,
Leiter Bündnissekretariat

Dr. Jürgen Janssen: Eine ganze Menge: Erstmalig arbeiten die entscheidenden gesellschaftlichen Gruppen gemeinsam daran, den Textilsektor fairer und umweltverträglicher zu machen. Wirtschaft, Politik, Zivilgesellschaft und Gewerkschaften lernen voneinander, optimieren Prozesse und Geschäftspraktiken von Unternehmen hier in Deutschland und arbeiten in den Produktionsländern an konkreten Problemen, die keine der Gruppen alleine lösen kann. Dieser Dreiklang ist ein Novum!

Die rund 150 Mitglieder haben in diesem Jahr auch erstmalig Jahrespläne eingereicht und sich damit auf individuelle Ziele verpflichtet. Das macht 150 x Verbesserungen: – bei den Geschäftspraktiken, durch die Weiterbildung von Arbeiterinnen und Arbeitern oder auch im Management gefährlicher Chemikalien.

Geht das nicht alles viel zu langsam?

Janssen: Ich würde mir auch eine Alles-wird-gut-Taste wünschen, mit der ad hoc alle Probleme im Textilsektor gelöst sind. Aber die gibt es leider nicht. Ein Multistakeholder-Ansatz ist sicher nicht der schnellste Weg, aber in meinen Augen der effektivste und vor allem nachhaltigste. Klar ist aller Anfang schwer: Gemeinsame Ziele aushandeln, Kriterien festzurren, hinter denen sich niemand verstecken muss, die zugleich jeder mittragen kann, einen Mechanismus für die Zielformulierung und -überprüfung entwickeln, der ambitioniert und zugleich machbar ist – und das für alle Mitglieder und Unternehmenstypen – das sind Mammutaufgaben. Der erste Durchlauf für die Erstellung der Jahrespläne ist daher naturgemäß ein Lernprozess. In den Folgejahren werden die Prozesse leichtgängiger und die Schritte in die richtige Richtung größer und besser sichtbar sein.

Aber was kommt denn nun wirklich bei der Näherin an?

Janssen: Das ist tatsächlich nicht pauschal zu beantworten. Die Textil-Lieferkette ist komplex und Veränderungen dringen nicht sofort in jede Verästelung. Aber: Was wir jetzt mit dem Textilbündnis tausendfach anstoßen, wird wellenartig in das Gesamtsystem weitergegeben und langfristig spürbare Verbesserungen für alle bringen. Neben der strukturellen Veränderung des Gesamtsystems, die in der Tat ihre Zeit braucht, hat das Textilbündnis aber auch den Hebel der Bündnisinitiativen geschafften: Damit gehen mehrere Bündnismitglieder gemeinsam einzelne Probleme in Produktionsländern sofort an.

Kann man nicht einfach den Preis für ein T-Shirt erhöhen und dann ist das Problem gelöst?

Janssen: Leider nicht. Das ist ein strukturelles Problem, das auch wieder mit der Komplexität der Lieferkette zusammenhängt. Gerade bei Modebekleidung machen die Herstellungskosten oft nur einen kleinen Teil des Endpreises aus. Dazu kommen Design, Werbung, Kosten für Vorprodukte, Transportkosten und Steuern, Zwischenhändler und nicht zuletzt Kosten für Vertrieb und Verkauf in Deutschland. Der Preis eines T-Shirts ist damit leider auch kein guter Indikator für soziale und ökologische Produktion. Gute Hinweise dafür bieten glaubwürdige Siegel, zunehmend aber auch gute Informationen der Markenhersteller und Handelshäuser, die transparent über Herkunft und Produktionsbedingungen und ihre Aktivitäten berichten. Das Textilbündnis wird ab Juli 2017 die ersten Jahrespläne von Mitgliedern veröffentlichen. Auch dies ein wichtiger Schritt in Richtung sozial und ökologisch fairer Textilproduktion.

 

Das Interview mit Dr. Jürgen Janssen finden Sie auch auf Umweltdialog.de.