Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien
News
28.07.2017

For fairness and environmental protection in textile production - The members of the Partnership for Sustainable Textiles will implement concrete social and ecological improvements as of 2017

On the way to better working conditions, more environmental protection and fair wages, the members of the Textiles Partnership have taken a decisive step forward: 129 members have submitted concrete action plans for 2017, including 87 members from the German textile industry. This means that 50 percent of German textile retailers are demonstrably committed to better working conditions and environmental protection. External experts review the progress annually.

For 2017, Alliance members have undertaken more than 1,500 measures that will lead to concrete improvements within the framework of the Partnership's objectives. They relate to issues such as living wages, combating child labour, avoiding harmful chemicals and sustainable water use in cotton farming.

"129 binding action plans for more environmental protection and social justice - the Alliance for Sustainable Textiles is taking a completely new path," said the Partnership's Steering Committee yesterday.

"All members who have participated in this success know how challenging the past weeks and months of intensive work have been. This result shows that the Textiles Partnership is bringing about very concrete improvements in the textile supply chain," emphasises the moderator of the steering committee, Dr. Bernhard Felmberg from the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development.

The Partnership follows the principle of procedural commitment: Accession to the Partnership is voluntary - the submission of action plans is binding. Some 40 members have left the Partnership since the end of 2016 or have been excluded because they have not submitted an action plan.

The Partnership currently has 148 members, including advisory members who do not need to draw up action plans and new members who will not be subject to implementation until next year. The individual measures are based on key issues in the areas of "chemical and environmental management", "social standards and living wages" and "sustainable natural fibres", which were jointly developed by the various stakeholder groups last year. The formulation and implementation of measures in all three areas is binding on the members.

More than 80 percent of the members met these requirements immediately. Around 20 percent of the action plans submitted do not fully meet these requirements - for example, because special business models cannot yet be fully mapped within the existing system. However, these are also action plans of those members who are already very progressive in some areas of sustainability, so that the requirement to formulate ambitious goals could not be met. For the head of the Partnership Secretariat, Dr. Jürgen Janssen, this shows the need for revision in line with expectations: "The requirements jointly developed by the various stakeholder groups were tested for their practicability for the first time in 2017. The Textile Alliance is therefore a learning system. On behalf of the steering committee, the technical working groups in the alliance have therefore already begun the further development of the requirements."

Progress in implementing the objectives is reviewed annually by external experts. "Each year the targets become more ambitious and each year the members implement a multitude of improvements across the entire supply chain," Jürgen Janssen explains the process.

As of 2018, publication of the action plans is mandatory. This year, more than 30 members have already agreed to a voluntary publication. The publications will be available next week on the Partnership's website: www.textilbuendnis.com

Contact:

Partnership for Sustainable Textiles
Press contact
T +49 228 4460-3484
E presse@textilbuendnis.com

The Partnership for Sustainable Textiles

The Partnership for Sustainable Textiles is a multi-stakeholder initiative of companies, associations, non-governmental organisations, trade unions and standard organisations as well as the Federal Government. The actors joined forces in 2014 to jointly implement improvements along the entire textile supply chain. To this end, they have agreed ambitious social and ecological targets. With the help of individual measures by the members and joint alliance initiatives in the producing countries, the actors are pursuing these goals in practice.

Share this article

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
© Copyright - Partnership for Sustainable Textiles

Für Fairness und Umweltschutz in der Textilproduktion – Die Mitglieder des Bündnisses für nachhaltige Textilien setzen ab 2017 konkrete soziale und ökologische Verbesserungen um

For Fairness and Environmental Protection – commencing in 2017, the Members of the Partnership for Sustainable Textiles are Implementing Concrete Social and Ecological Improvements | © GIZ

(28.07.2017, Berlin) Auf dem Weg zu besseren Arbeitsbedingungen, mehr Umweltschutz und fairen Löhnen sind die Mitglieder des Textilbündnisses einen entscheidenden Schritt vorangekommen: 129 Mitglieder haben konkrete Maßnahmenpläne für 2017 eingereicht, darunter 87 Mitglieder aus der deutschen Textilwirtschaft. Damit bekennen sich 50 Prozent des deutschen Textileinzelhandels nachweisbar zu besseren Arbeitsbedingungen und Umweltschutz. Externe Experten überprüfen die Fortschritte jährlich.

Für das Jahr 2017 haben sich Bündnismitglieder mehr als 1.500 Maßnahmen vorgenommen, die im Rahmen der vom Bündnis vorgegebenen Ziele zu konkreten Verbesserungen führen werden. Sie beziehen sich auf Themen wie existenzsichernde Löhne, die Bekämpfung von Kinderarbeit, die Vermeidung gesundheitsschädlicher Chemikalien oder auch die nachhaltige Wassernutzung im Baumwollanbau.

