SDG 10 – Unser Beitrag

Menu
SDG 10

SDG 10: Reduced Inequalities

Global wealth is being unequally distributed: the top per cent of the world's population own 45 per cent of the global wealth. In 2018, 26 individuals owned as much as the 3.8 billion people constituting the poorest half of humanity. This growing financial inequality often leads to social discrimination and jeopardises the stability of society.

Inequality is also to be found in the textile industry: while companies make profits, workers are often forced to work for wages that are barely sufficient to feed themselves and their families. Since its foundation, living wages have been a central concern of the Partnership for Sustainable Textiles and since 2019 it has also been anchored in the review process as an obligatory goal: All members must cooperate in a measure that aims to pay living wages to workers in production countries.

Furthermore, the Partnership Initiative on Living Wages supports, among others, approaches to wage increases in producing countries. With living wages, workers in the textile industry can not only secure the livelihood for themselves and their families, but also send their children to school and set aside a little money for emergencies. In this way, social and economic inequalities can be sustainably reduced.

Projects Worldwide

Under "Projects worldwide" you find numerous projects of our members, which contribute in different ways to the achievement of the SDGs. If you are interested in a particular SDG, it is best to filter by sector risk.

SDG 10 – Unser Beitrag

Menü
SDG 10

SDG 10 - Weniger Ungleichheiten

Reichtum ist auf der Welt ungleich verteilt: Dem reichsten Prozent der Weltbevölkerung gehört 45 Prozent des globalen Reichtums. 2018 besaßen 26 Menschen genauso viel wie die 3,8 Milliarden Menschen, die die ärmste Hälfte der Menschheit ausmachen. Diese wachsende finanzielle Ungleichheit führt häufig zu sozialer Diskriminierung und gefährdet die gesellschaftliche Stabilität.

Ungleichheit findet sich auch in der Textilindustrie wieder: Während Unternehmen Profite machen, sind die Arbeiter*innen oft gezwungen für Löhne zu arbeiten, die kaum ausreichen, um sich und ihre Familien zu ernähren. Existenzsichernde Löhne sind seit der Gründung ein zentrales Anliegen des Textilbündnisses und seit 2019 auch als verpflichtendes Ziel im Review-Prozess verankert: Alle Mitglieder müssen an einer Maßnahme mitarbeiten, die darauf abzielt, Beschäftigten in Produktionsländern existenzsichernde Löhne zu zahlen.

Darüber hinaus soll die Bündnisinitiative Existenzsichernde Löhne unter anderem Ansätze zur Lohnsteigerung in Produktionsländern unterstützen. Durch existenzsichernde Löhne können die Arbeiter*innen in der Textilindustrie nicht nur die Lebensgrundlage für sich und ihre Familien sichern, sondern ihre Kinder auch zur Schule schicken und ein wenig Geld für Notfälle beiseitelegen. So können soziale und wirtschaftliche Ungleichheiten nachhaltig abgebaut werden.

Projekte weltweit

Unter „Projekte weltweit“ finden Sie zahlreiche Projekte unserer Mitglieder, die auf verschiedene Art und Weise zur Erreichung der SDGs beitragen. Wenn Sie sich für ein bestimmtes SDG interessieren, filtern Sie am besten anhand des Sektorrisikos.