Competitive African Cotton Initiative (COMPACI)

Objective

The aim of the project is to bring about sustainable financial and ecological improvement in living conditions and ensure food security for 680,000 COMPACI farmers through their cotton-based farming systems.

Short description

The Competitive African Cotton Initiative (COMPACI) was launched in 2009 in order to tap the cotton sector’s insufficiently used potential to promote economic development and tackle poverty in sub-Saharan Africa (SSA).

The programme supports small-scale cotton farmers in SSA and promotes the implementation of sustainable production methods. COMPACI helped creating the conditions that have enabled the Cotton made in Africa standard to be successfully implemented in 12 countries of SSA.

The programme expires in 2017. Local implementation partners are private cotton companies operating in Africa; they make a significant contribution of more than 50% to the funding of the programme. These ginning companies work with the farmers in contract growing schemes. This means that the companies provide the farmers with production inputs, including trainings, on credit; the loans are then offset against the profit that the farmers receive for the harvested cotton, which is supplied to the companies. DEG and GIZ have entered into financing agreements with these companies that specify activities to help the farmers boost their productivity. These activities, which include training farmers in the use of integrated crop protection, conform to the criteria of the Cotton made in Africa standard for sustainable cotton growing.

Achievements

The household incomes of the 779,900 participating cotton growers increased by 30 – 60% by comparison with non-participating farmers. COMPACI helped creating the conditions that have enabled the Cotton made in Africa standard to be successfully implemented in 12 countries of SSA. Project implementation commenced in 2009 with six partners (cotton companies); during the second phase, the number of partners has increased to more than 20. In addition, GIZ has helped AbTF to set up a verification system and develop the standard in the past.

Title:
Competitive African Cotton Initiative (COMPACI)

Country / Region:
Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Côte d‘Ivoire, Ethiopia, Ghana, Malawi, Mozambique, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Project running time:
2009 – 2017

Project partners:
Aid by Trade Foundation (AbTF), Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ), the German Investment Corporation (DEG) and local cotton companies

Contact:
Tobias Bidlingmaier:
tobias.bidlingmaier@deginvest.de
Wolfgang Bertenbreiter:
wolfgang.bertenbreiter@giz.de

Website

© GIZ / Wolfgang Bertenbreiter

© GIZ / Wolfgang Bertenbreiter

As of: March 2018

Competitive African Cotton Initiative (COMPACI)

Zielsetzung

Ziel des Vorhabens ist eine nachhaltige, finanzielle und ökologische Verbesserung der Lebensverhältnisse sowie die Sicherung der Nahrungsmittelversorgung von 680.000 COMPACI-Bauern und -Bäuerinnen durch ihre baumwollbasierten Farmingsysteme.

Kurzbeschreibung

Die Initiative wurde 2009 ins Leben gerufen und ist ein Programm zur Förderung von Bauwollkleinbauern/-bäuerinnen in SSA und zur Implementierung nachhaltiger Produktionsmethoden im Anbau.

Lokale Implementierungspartner sind in Afrika tätige private Baumwollunternehmen, die mit mehr als 50% wesentlich zur Finanzierung des Programms beitragen. Diese sogenannten Entkörnungsunternehmen arbeiten mit den Bauern und Bäuerinnen im Vertragsanbau zusammen. Das heißt, die Unternehmen liefern den Bauern/Bäuerinnen die Produktionsinputs inklusive Schulungsmaßnahmen auf Kredit und verrechnen diesen mit dem Erlös, den die Bauern und Bäuerinnen für die geerntete Baumwolle erhalten. Letztere wird wiederum an die betreffenden Unternehmen geliefert. Mit diesen Unternehmen haben DEG und GIZ Finanzierungsverträge abgeschlossen, in denen Aktivitäten vereinbart sind, um die Bauern dabei zu unterstützen, ihre Produktivität zu erhöhen. Diese Aktivitäten, wie zum Beispiel Schulungen der Bauern/Bäuerinnen in der Anwendung von integriertem Pflanzenschutz, sind konform mit den Kriterien des Cotton-made-in-Africa-Standards für nachhaltigen Baumwollanbau.

Bisherige Ergebnisse

Das Haushalteinkommen der 779.900 teilnehmenden Baumwollanbauenden konnte im Vergleich zu nicht teilnehmenden Bauern und Bäuerinnen um 30 – 60 % erhöht werden. COMPACI hat dazu beigetragen, die Voraussetzungen dafür zu schaffen, dass der Cotton-made-in-Afrika-Standard in 12 Ländern von SSA erfolgreich implementiert werden konnte. Die Projektimplementierung hat 2009 mit 6 Partnern (Baumwollunternehmen) begonnen und ist im Rahmen der 2. Phase auf über 20 angestiegen. Des Weiteren hat die GIZ die AbTF in der Vergangenheit beim Aufbau eines Verifizierungssystems und der Standardentwicklung unterstützt.

Name:
Competitive African Cotton Initiative (COMPACI)

Land:
Äthiopien, Benin, Burkina Faso, Elfenbeinküste, Ghana, Kamerun, Malawi, Mosambik, Sambia, Simbabwe, Tansania, Uganda

Projektlaufzeit:
2009 – 2017

Projektpartner:
Bill-und-Melinda-Gates-Stiftung, Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) im Auftrag des Bundesministeriums für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ), Aid by Trade Foundation (AbTF), Gatsby Foundation, Walmart Foundation, DEG – Deutsche Investitions- und Entwicklungsgesellschaft mbH und lokale Baumwollunternehmen, verschiedene lokale Baumwollunternehmen

Kontakt:
Tobias Bidlingmaier:
tobias.bidlingmaier@deginvest.de
Wolfgang Bertenbreiter:
wolfgang.bertenbreiter@giz.de

Website

© GIZ / Wolfgang Bertenbreiter

© GIZ / Wolfgang Bertenbreiter

Stand: Februar 2018