Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien
News
12.09.2019

Partnership members purchase more than half of the organic cotton available worldwide

The companies in the Textile Partnership alone purchase more than half of the organic cotton available worldwide. This is shown by the 86 recently published progress reports. According to their own statements, the members procured around 800,000 tonnes of cotton in 2018, of which 83,000 tonnes was organic cotton. In 2016/17 around 118,000 tonnes of organic cotton were grown worldwide. Since the areas under organic cotton were already in transition at that time, the total quantity of organic cotton was probably already higher in 2018.

Common target for cotton

Since 2018, each member of the Partnership that procures cotton has been obliged to set itself an individual annual target to increase its production of sustainable cotton. The achievement of the target must be set out in the progress report in the following year. The target relates to increasing the proportion of organic cotton and other sustainable cotton (see Standards Systems for Sustainable Cotton). The members thus contribute to achieving the overarching objective for cotton:

By 2020, the Partnership members want to increase the proportion of sustainable cotton to 35 percent, of which at least 10 percent should come from organic farming or conversion to organic farming. By 2025 this share is to be doubled, i.e. to 70 percent sustainable cotton, 20 percent of which is organic cotton or cotton under conversion.

The progress reports show: Of the almost 800,000 tonnes of cotton procured by the Partnership members in 2018, around 10.5 percent already came from organic cultivation and 21.7 percent from other sources recognised as sustainable.

How much organic cotton is there worldwide?

In his Market Report 2018 Textile Exchange states that in 2016/17 out of 22,000,000 tons of cotton grown worldwide, 118,000 tons of organic cotton were produced - just 0.5 percent.

Textile Exchange is a global not-for-profit association that is a leader in the sustainable fiber and materials industry. Through a strategic cooperation between Textile Exchange and the Textile Partnership, the international harmonization of fiber-related sustainability requirements and standards is to be promoted and the use of sustainable materials promoted.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
© Copyright - Partnership for Sustainable Textiles

Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien
Aktuelles
12.09.2019

Textilbündnis-Mitglieder beziehen über die Hälfte der weltweit verfügbaren Bio-Baumwolle

Die Unternehmen im Textilbündnis allein beziehen mehr als die Hälfte der weltweit verfügbaren Bio-Baumwolle. Das zeigen die 86 kürzlich veröffentlichten Fortschrittsberichte. Die Mitglieder beschafften 2018 laut eigener Aussage rund 800.000 Tonnen Baumwolle, wovon 83.000 Tonnen auf Bio-Baumwolle entfielen. 2016/17 wurden weltweit rund 118.000 Tonnen Bio-Baumwolle angebaut. Da zu dem Zeitpunkt bereits Anbauflächen im Übergang zum Bio-Anbau waren, dürfte die Gesamtmenge an Bio-Baumwolle 2018 bereits höher gewesen sein.

Bündnisübergreifendes Ziel für Baumwolle

Seit 2018 ist jedes baumwollbeschaffende Bündnismitglied dazu verpflichtet, sich jährlich ein individuelles Steigerungsziel zu nachhaltiger Baumwolle zu setzen. Die Erreichung des Ziels muss im darauffolgenden Jahr im Fort­schrittsbericht dargelegt werden. Das Ziel bezieht sich auf die Steigerung des Anteils von Bio-Baumwolle und anderweitig nachhaltiger Baumwolle (siehe Standardsysteme für nachhaltige Baumwolle). Damit tragen die Mitglieder zur Erreichung des übergeordneten Bündnisziels für Baumwolle bei:

Bis 2020 wollen die Bündnismitglieder den Anteil nachhaltiger Baumwolle auf 35 Prozent steigern, davon sollen mindestens 10 Prozent aus biologischem Anbau oder Umstellung auf biologischen Anbau stammen. Bis 2025 soll dieser Anteil verdoppelt werden, das heißt auf 70 Prozent nachhaltige Baumwolle, davon 20 Prozent Bio-Baumwolle oder Baumwolle in Umstellung.

Aus den Fortschrittsberichten geht hervor: Von den knapp 800.000 Tonnen Baumwolle, die die Bündnismitglieder 2018 beschafften, stammten bereits rund 10,5 Prozent aus Bio-Anbau und 21,7 Prozent aus anderen als nachhaltig anerkannten Quellen.

Wie viel Bio-Baumwolle gibt es weltweit?

In seinem Market Report 2018 gibt Textile Exchange an, dass 2016/17 von 22.000.000 Tonnen weltweit angebauter Baumwolle rund 118.000 Tonnen Bio-Baumwolle waren – also gerade einmal 0,5 Prozent.

Textile Exchange ist ein globaler gemeinnütziger Verein, der eine führende Position in der nachhaltigen Faser- und Materialindustrie einnimmt. Durch eine strategische Kooperation zwischen Textile Exchange und dem Textilbündnis sollen die internationale Harmonisierung faserbezogener Nachhaltigkeitsanforderungen und -standards vorangetrieben und der Einsatz nachhaltiger Materialen gefördert werden.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
© Copyright - Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien