,

Launch of the Living Wage Lab

Menu
News
23.09.2021

Together on living wages: Launch of the Living Wage Lab

With the launch of the Living Wage Lab, the Partnership Initiative Living Wages entered a new phase. The aim of the Living Wage Lab is to support PST members in developing and implementing individual living wage strategies and to develop scalable solutions together with their suppliers.

The Living Wage Lab is attended by 17 partnership members, including representatives of companies and trade unions, civil society and the Federal Government. On the one hand, they want to share experiences of what they have already done to increase wages and what they are planning to do in the future. On the other hand, they want to learn from each other how to implement pilot projects to increase wages with suppliers and how to improve transparency and their purchasing practices in the company. In the first phase of the Partnership Initiative on Living Wages the focus was on improving purchasing practices as well as on training and capacity building for suppliers on the subject of Open Costing.

Virtual launch event

Around 25 BI representatives took part in the virtual kick-off event of the Living Wage Lab on 14 September 2021. Kristin Apffelstaedt from the Partnership Secretariat (BS) gave an overview of the Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) and the agreements it contains. The Thrive Collaborative, a consulting organization with human rights expertise and sector-specific practical experience along the textile supply chain, presented a "Roadmap to Living Wages", with the help of which companies can implement living wages step by step.

On the basis of case studies, two companies provided insights into the practical implementation. The Swiss company Coop described its path and challenges towards living wages. Coop also addressed the issue of transparency and described how it involved various departments in the company and exchanged ideas with its suppliers. Subsequently, the Dutch jeans label Kings Of Indigo shared its learning experiences with the other Alliance members. For example, Kings of Indigo brought other brands that are manufactured by the same producer on board in order to be able to achieve more together. The case studies showed that both companies strive for transparency and protection of increased labor costs through an open cost calculation with the suppliers.

The next meeting of the Living Wage Lab is scheduled for October 26.

Useful information and links
These partnership members have signed the MoU and are participating in the Living Wage Lab
Logo Chaps Merchandising

,

Start des Living Wage Lab

Menü
Aktuelles
23.09.2021

Zusammen zu existenzsichernden Löhnen: Start des Living Wage Lab

Mit dem Living Wage Lab ist die Bündnisinitiative (BI) Existenzsichernde Löhne in eine neue Phase gestartet. Das Ziel des Living Wage Labs es ist, Bündnismitglieder bei der Entwicklung und Umsetzung individueller Strategien zu existenzsichernden Löhnen zu unterstützen und gemeinsam mit Lieferanten skalierbare Lösungen zu entwickeln.

Am Living Wage Lab beteiligen sich 17 Bündnismitglieder, darunter Vertreter*innen von Unternehmen und Gewerkschaften, der Zivilgesellschaft und der Bundesregierung. Sie wollen einerseits Erfahrungen austauschen, was sie bereits zur Steigerung der Löhne unternommen haben und was sie in Zukunft planen. Andererseits möchten sie voneinander lernen, wie sie Pilotprojekte zur Lohnsteigerung mit Lieferanten umsetzen und die Transparenz und ihre Einkaufspraktiken im Unternehmen verbessern können. In der ersten Phase der Bündnisinitiative Existenzsichernde Löhne lag der Fokus darauf, Einkaufspraktiken zu verbessern sowie auf Trainings und Capacity Building für Zulieferer zum Thema Open Costing.

Virtuelle Aufaktveranstaltung

An der virtuellen Auftaktveranstaltung des Living Wage Labs am 14. September 2021 nahmen rund 25 Vertreter*innen der BI teil. Kristin Apffelstaedt vom Bündnissekretariat (BS) gab einen Überblick über das Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) und die darin enthaltenen Vereinbarungen. Das Thrive Collaborative, eine Beratungsorganisation mit menschenrechtlicher Expertise und sektorspezifischer Praxiserfahrung entlang der Textillieferkette, stellte eine „Roadmap to Living Wages“ vor, mithilfe derer Unternehmen Schritt für Schritt existenzsichernde Löhne realisieren können.

Anhand von Fallstudien gaben zwei Unternehmen Einblicke in die praktische Umsetzung. Das Schweizer Unternehmens Coop beschrieb seinen Weg und Herausforderungen hin zu existenzsichernden Löhnen. Coop ging auch auf das Thema Transparenz ein und schilderte, wie es verschiedene Abteilungen im Unternehmen involviert und sich mit seinen Lieferanten ausgetauscht hat. Anschließend teilte das niederländische Jeans-Label Kings Of Indigo seine Lernerfahrungen mit den anderen Bündnismitgliedern. So holte Kings of Indigo beispielsweise andere Marken, die bei dem gleichen Produzenten herstellen lassen, mit ins Boot, um gemeinsam mehr bewegen zu können. Die Fallstudien zeigten, dass beide Unternehmen über eine offene Kostenkalkulation mit den Lieferanten, Transparenz über und Absicherung von gesteigerten Lohnkosten anstreben.

Das nächste Treffen des Living Wage Lab ist für den 26. Oktober vorgesehen.

Nützliche Infos und Links
Diese Bündnismitglieder haben das MoU unterzeichnet und beteiligen sich am Living Wage Lab
Logo Chaps Merchandising