Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien
News
07.01.2021

New guideline for sustainable textile procurement

At the beginning of January, the German Federal Government published the "Guideline for sustainable textile procurement“. The guideline is aimed at federal authorities, federal states and municipalities and is one of the measures of the step-by-step plan for sustainable textile procurement of the federal administration.

Public procurement agencies have a high demand for textile products of all kinds. Their procurement volume and buying power are correspondingly high, especially in the three product categories of apparel textiles and linen, bedding and mattresses. The new guideline focuses on these categories and provides support for sustainable procurement.

The guideline defines sustainable textile procurement as the procurement of textiles "that deliver long-term social, economic and environmental benefits along their entire value chain and life cycle compared to an alternative product." To this end, the guideline draws on clear social and environmental sustainability criteria that are also recognised and recommended by the Partnership for Sustainable Textiles. Partnership members already had the opportunity to comment on the draft guideline in 2016.

In a press release, German Development Minister Dr. Gerd Müller said the German government was sending a clear signal:

"From now on, clear sustainability criteria will apply to public textile procurement - whether it's police uniforms or doctors' gowns. The new guideline also sends a signal to companies: Sustainability is a competitive advantage! The procurement volume of the federal, state and local governments in Germany amounts to 500 billion euros per year. That's a huge lever that we need to use of in order to make supply chains sustainable."

Share this article

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
© Copyright - Partnership for Sustainable Textiles

Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien
Aktuelles
07.01.2021

Bundesregierung veröffentlicht Leitfaden für nachhaltige Textilbeschaffung

Anfang Januar veröffentlichte die Bundesregierung den „Leitfaden für eine nachhaltige Textilbeschaffung der Bundesverwaltung“. Der Leitfaden richtet sich an Bundesbehörden, Bundesländer und Kommunen und ist eine der Maßnahmen des Stufenplans zur nachhaltigen Textilbeschaffung der Bundesverwaltung.

Die öffentlichen Beschaffungsstellen haben einen hohen Bedarf an textilen Produkten aller Art. Entsprechend hoch sind ihr Beschaffungsvolumen und ihre Nachfragemacht, insbesondere in den drei Produktkategorien Bekleidungstextilien und Wäsche, Bettwaren & Bettwäsche und Matratzen. Auf diese Kategorien konzentriert sich der neue Leitfaden und unterstützt beim nachhaltigen Einkauf.

Als nachhaltige Tex­tilbeschaffung fasst der Leitfaden die Be­schaffung von Textilien auf, „die entlang ihrer gesamten Wertschöpfungskette und dem gesamten Lebenszyklus langfristige gesellschaftliche, ökono­mische und ökologische Vorteile liefern im Vergleich zu einem Alternativprodukt.“ Dazu greift der Leitfaden auf klare soziale und ökologische Nachhaltigkeitskriterien zurück, die auch im Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien anerkannt und empfohlen werden. Schon 2016 hatten Bündnismitglieder die Gelegenheit, den Leitfaden-Entwurf zu kommentieren.

In einer Pressemitteilung erklärt Bundesentwicklungsminister Dr. Gerd Müller , sende die Bundesregierung ein klares Signal:

„Bei der öffentlichen Textilbeschaffung gelten ab jetzt klare Nachhaltigkeitskriterien – ob es um Polizeiuniformen oder Arztkittel geht. Der neue Leitfaden ist auch ein Signal an Unternehmen: Nachhaltigkeit ist ein Wettbewerbsvorteil! Das Beschaffungsvolumen von Bund, Ländern und Kommunen in Deutschland beträgt 500 Milliarden Euro pro Jahr. Das ist ein gewaltiger Hebel, den wir nutzen müssen, um Lieferketten nachhaltig zu gestalten.“

Diesen Beitrag teilen

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
© Copyright - Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien