Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien
Know-how
You are here:
/
/
/
More Information on Child and Forced Labour

More Information on Child and Forced Labour

Child labour is prohibited by law in most countries of the world. Yet, according to the International Labour Organisation (ILO) still eleven percent of children worldwide are working. Child labour includes all work that is done by children and that is detrimental to their health and/or education. The ILO's fundamental Minimum Age convention (No.138) sets the general minimum age for admission to employment or work at 15 years and the minimum age for hazardous work at 18 years.

Since child labor is often concealed, measures such as audits on corporate social responsibility are generally not suitable for identifying and combating child labor.

In contrast to child labour, forced labour does not refer to specific age groups. According to the ILO, forced labour refers to any type of work or service that a person carries out under threat of punishment and for which he or she does not decide voluntarily.

In order to prevent child and forced labour, it is necessary for stakeholders such as governments, business and civil society to work together. The Partnership for Sustainable Textiles therefore demands that companies establish a process to deal with cases of child and/or forced labour. This includes access to a remedy mechanism.

terre des hommes has been a member of the Textile Alliance since December 2015. The international non-governmental organisation established a project in 2016 to counter child and forced labour in southern India. Here you get more information about the project.

Further information on child labour can be found here:

© Copyright - Partnership for Sustainable Textiles

Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien
Know-how
Sie sind hier:
/
/
/
Kinder- und Zwangsarbeit

Kinder- und Zwangsarbeit

Obwohl Kinderarbeit in den meisten Ländern unserer Welt gesetzlich verboten ist, arbeiten laut der Internationalen Arbeitsorganisation (ILO) elf Prozent der Kinder weltweit. Als Kinderarbeit gilt jede Art von Arbeit, die von Kindern verrichtet wird und die Gesundheit und/oder Bildung des Kindes beeinträchtigt. Das Kind darf auf keinen Fall jünger als 15 Jahre und schulpflichtig sein.  Für gefährlichen Arbeiten müssen die Personen mindestens 18 Jahre alt sein.

Da Kinderarbeit häufig verdeckt geschieht, sind Maßnahmen wie Auditierungen zu Corporate Social Responsibility in der Regel nicht geeignet, um Kinderarbeit festzustellen und dagegen vorzugehen.

Zwangsarbeit bezieht sich im Gegensatz zu Kinderarbeit nicht auf bestimmte Altersgruppen. Unter Zwangsarbeit wird laut ILO jede Art von Arbeit oder Dienstleistung verstanden, die eine Person unter Androhung einer Strafe ausübt und für die sie sich nicht freiwillig entscheidet.

Um Kinder- und Zwangsarbeit zu unterbinden, ist es notwendig, dass Stakeholder wie Regierungen, Wirtschaft und Zivilgesellschaft zusammenarbeiten. Das Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien fordert daher, dass Unternehmen einen Prozess etablieren, der den Umgang mit Fällen von Kinder- und/oder Zwangsarbeit regelt. Das umfasst auch den Zugang zu Abhilfemechanismen.

terre des hommes ist seit Dezember 2015 Mitglied des Textilbündnisses. Die internationale Nichtregierungsorganisation hat 2016 ein Projekt etabliert, um der Kinder- und Zwangsarbeit in Südindien entgegenzuwirken. Hier erfahren Sie mehr über das Projekt.

Weitere Informationen zum Thema Kinderarbeit finden Sie unter anderem hier:

© Copyright - Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien