Common Framework for Responsible Purchasing Practices

Menu
News
10.01.2022

Common Framework for Responsible Purchasing Practices

To achieve better purchasing practices, a group of different multi-stakeholder initiatives are developing a Common Framework for Responsible Purchasing Practices. In addition to the Partnership for Sustainable Textiles, Ethical Trading Initiative, Ethical Trade Norway and Fair Wear Foundation are also involved. The framework is intended to address brands and retailers as well as multi-stakeholder initiatives and serve as a guide to improving purchasing practices.

At its core, it is about defining responsible purchasing practices and enabling effective and cooperative partnership between purchasing companies and suppliers. Further objectives are:

  • improve working conditions in supply chains
  • pay living wages
  • strengthen resilience in the supply chain.

The document is structured based on five principles, which are backed up with concrete recommendations for action:

The framework draws on the recommendations of the most recent Whitepaper of the Sustainable Terms of Trade Initiative (STTI), which in turn is led by the STAR Network (Sustainable Textile of the Asian Region) and the International Apparel Federation (IAF) with the support of GIZ FABRIC. Additionally, ACT (Action Collaboration Transformation), Better Work, Better Buying Institute and amfori have been consulted.

Get involved!

All relevant stakeholders are invited to comment on the current version of the framework and provide feedback. Under this link you can submit your feedback until Friday 14 January.

In the first quarter of 2022, a "Learning and Implementation Community" will also pilot the framework. Experts, companies and producers accompany the implementation and exchange information on the five principles of the framework. Are you interested? Feel free to contact Topsy Rödler.

A session at the virtual OECD Forum on Due Diligence in the Garment and Footwear Sector on 24 and 25 February will discuss the framework and its contribution to more balanced relationships between purchasing companies and suppliers, its practical applicability and the next steps towards implementation. Registration here.

Common Framework for Responsible Purchasing Practices

Menü
Aktuelles
10.01.2022

Common Framework for Responsible Purchasing Practices

Um bessere Einkaufspraktiken zu erreichen, erarbeitet eine Gruppe verschiedener Multi-Stakeholder-Initiativen an einem Common Framework for Responsible Purchasing Practices. Neben dem Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien wirken unter anderem Ethical Trading Initiative, Ethical Trade Norway und Fair Wear Foundation daran mit. Das Framework soll sich an Unternehmen und Multi-Stakeholder-Initiativen gleichermaßen richten und als Anleitung zur Verbesserung von Einkaufspraktiken dienen.

Im Kern geht es darum, verantwortungsvolle Einkaufspraktiken zu definieren und eine effektive und partnerschaftliche Zusammenarbeit zwischen einkaufenden Unternehmen und Lieferanten zu ermöglichen. Weitere Ziele sind:

  • die Arbeitsbedingungen in den Lieferketten zu verbessen
  • Arbeitnehmer*innen fair zu bezahlen
  • Resilienz in der Lieferkette zu stärken.

Aufgebaut ist das Dokument anhand von fünf Prinzipien, die mit konkreten Handlungsempfehlungen hinterlegt sind:

Das Framework greift zum Teil zurück auf Empfehlungen und Leitfäden der Initiativen ACT (Action Collaboration Transformation), Better Work, Better Buying Institute und amfori. Wichtig sind zudem die Empfehlungen der „Sustainable Terms of Trade Initiative“ (STTI), die wiederum vom STAR Network (Sustainable Textile of the Asian Region), der International Apparel Federation (IAF) und dem Better Buying Institute mit Unterstützung von GIZ FABRIC geleitet wird.

Weitere Informationen

Im ersten Quartal 2022 sollte außerdem eine „Learning und Implementation Community“ den Framework pilotieren. Expert*innen, Unternehmen und Produzenten haben die Implementierung begleitet und sich zu den 5 Prinzipien des Frameworks ausgetauscht.

In einer Session beim virtuellen OECD Forum on Due Diligence in the Garment and Footwear Sector am 24. und 25. Februar wurde der Framework und sein Beitrag zu ausgewogeneren Beziehungen zwischen einkaufenden Unternehmen und Lieferanten, seine praktische Anwendbarkeit und die nächsten Schritte zur Umsetzung erörtert.