Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien
News
09.02.2021

Annual Topic 2021: Responsible Purchasing Practices

In 2021, the Partnership for Sustainable Textiles makes responsible purchasing practices its annual topic. This was decided by the Steering Committee at its meeting at the end of January.

Effective cooperation between purchasing companies (brands and retailers) and suppliers is crucial to protect the rights of workers in the supply chain. The COVID-19 crisis has once again made this particularly evident. With the annual topic, the Textiles Partnership wants to contribute to an sector-wide improvement of purchasing practices and to create space for progress towards good working conditions and living wages; according to the OECD guidance for the garment sector.

Purchasing practices describe all the principles and processes by which brands and retailers interact and do business with the manufacturers who supply their products. Responsible purchasing practices enable suppliers to plan their production and working hours effectively and to pay workers fairly. At the same time, they enable suppliers to invest in the overall improvement of working conditions. In this way, they strengthen resilience in the supply chain.

Short video on purchasing practices by the initiative ACT (stragic cooperation partner of the PST).

Various activities and support services are planned throughout the course of the year:
  • During the OECD Forum on Due Diligence in the Garment and Footwear Sector, the Textiles Partnership organized a session with a panel discussion on responsible purchasing practices on February 3rd.
  • With a self-assessment and supplier survey, member companies can evaluate their purchasing practices in order to develop and implement improvement measures. Experts support the members with online training and a training video.
  • In addition, the topic will be addressed at the annual Members' Meeting in April and the Working Meeting in the fall.
  • Furthermore, the Textiles Partnership is working together with other multi-stakeholder initiatives on a common framework on purchasing practices. These include the Ethical Trading Initiative, ACT and the Fair Wear Foundation.
Background: The topic of purchasing practices in the Textiles Partnership

Part of the Partnership Initiative on Living Wages is the basic module Purchasing Practices . Twelve Partnership companies joined together in a Peer Learning Group (PLG) in 2019 to analyze their purchasing practices using the Purchasing Practices Self-Assessment Tool (PPSA). Based on this analysis, the PLG companies develop action plans to improve their purchasing practices. Many Partnership companies have already analyzed their purchasing practices using the tool. A first evaluation of the self-assessment of companies of the Textiles Partnership and the Dutch Agreement on Sustainable Garment and Textiles can be found here. In the Report to the 6th Members' Meeting you will find more information on the activities of the Partnership Initiative.

To mitigate negative impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic in the short term, the Textiles Partnership published guidelinesin April 2020, which contain recommendations for dealing with orders as well as health risks and the risk of infection in production facilities. Some members used the document to make a public commitment to act responsibly.

Share this article

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
© Copyright - Partnership for Sustainable Textiles

Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien
Aktuelles
09.02.2021

Jahresthema 2021: Verantwortungsvolle Einkaufspraktiken

Verantwortungsvolle Einkaufspraktiken sind das Jahresthema 2021 im Textilbündnis. Das entschied der Steuerungskreis bei seiner Sitzung Ende Januar.

Eine effektive und partnerschaftliche Zusammenarbeit zwischen einkaufenden Unternehmen und Lieferanten ist entscheidend, um die Rechte von Arbeitnehmer*innen in der Lieferkette zu schützen. Das hat die COVID-19-Krise noch einmal besonders deutlich gezeigt. Mit dem Jahresthema will das Textilbündnis einen Beitrag zur branchenweiten Verbesserung der Einkaufspraktiken leisten und Raum zu schaffen für Fortschritte in Richtung guter Arbeitsbedingungen und existenzsichernder Löhne; im Sinne der OECD-Sektorhandreichung.

Einkaufspraktiken beschreiben alle Prinzipien und Prozesse, mit denen Markenunternehmen und Einzelhändler mit den Herstellern, die ihre Produkte liefern, interagieren und Geschäfte machen. Verantwortungsvolle Einkaufspraktiken ermöglichen es Lieferanten, ihre Produktion und Arbeitszeiten effektiv zu planen und Arbeitnehmer*innen fair zu bezahlen. Gleichzeitig ermöglichen sie es den Lieferanten, in die allgemeine Verbesserung der Arbeitsbedingungen zu investieren. Somit stärken sie die Resilienz in der Lieferkette.

Kurzes Erklärvideo zu Einkaufspraktiken der Initiative ACT (strategischer Kooperationspartner des Textilbündnisses).

Im Jahresverlauf sind verschiedene Aktivitäten und Unterstützungsangebote geplant:
  • Während des OECD-Forums für nachhaltige Textillieferketten organisierte das Textilbündnis am 3. Februar eine Veranstaltung mit einer Paneldiskussion zu verantwortungsvollen Einkaufspraktiken.
  • Mit einer Selbsteinschätzung und Lieferantenbefragung können Mitgliedsunternehmen ihre Einkaufspraktiken bewerten, um darauf aufbauend Verbesserungsmaßnahmen zu entwickeln und umzusetzen. Expert*innen unterstützen die Unternehmen dabei mit Online-Trainings und einem Trainingsvideo.
  • Darüber hinaus wird das Thema bei der jährlichen Mitgliederversammlung im April und dem Arbeitstreffen im Herbst aufgegriffen.
  • Des Weiteren arbeitet das Textilbündnis zusammen mit anderen Multi-Stakeholder-Initiativen an einem gemeinsamen Referenzrahmen zu Einkaufspraktiken. Mit dabei sind unter anderem Ethical Trading Initiative, ACT und Fair Wear Foundation.
Hintergrund: Das Thema Einkaufspraktiken im Textilbündnis

Teil der Bündnisinitiative Existenzsichernde Löhne ist das Basis Modul Einkaufspraktiken. Zwölf Bündnisunternehmen schlossen sich 2019 in einer Peer-Learning-Gruppe (PLG) zusammen, um ihre Einkaufspraktiken mithilfe des Purchasing Practices Self-Assessment Tool (PPSA) zu analysieren. Die Unternehmen der PLG erarbeiten darauf aufbauend Maßnahmenpläne zur Verbesserung ihrer Einkaufspraktiken. Viele Bündnisunternehmen analysierten mit dem Tool bereits ihre Einkaufspraktiken. Eine erste Auswertung des Self Assessment von Unternehmen des Textilbündnisses und des niederländischen Agreement on Sustainable Garment and Textiles finden Sie hier. Im Bericht zur Mitgliederversammlung 2020 finden Sie weitere Informationen zu den Aktivitäten der Bündnisinitiative.

Um kurzfristig negative Auswirkungen der COVID-19-Pandemie zu mildern, veröffentlichte das Textilbündnis im April 2020 Leitsätze, die Empfehlungen für den Umgang mit Aufträgen sowie Gesundheitsrisiken und der Ansteckungsgefahr in Produktionsstätten enthalten. Einige Mitglieder nutzten das Dokument, um sich mit einer Selbstverpflichtung öffentlich zu verantwortlichem Handeln zu bekennen.

Diesen Beitrag teilen

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
© Copyright - Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien