Geschlechtsspezifische Gewalt und Belästigung in Bangladesch

Menu
Joint projects
Pilot project on gender-based violence and harassment in Bangladesh
Making social audits more gender-sensitive

Gender-based violence and harassment (GBVH) is a significant human rights risk in the textile supply chain due to the high proportion of female employees. Therefore, purchasing and manufacturing companies need to address it accordingly in risk analyses and prevention measures.  

In practice, it is difficult to detect cases of discrimination or gender-based violence in production facilities. Those affected are sometimes not even aware of the misconduct by colleagues and superiors. Some do not report incidents because they are afraid of negative consequences or because they feel ashamed.  

Common monitoring methods such as social audits usually take place in the production facilities. However, those affected by GBHV need a safe space with privacy and security in which they can speak openly about their experiences. It is therefore important to take GBVH specific considerations into account when designing social audits. 

The pilot project

Based on the guideline „Due Diligence, Social Audits and Gender-Based Violence and Harassmentby the Partnership for Sustainable Textiles, the pilot project brings together several organizations to support companies in implementing gender-sensitive audits in production facilities in Bangladesh. The aim is to identify, address and reduce GBVH in textile supply chains. 

Training courses for auditors will be conducted to raise awareness and to qualify auditors to conduct gender-sensitive audits. Moreover, the management and the employees of factories will be sensitised to the issue of GBVH. 

In a second step, gender-sensitive audits for production companies will be developed and implemented as a pilot project. 

Other possible project activities include the support of women's organisations and trade unions as well as the development of gender-sensitive management systems in factories. After the pilot phase in Bangladesh, the participants want to expand the project to other manufacturing countries. 

Details
Cooperation Partners

The pilot project is planned by the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH in collaboration with a consulting team from Avigato Consulting GmbH. The Global Organic Textile Standard (GOTS) is involved as implementation partner. Further cooperation partners, both within and outside the Partnership, are highly welcome. 

Phase

February 2022 - April 2023 

Links and further information

Sector risk discrimination, sexual harassment and gender-based violence

Annual Topic 2020: Gender-based violence

Sustainable Development Goals: SDG 5 – Gender Equality

Contact

mail@textilbuendnis.com (Dr. Carla Dohmwirth / Christina Krause)

The project on gender-sensitive social audits is still in the planning stages. Do not hesitate to contact us in case

  • you want to participate in the project (regardless of whether you are a PST member or not).
  • you have ideas, needs or recommendations.
  • you wish further information.

Geschlechtsspezifische Gewalt und Belästigung in Bangladesch

Menü
Gemeinsame Projekte
Pilotprojekt zu geschlechtsspezifischer Gewalt und Belästigung in Bangladesch
Sozialaudits gender-sensibel gestalten

Geschlechtsspezifische Gewalt und Belästigung (gender-based violence and harassment, GBVH) ist in der Textil-Lieferkette aufgrund des hohen Anteils von weiblichen Beschäftigten ein signifikantes Menschenrechtsrisiko. Daher müssen es einkaufende und produzierende Unternehmen in Risikoanalysen und bei Präventionsmaßnahmen entsprechend berücksichtigen.  

In der Praxis ist es schwer, Fälle von Diskriminierung oder geschlechtsspezifischer Gewalt in Fabriken und Zulieferbetrieben zu erfassen. Betroffene sind sich des Fehlverhaltens durch Kolleg*innen und Vorgesetze teilweise gar nicht bewusst oder melden Vorfälle nicht, weil sie Angst vor negativen Konsequenzen haben oder weil sie sich schämen.  

Gängige Monitoring-Maßnahmen wie Sozialaudits finden in der Regel direkt in den Produktionsbetrieben statt. Betroffene bräuchten jedoch einen geschützten Raum mit Privatsphäre und Sicherheit, in dem sie offen über ihre Erlebnisse sprechen können. Darum ist es wichtig, GBVH in der Gestaltung von Audits zu berücksichtigen und stärker in den Fokus zu rücken. 

Das Pilotprojekt

Basierend auf der Handreichung „Due Diligence, Social Audits and Gender-Based Violence and Harassment“ des Bündnisses für nachhaltige Textilien arbeiten beim Pilotprojekt mehrere Organisationen zusammen, um Unternehmen bei der Implementierung gender-sensibler Audits in Produktionsbetrieben in Bangladesch zu unterstützen. Ziel ist es, GBVH in Textil-Lieferketten effektiver zu erkennen, zu adressieren und zu reduzieren. 

Hierzu sollen Schulungen für Auditor*innen durchgeführt werden, die für die Thematik sensibilisieren und die Auditor*innen für die Durchführung gender-sensibler Audits qualifizieren. Auch die Management-Ebene sowie Mitarbeiter*innen von Fabriken sollen zu geschlechtsspezifischer Gewalt sensibilisiert werden. 

In einem zweiten Schritt sollen gender-sensible Audits für Produktionsbetriebe entwickelt und pilothaft umgesetzt werden. 

Weitere mögliche Projektaktivitäten sind die Unterstützung von Frauenorganisationen und Gewerkschaften oder die Entwicklung gender-sensibler Managementsysteme in Fabriken. Nach der Pilotphase in Bangladesch möchten die Beteiligten das Projekt – mit landesspezifischer Anpassung – auf weitere Beschaffungsländer ausweiten. 

Steckbrief
Kooperationspartner

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH, Avigato Consulting GmbH, Global Organic Textile Standard (GOTS) – weitere Umsetzungspartner gesucht 

Laufzeit

Februar 2022 bis April 2023 

Links und weiterführende Informationen

Sektorrisiko Diskriminierung, sexuelle Belästigung und geschlechtsspezifische Gewalt

Jahresthema 2020: Geschlechtsspezifische Gewalt

Sustainable Development Goals: SDG 5 – Geschlechtergerechtigkeit

Kontakt

mail@textilbuendnis.com (Dr. Carla Dohmwirth / Christina Krause)

Das Pilotprojekt befindet sich noch in der Planung. Melden Sie sich gerne, wenn Sie

  • sich am Projekt beteiligen möchten (offen für Bündnismitglieder und Externe).
  • Ideen und Bedarfe einbringen möchten.
  • weitere Informationen wünschen.