Steering Committee – greater commitment to Partnership Initiatives & international issues

The 21st Steering Committee meeting and this year’s Steering Committee strategy meeting took place in Siegburg, Germany on 5 and 6 September.

The Committee passed a schedule for the further development of the Partnership Initiatives with the objective of kicking off additional initiatives and increasing the commitment of the stakeholders. Specific measures here were, for instance, a needs analysis, an optimisation of the processes for developing Partnership Initiatives, the promotion of cooperation and self-motivation, and also the introduction of preliminary modules that act as a low-threshold way into the preparation of Partnership Initiatives. One initiative to benefit from these resolutions, for instance, will be the new Partnership Initiative on living wages, which is currently in the planning phase.

Another new development for members is the additional advice provided by the auditors in the review process. Members can now seek advice directly by telephone if they have any specific queries about understanding or need help with revising reports.

Moreover, the new strategic cooperation with the international network Textile Exchange represents another important step on the path towards the internationalisation of the Textile Partnership. This charitable organisation was founded in 2002 and has 210 members in 25 countries. It aims to reduce the negative impacts of the textile industry while boosting its positive effects. The work of the Textile Exchange focuses particularly on sustainable fibres (‘preferred fibres’), ecological natural fibres, the promotion of sustainable supply chains and also the development and dissemination of corresponding standards.

Finally, the Steering Committee also appointed the members of the new Natural Fibres expert group, which can be viewed here.

 

Work plan 2019

The work plan for 2019 was drawn up in the strategy meeting following the meeting of the Steering Committee. The central components of the plan are the efforts to improve and simplify the review process and to increase the commitment to Partnership Initiatives. Partnership member Enrico Rima (Lebenskleidung – organic fabrics) also reported to the Steering Committee on the outlook for small and sustainable companies in the Textile Partnership. We are currently examining how the requirements of small, sustainable companies can be integrated into the enhancement of the Partnership processes.

 

Newsletter – September 2018

Steuerungskreis – mehr Engagement für Bündnisinitiativen & Internationales

Am 5. und 6. September fand die 21. Steuerungskreissitzung sowie die diesjährige Steuerungskreis-Klausur in Siegburg statt.

Hier wurde ein Fahrplan zur weiteren Entwicklung der Bündnisinitiativen mit dem Ziel beschlossen, zusätzliche Initiativen anzustoßen und das Engagement der Mitglieder zu erhöhen. Konkrete Maßnahmen sind hier beispielsweise die Abfrage von Bedarfen, eine Optimierung der Prozesse zur Entwicklung von Bündnisinitiativen, die Förderung von Kooperation und Eigenmotivation sowie die Einführung von Vormodulen, die als niedrigschwelliges Angebot zur Vorbereitung von Bündnisinitiativen dienen. Profitieren wird von diesen Beschlüssen z.B. die neue Bündnisinitiative zu existenzsichernden Löhnen, die sich zurzeit in Planung befindet.

Eine weitere Neuigkeit für Mitglieder ist die zusätzliche Beratung im Review-Prozess durch die Prüfer*innen. Für konkrete Verständnisfragen und Hilfe zur Überarbeitung der Berichte können Mitglieder nun eine direkte telefonische Beratung in Anspruch nehmen.

 

Darüber hinaus wurde durch die neue strategische Kooperation mit dem internationalen Netzwerk Textile Exchange ein weiterer wichtiger Schritt in Richtung Internationalisierung des Textilbündnisses unternommen. Die 2002 gegründete gemeinnützige Organisation mit 210 Mitgliedern in 25 Ländern zielt darauf ab, negativen Wirkungen der Textilwirtschaft zu reduzieren und deren positiven Effekte zu stärken. Wichtige Schwerpunkte der Arbeit von Textile Exchange liegen auf nachhaltigen Fasern („preferred fibers“), ökologischen Naturfasern, der Förderung von nachhaltigen Lieferketten und der Entwicklung und Verbreitung entsprechender Standards.

Schließlich entschied der Steuerungskreis auch über die Besetzung der neuen Expertengruppe Naturfasern, die hier eingesehen werden kann.

 

Arbeitsplanung 2019

In der an die Steuerungskreissitzung anschließenden Strategieklausur wurde der Arbeitsplan für 2019 aufgestellt. Zentrale Bestandteile des Plans sind die Verbesserungen und Vereinfachungen des Review-Prozesses sowie die Erhöhung des Engagements in Bündnisinitiativen. Daneben ließ sich der Steuerungskreis von Bündnismitglied Enrico Rima (Lebenskleidung) die Perspektive von kleinen und nachhaltigen Unternehmen im Textilbündnis erläutern. Es wird nun geprüft, wie die Anforderungen kleiner, nachhaltiger Unternehmen in die Weiterentwicklung der Bündnisprozesse einfließen können.

 

Lesen Sie auch unsere weiteren Artikel: