,

Handling the situation in Myanmar

Menu
News
24.09.2021

Handling the situation in Myanmar

Positions of the stakeholder groups in the steering committee

Since the military coup in Myanmar, the Partnership Secretariat has been informing the members of the Textiles Partnership on a weekly basis about current developments in the country. It turns out that the military is using increasing violence against opposition members and trade unionists. Against this background, IndustriALL Global Union, ITUC: and the Myanmar Labor Alliance called for a comprehensive boycott against the military junta.

The Steering Committee of the Partnership for Sustainable Textiles has intensively discussed the situation and possible responses of the Partnership members. There is consensus that Myanmar is a high-risk country in terms of human rights.

In essence, every company purchasing in Myanmar must decide, within the framework of an intensive due diligence assessment, whether a responsible continuation of business relationships and thus the safeguarding of jobs and income is possible in the current situation, or whether these business relationships potentially make a return to democracy more difficult and should therefore also be interrupted due to the extensive restriction of association and workers' rights.

The Steering Committee will continue to address the situation in Myanmar and possible responses. The Partnership Secretariat is tasked with continuing to inform members in the Myanmar Issue Brief and continue coordination with other multi-stakeholder initiatives.

Statements of the representatives of the stakeholder groups in the Textiles Partnership
Economy

The steering committee representatives of the stakeholder group Economy recommend that members purchasing in Myanmar regularly reassess their business relationships in view of the current risk situation and with the involvement of the relevant stakeholders in Myanmar and critically consider whether these relationships can be continued.

Standard Organizations

The steering committee representative of the standard organizations stakeholder group clarifies that the standard organisations do not make general statements, e.B. related to countries/regions, as certifications, including on-site audits, are always case-by-case considerations.

Labour unions and Non-profit Organizations

The steering group representatives from trade unions and non-governmental organizations consider a withdrawal from Myanmar to be the only remaining measure due to the risk situation in order to effectively minimise the risk of further human rights violations in their supply chain in the sense of due diligence. Due to the risk situation and therefore in line with the call of the international trade unions, they demand that all companies withdraw from Myanmar and make this withdrawal as responsible as possible in compliance with their due diligence obligations.

Government

The Steering Committee representatives of the Federal Government endorse the above-mentioned recommendation of the Economic Stakeholder Group. They add the following addition: "In order not to support the military regime in a direct or indirect way, it should be excluded, as far as possible, that business partners or suppliers in Myanmar are associated with the military or that there are direct business relationships with companies owned by the military."

,

Umgang mit der Situation in Myanmar

Menü
Aktuelles
24.09.2021

Umgang mit der Situation in Myanmar

Positionen der Akteursgruppen

Seit dem Militärputsch in Myanmar informiert das Bündnissekretariat die Mitglieder des Textilbündnisses wöchentlich über aktuelle Entwicklungen in dem Land. Es zeigt sich, dass das Militär mit zunehmender Gewalt gegen Oppositionelle und Gewerkschafter*innen vorgeht. Vor diesem Hintergrund haben IndustriALL Global Union, ITUC und die Myanmar Labor Alliance zu einem umfassenden Boykott gegen die Militärjunta aufgerufen.

Der Steuerungskreis des Bündnisses für nachhaltige Textilien hat sich intensiv mit der Situation und Reaktionsmöglichkeiten der Bündnismitglieder auseinandergesetzt. Es besteht Einigkeit, dass Myanmar in menschenrechtlicher Hinsicht als Hochrisikoland einzustufen ist.

Im Kern muss jedes in Myanmar einkaufende Unternehmen im Rahmen einer intensiven Sorgfaltsprüfung entscheiden, ob in der derzeitigen Situation eine verantwortungsvolle Weiterführung von Geschäftsbeziehungen und damit die Sicherung von Arbeitsplätzen und Einkommen möglich ist, oder ob diese Geschäftsbeziehungen eine Rückkehr zu Demokratie potentiell erschweren und daher auch aufgrund der weitgehenden Einschränkung von Vereinigungs- und Arbeitnehmerrechten unterbrochen werden sollen.

Der Steuerungskreis wird sich weiterhin mit der Situation in Myanmar und möglichen Reaktionen befassen. Das Bündnissekretariat ist beauftragt, die Mitglieder weiterhin im wöchentlich aktualisierten Issue Brief zu informieren und die Abstimmung mit anderen Multi-Stakeholder-Initiativen fortzusetzen.

Stellungnahmen der Vertreter*innen der Akteursgruppen im Textilbündnis
Wirtschaft

Die Steuerungskreisvertreter der Akteursgruppe Wirtschaft empfehlen den in Myanmar einkaufenden Mitgliedern, ihre Geschäftsbeziehungen mit Blick auf die aktuelle Risikosituation regelmäßig und unter Einbeziehung der relevanten Stakeholder in Myanmar neu zu bewerten und kritisch abzuwägen, ob diese Beziehungen fortgeführt werden können.

Standardorganisationen

Die Steuerungskreisvertreterin der Akteursgruppe Standardorganisationen stellt klar, dass die Standardorganisationen keine generellen, z.B. auf Länder/Regionen bezogene Statements abgeben, da es sich bei Zertifizierungen, inklusive der Audits vor Ort, stets um Einzelfallbetrachtungen handelt.

Gewerkschaften und Nichtregierungsorganisationen

Die Steuerungskreisvertreter*innen aus Gewerkschaften und  Nichtregierungsorganisationen halten aufgrund der Risikosituation einen Rückzug aus Myanmar für die einzig verbleibende Maßnahme, um das Risiko weiterer  Menschenrechtsverletzungen in ihrer Lieferkette im Sinne der Sorgfaltspflichten wirksam zu minimieren. Sie fordern aufgrund der Risikosituation und daher im Einklang mit dem Aufruf der internationalen Gewerkschaften, dass sich alle Unternehmen aus Myanmar zurückziehen und diesen Rückzug unter Einhaltung ihrer Sorgfaltspflichten möglichst verantwortungsvoll gestalten.

Bundesregierung

Die Steuerungskreis-Vertreter*innen der Bundesregierung schließen sich der oben genannten Empfehlung der Akteursgruppe Wirtschaft an. Sie ergänzen um folgenden Zusatz: „Um nicht auf direkte oder indirekte Weise das Militärregime zu unterstützen, sollte soweit möglich ausgeschlossen werden, dass Geschäftspartner oder Zulieferer in Myanmar in Verbindung zum Militär stehen oder dass direkte Geschäftsbeziehungen zu Unternehmen bestehen, die sich im Eigentum des Militärs befinden.“