„129 verbindliche Maßnahmenpläne für mehr Umweltschutz und soziale Gerechtigkeit – damit geht das Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien einen ganz neuen Weg,“ hieß es gestern aus dem Steuerungskreis des Bündnisses.

„Alle Mitglieder, die sich an diesem Erfolg beteiligt haben, wissen wie herausfordernd die vergangenen Wochen und Monate intensiver Arbeit waren. Das vorliegende Ergebnis zeigt: das Textilbündnis bewirkt ganz konkrete Verbesserungen in der Textil-Lieferkette,“ hebt der Moderator des Steuerungskreises, Dr. Bernhard Felmberg vom Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung, hervor.

Das Bündnis folgt dem Prinzip der prozesshaften Verbindlichkeit: Der Beitritt zum Textilbündnis ist freiwillig – die Einreichung von Maßnahmenplänen verbindlich. Gut 40 Mitglieder haben das Bündnis deshalb seit Ende 2016 verlassen oder wurden ausgeschlossen, weil sie keinen Maßnahmenplan eingereicht haben.

Aktuell hat das Bündnis 148 Mitglieder: hierzu zählen auch beratende Mitglieder, die als solche keine Maßnahmenpläne erstellen müssen sowie Neumitglieder, die der Umsetzungspflicht erst im kommenden Jahr unterliegen. Die individuellen Maßnahmen orientieren sich an Schlüsselfragen in den Bereichen „Chemikalien- und Umweltmanagement“, „Sozialstandards und existenzsichernde Löhne“ sowie „Nachhaltige Naturfasern“, die im vergangenen Jahr von den verschiedenen Akteursgruppen gemeinsam erarbeitet wurden. Die Formulierung und Umsetzung von Maßnahmen in allen drei Bereichen ist für die Mitglieder verbindlich.

Über 80 Prozent der Mitglieder haben diese Anforderungen auf Anhieb erfüllt. Rund 20 Prozent der abgegebenen Maßnahmenpläne erfüllen dies nicht vollumfänglich – zum Beispiel, weil spezielle Geschäftsmodelle innerhalb der bestehenden Systematik noch nicht vollständig abgebildet werden können. Es handelt sich aber auch um Maßnahmenpläne solcher Mitglieder, die in einigen Bereichen der Nachhaltigkeit bereits sehr fortschrittlich sind, sodass die Anforderung, ambitionierte Ziele zu formulieren, nicht erfüllt werden konnte. Für den Leiter des Bündnissekretariates, Dr. Jürgen Janssen, zeigt dies erwartungsgemäße Überarbeitungsbedarfe: „Die von den unterschiedlichen Akteursgruppen gemeinsam erarbeiteten Anforderungen wurden 2017 zum ersten Mal auf ihre Praxistauglichkeit getestet. Das Textilbündnis ist daher ein lernendes System. Im Auftrag des Steuerungskreises haben die Facharbeitsgruppen im Bündnis daher bereits mit der Weiterentwicklung der Anforderungen begonnen.“

Der Fortschritt bei der Umsetzung der Ziele wird jährlich von externen Experten überprüft. „Damit erzeugen die Mitglieder des Textilbündnisses einen Schneeballeffekt: Jedes Jahr werden die Ziele ambitionierter und jedes Jahr setzen die Mitglieder über die gesamte Breite der Lieferkette eine Vielzahl von Verbesserungen um“, erläutert Jürgen Janssen den Prozess.

Ab 2018 ist die Veröffentlichung der Maßnahmenpläne Pflicht. In diesem Jahr haben sich bereits über 30 Mitglieder einer freiwilligen Veröffentlichung zugestimmt. Die Veröffentlichungen stehen ab der kommenden Woche auf der neu gestalteten Webseite des Bündnisses unter: www.textilbuendnis.com zur Verfügung.

Kontakt:

Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien
Pressekontakt
T +49 228 4460-3484
E presse@textilbuendnis.com

Das Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien:

Das Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien ist eine Multi-Akteurs Partnerschaft aus Unternehmen, Verbänden, Nichtregierungsorganisationen, Gewerkschaften und Standardorganisationen sowie der Bundesregierung. Die Akteure haben sich 2014 zusammengeschlossen, um gemeinsam Verbesserungen entlang der gesamten Textil- Lieferkette durchzusetzen. Hierzu haben sie ambitionierte soziale und ökologische Ziele vereinbart. Mit Hilfe von individuellen Maßnahmen der Mitglieder und gemeinsamen Bündnisinitiativen in den Produktionsländern verfolgen die Akteure diese Ziele in der Praxis