,

Welcome to the Partnership: International Justice Mission Deutschland e.V.

News
08.02.2021

Welcome to the Partnership: International Justice Mission Deutschland e.V.

We are pleased to welcome International Justice Mission Deutschland e.V. to the Textiles Partnership.

IJM Deutschland e.V. is the German branch of the globally active human rights organisation International Justice Mission (IJM). More than 1,000 employees are active at 26 locations in 19 countries, including the Indian state of Tamil Nadu. Around 20 employees work for IJM Deutschland in Berlin.

Together with governments and local authorities, IJM works to protect people living in poverty from violence and to free them from critical situations. At the same time, the association is committed to strengthening local legal and social systems in order to protect those affected in the long term. Another concern of IJM is to sensitise and mobilise civil society, business and politics for the issue of modern slavery.

Through its involvement in the Textiles Partnership, IJM wants to contribute to stopping the exploitation of workers in production countries. IJM sees an important lever in the establishment and expansion of effective complaints mechanisms in production facilities. Greater transparency in supply chains could also help to reduce the spread of human trafficking. The organisation can draw on many years of experience in international cooperation with various stakeholders. IJM is also a member of the German Global Compact Network and the Association for Development Policy and Humanitarian Aid (Verband Entwicklungspolitik und Humanitäre Hilfe deutscher Nichtregierungsorganisationen, VENRO).

Managing Director Dietmar Roller attaches great relevance to the joint work in the Textiles Partnership: "Our vision is to free millions of people from poverty, violence and slavery, protect half a billion people and strengthen justice systems. We believe that only through strong partnerships can we achieve this vision. Since IJM is active in Tamil Nadu, among other places, we would like to support the Partnership Initiative with expertise on exploitation in the textile industry."

More information can be found on the website of the International Justice Mission Germany e.V.: https://ijm-deutschland.de/

Share this article

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest

,

Willkommen im Bündnis: International Justice Mission Deutschland e.V.

Aktuelles
08.02.2021

Willkommen im Bündnis: International Justice Mission Deutschland e.V.

Wir freuen uns, International Justice Mission Deutschland e.V. im Textilbündnis begrüßen zu können.

IJM Deutschland ist der deutsche Zweig der weltweit agierenden Menschenrechtsorganisation International Justice Mission (IJM). Über 1000 Mitarbeitende sind an 26 Standorten in 19 Ländern aktiv, unter anderem im indischen Bundesstaat Tamil Nadu. Am deutschen Standort in Berlin arbeiten rund 20 Beschäftigte.

Gemeinsam mit Regierungen und lokalen Behörden arbeitet IJM daran, Menschen in Armut vor Gewalt zu schützen und aus kritischen Situationen zu befreien. Zugleich engagiert sich der Verein für eine Stärkung von lokalen Rechts- und Sozialsystemen, um Betroffene langfristig zu schützen. Ein weiteres Anliegen von IJM ist es, Zivilgesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Politik für das Thema moderne Sklaverei zu sensibilisieren und zu mobilisieren.

IJM möchte durch das Engagement im Textilbündnis daran mitwirken, die Ausbeutung von Arbeiter*innen in Produktionsländern zu stoppen. Einen wichtigen Hebel sieht IJM im Auf- und Ausbau von effektiven Beschwerdemechanismen in Produktionsstätten. Auch mehr Transparenz in Lieferketten könne dazu beitragen, die Verbreitung von Menschenhandel zu verringern. Dabei kann die Organisation auf langjährige Erfahrung in internationaler Zusammenarbeit mit diversen Stakeholdern zurückgreifen. Darüber hinaus ist IJM Mitglied im Deutschen Global Compact Netzwerk und dem Verband Entwicklungspolitik und humanitäre Hilfe (VENRO).

Geschäftsführer Dietmar Roller misst der gemeinsamen Arbeit im Textilbündnis große Relevanz zu: „Unsere Vision ist es, Millionen Menschen von Armut, Gewalt und Sklaverei zu befreien, eine halbe Milliarde Menschen zu schützen und Rechtssysteme zu stärken. Wir sind der Ansicht, dass wir nur durch starke Partnerschaften diese Vision erreichen können. Da IJM unter anderem in Tamil Nadu aktiv ist, möchten wir die Bündnisinitiative mit Fachwissen zur Ausbeutung in der Textilbranche unterstützten.“

Mehr Informationen finden Sie auf der Website der International Justice Mission Deutschland e.V.: https://ijm-deutschland.de/

Diesen Beitrag teilen

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest