„Kleider mit Haken“

Menu
News
01.12.2021

FEA study "CLOTHES with HOOKS"

Case study on the global environmental impact of the production of our clothing

In October 2021, the German Federal Environment Agency (FEA), a member of the Textiles Partnership, published the study "CLOTHES with HOOKS". In it, the UBA examines the global environmental impact of our consumption of clothing. On 42 pages, the study shows the emissions of greenhouse gases and air pollutants that result from the production of our clothing.

One focus is on water consumption in arid regions for raw materials and the production of textiles. In addition, the use of chemicals in processing is illustrated, as is the life cycle of textiles after use.

The analysis is based on statistical data on global trade flows, resource consumption and emissions. On this basis, the average risk of violations of social standards in the production of our clothing was also determined. The study presents correlations and shows possible courses of action for more sustainable clothing consumption.

The study determined, among other things, that the apparel sector:

 

  • causes more than 1% of global greenhouse gas emissions (excluding footwear and home textiles)
  • 5% of chemicals produced worldwide consumed
  • represents 4 % of the total amount of fertilizer applied annually
  • is responsible for 1.1% of global water withdrawals from water bodies and groundwater (dyeing and cotton cultivation)

Opportunities to improve the environmental performance of textile products, according to the study, include fiber selection, sustainable cultivation practices for natural fibers, deeper tracking in the supply chain to control chemical and water use, and more sustainable consumer behavior.

The study can be found on the homepage of the Federal Environment Agency: Clothes with Hooks

„Kleider mit Haken“

Menü
Aktuelles
01.12.2021

UBA-Studie "KLEIDER mit HAKEN"

Fallstudie zur globalen Umwelt-Inanspruchnahme durch die Herstellung unserer Kleidung

Das Textilbündnismitglied Umweltbundesamt (UBA) veröffentlichte im Oktober 2021 die Studie “KLEIDER mit HAKEN”. Darin untersucht das UBA die globale Umwelt-Inanspruchnahme unseres Konsums an Bekleidung. Auf 42 Seiten zeigt die Studie die Emissionen von Treibhausgasgasen und Luftschadstoffen auf, die bei der Herstellung unserer Kleidung entstehen.

Ein Schwerpunkt ist der Wasserverbrauch in trockenen Regionen für die Rohstoffe und die Produktion von Textilien. Darüber hinaus wird der Einsatz von Chemikalien in der Verarbeitung veranschaulicht, ebenso der Lebensweg von Textilien nach deren Gebrauch.

Grundlage der Analyse sind statistische Daten zu globalen Handelsströmen, Ressourcenverbräuchen und Emissionen. Auf dieser Basis wurde auch das durchschnittliche Risiko von Verstößen gegen Sozialstandards in der Herstellung unserer Kleidung ermittelt. Die Studie stellt Zusammenhänge dar und zeigt Handlungsmöglichkeiten für einen nachhaltigeren Kleidungskonsum auf.

Die Studie ermittelte unter anderem, dass der Bekleidungssektor:

 

  • mehr als 1% der globalen Treibhausgas-Emissionen verursacht (ohne Schuhe und Heimtextilien)
  • 5 % der weltweit produzierten Chemikalien verbraucht
  • 4 % der gesamten jährlich ausgebrachten Düngermenge ausmacht
  • für 1,1 % der weltweiten Wasserentnahme aus Gewässern und dem Grundwasser verantwortlich ist (Färben und Baumwollanbau)

Möglichkeiten die Umweltbilanz von Textilprodukten zu verbessern, sieht die Studie unter anderem in der Faserauswahl, in nachhaltigen Anbaupraktiken für Naturfasern, einer tieferen Rückverfolgung in der Lieferkette zur Kontrolle der Chemikalien- und Wassernutzung sowie durch ein nachhaltigeres Verbraucherverhalten.

Die Studie finden Sie auf der Homepage des Umweltbundesamtes: Kleider mit Haken