,

Webinar series: Textile Industry and Climate Change

Menu
News
14.03.2022

Webinar series: Textile Industry and Climate Change

Four online events provide an overview of the importance of climate change for the textile industry, the balancing of greenhouse gas emissions and suitable reduction measures.

Only recently, the sixth IPCC report was published, which once again emphasizes the urgency of committing oneself to climate protection. The authors warn that the consequences of climate change will be much more seri-ous in the long term than they are already felt today.

In order to illustrate the connection between climate change and the textile industry, the Part-nership for Sustainable Textiles, together with the Business Scouts for Development on behalf of the BMZ and the Fashion Industry Charter for Climate Action, is inviting visitors to a four-part webinar series organised by the Oeko-Institut e.V.

29 March: Importance of climate change for companies

The first webinar will focus on the importance of climate change for the textile industry. The focus of this module is on legal requirements such as those of the Supply Chain Act. Partici-pants will also receive information on other existing and expected regulations, especially at EU level, which are also expected to affect the textile industry.

5 April: Climate risks for companies

At the second meeting, the organizers will focus on the risks of climate change that affect companies. They present guidelines, tools and examples that make it easier for companies to assess their climate risks. Based on this, they can initiate appropriate adaptation measures.

3 May: Recording of greenhouse gas emissions for companies

On 3 May, the focus will be on how GHG emissions can be recorded and accounted for. The Climate Action Playbook serves as a central handout. Participants will learn about different tools with their respective advantages and disadvantages that they can use to record their own GHG emissions.

12 May: Reduction of GHG emissions for companies

The fourth webinar is dedicated to the question of how companies can reduce their GHG emis-sions. The Oeko-Institut presents interfaces in the textile supply chain and measures for re-duction, such as renewable energies or an adapted product design.

The events are aimed both at companies in the textile sector that have already dealt with these questions and at those who want to get a first insight.

Further details on the individual webinars can be found in the program of the event series (in German).

21 June: Practical experiences: Recording GHG emissions
29 June: Practical experiences: Reducing GHG emissions

,

Webinarserie: Textilindustrie und Klimawandel

Menü
Aktuelles
14.03.2022

Webinarserie: Textilindustrie und Klimawandel

Vier Online-Veranstaltungen geben einen Überblick zur Bedeutung des Klimawandels für die Textilindustrie, zur Bilanzierung von Treibhausgas-Emissionen und geeigneten Reduktionsmaßnahmen.

Erst vor Kurzem ist der sechste IPCC-Bericht erschienen, der noch einmal die Dringlichkeit betont, sich engagiert für den Klimaschutz einzusetzen. Die Autoren warnen, dass die Folgen des Klimawandels langfristig viel gravierender sein werden, als sie heute schon zu spüren sind.

Um den Zusammenhang zwischen dem Klimawandel und der Textilindustrie zu verdeutlichen, lädt das Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien zusammen mit den Business Scouts for Development im Auftrag des BMZ und der Fashion Industry Charter for Climate Action zu einer vierteiligen Webinarserie ein, die vom Öko-Institut e.V. durchgeführt wird.

29. März: Bedeutung des Klimawandels für Unternehmen

Im ersten Webinar geht es um die Bedeutung des Klimawandels für die Textilindustrie. Den Schwerpunkt dieses Modul bilden gesetzliche Anforderungen wie beispielsweise die des Lieferkettengesetzes. Die Teilnehmenden erhalten zudem Informationen zu weiteren bestehenden und zu erwartenden Regulierungen insbesondere auf Ebene der EU, die voraussichtlich auch die Textilindustrie betreffen werden.

05. April: Klimarisiken für Unternehmen

Beim zweiten Termin richten die Organisatoren den Blick auf die Risiken des Klimawandels, die die Unternehmen beeinflussen. Sie stellen Leitfäden, Tools und Beispiele vor, die es Unternehmen erleichtern, ihre Klimarisiken zu erfassen. Darauf aufbauend können sie geeignete Anpassungsmaßnahmen einleiten.

03. Mai: Erfassung von Treibhausgas-Emissionen für Unternehmen

Am 3. Mai liegt der Fokus darauf, wie sich THG-Emissionen erfassen und bilanzieren lassen. Das Climate Action Playbook dient hierbei als zentrale Handreichung. Die Teilnehmenden lernen verschiedene Tools mit ihren jeweiligen Vor- und Nachteilen kennen, mit denen sie ihre eigenen THG-Emissionen erfassen können.

12. Mai: Reduktion von THG-Emissionen für Unternehmen

Das vierte Webinar widmet sich der Frage, wie Unternehmen ihre THG-Emissionen reduzieren können. Das Öko-Institut stellt Schnittstellen in der Textillieferkette und Maßnahmen zur Reduzierung vor, wie beispielsweise erneuerbare Energien oder ein angepasstes Produktdesign.

Die Veranstaltungen richten sich sowohl an Unternehmen des Textilsektors, die sich schon mit diesen Fragen auseinandergesetzt haben, als auch an solche, die einen ersten Einblick erhalten wollen.

Weitere Details zu den einzelnen Webinaren finden Sie in dem Programm der Veranstaltungsserie.