Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien
Best Practices - Our members' projects

Focus on living wages

Overview

Field of action

Project partner

 

 


Region

Project duration

Social standards & living wages

Brands Fashion
Melawear
3Freunde
Fairtrade
Six textile factories

India (Northern India & Tamil Nadu)

Autumn 2016 to February 2020

Background

The new Fairtrade Textile Standard aims to improve working conditions and wages throughout the entire textile processing chain. The aim is to guarantee living wages throughout the supply chain and to impose the same environmental, occupational safety and social requirements on all suppliers. As part of the "Piloting the Fairtrade Textile Standard" programme, the companies Brands Fashion, Melawear and 3Freunde have been working in India since August 2017 to achieve this goal: they want not only their manufacturing companies, but also their suppliers (such as ginning, spinning, weaving and dyeing mills) certified according to the Fairtrade Textile Standard. The particular challenge: As the first standard ever, the textile standard defines a fixed time frame of six years within which a living wage must be achieved. The project is financially supported by GIZ as part of the develoPPP.de programme. 

From Knowing to Acting - how the Fairtrade Textile Standard Supports Workers

Interview with Rabea Schafrick and Henning Siedentopp

What was the experience of the participating companies in the first year? What challenges do they face? We asked two project partners:

Rabea Schafrick is sustainability manager at Brands Fashion. The company develops and produces high-quality and fashionable workwear as well as fashion collections. The aim is to produce as many collections as possible from sustainable materials such as organic cotton.

Henning Siedentopp is Managing Director of Melawear. Melawear stands for fair and ecological shirts, hoodies, backpacks and sneakers produced in India.

What is the aim of the pilot programme?

Henning Siedentopp (Melawear): "Existing certifications such as Fairtrade Cotton and GOTS do not sufficiently cover the issue of 'living wages'. With the Fairtrade Textile Standard we want to close this gap - and work together with our suppliers and their subcontractors in India to find viable solutions for structural change".

Rabea Schafrick (Brands Fashion):"In doing so, we place a central focus on strengthening the rights of employees. We want to support the establishment of democratically elected working committees in the factories. This is because they can lobby for wage increases. Both issues are closely interlinked."

Living wages are much debated. What does your approach look like?

Henning Siedentopp: "Basically, we are in an ongoing discussion between politics and civil society about what actually constitutes a living wage - this discussion is also taking place in India. This is where we come in: Fairtrade calculates a sectoral living wage on the basis of existing tariffs negotiated with local trade unions. Where no collective bargaining targets exist, regional benchmarks are determined. We have the right to raise wages to a considerable extent - voluntarily, without statutory requirements."

How do you proceed concretely?

Rabea Schafrick:"Fairtrade and its local partners first determine the status quo in so-called 'pre-assessments'. In workshops and training sessions, concrete questions are then addressed together with workers and management. For example: What are the employees' wishes for the management? What makes a good work environment? The aim is to create an awareness of fair wages and to sensitise and educate the workers."

Henning Siedentopp: "We don't predefine the wage levels for our Indian partners. We point out the difference between the minimum wage and the living wage to them - this difference, by the way, varies according to the individual stages of the value chain. Fairtrade and its partners train the workers' committees and explain to them how to calculate their monthly fixed costs, for example for rent, food, and social security contributions, and how to accumulate savings for emergency situations. However, Fairtrade is not involved in wage negotiations with the management, since the aim is to promote the independence and autonomy of the working committees."

Workers during a training in a ready-made clothing factory (May 2018)
Workers during an introductory training of the Faitrade Textile Programme

How do suppliers react?

Rabea Schafrick:"Many suppliers are initially sceptical. One of the first factories in the project was a dyeing plant, the customers of which usually had only few requirements for compliance with social standards. As a result, they had little experience with the subject there. At the beginning of the project, they did not take this demand from Germany very seriously. We had to do a lot of convincing work, which makes the project a real pioneer task for us.

In general, we can say that in the final stages of the value chain, garment assembly, cooperation with suppliers is still relatively easy, as we maintain close and long-term cooperations here. But the deeper you go into the supply chain, the smaller our share of the production volume. This makes it all the more difficult for us to convince our suppliers. If, for example, a dyeing plant only receives ten percent of its orders from us, the scepticism is naturally higher than in a garment assembly plant that works much more closely with us.

These suppliers in particular are often afraid of alienating other customers - i.e. of losing customers who do not value living wages at their suppliers. Therefore, we hope that other textile companies will join us, because: The more participate, the faster we will get fair wages."

This sounds like a challenging task. What is your success to date?

Rabea Schafrick:"In 2018, a total of two garment assembly companies will be certified. This means that we have achieved one subgoal. By the end of the project period, four more factories in the supply chains of the three project partners should have been added. And we are already receiving feedback today that the desired change in awareness is actually taking place step by step in the factories. A more intensive dialogue is taking place between employees and management, workers know more about their own rights - and last but not least, this often has a positive effect on the economic success of the company. In the training sessions we attended, we were able to observe how the participants became increasingly self-confident and came up with their own suggestions and ideas. Admittedly, these are soft factors so far, but certification will ultimately measure progress.

It is also clear that this task we have taken on is a huge one and ties up many personnel resources. Without the financial support from the GIZ, it would have been difficult for a medium-sized company like us to realize this."

What added value do you as a company get from this commitment?

Henning Siedentopp: "On the one hand, we strengthen the relationship with our producers, as we actively participate in improving the quality of life of employees in India. On the other hand, we are also raising awareness here in Europe that clothing has a price that goes beyond the current market prices - and thus also promote acceptance among customers."

Rabea Schafrick:"We now understand better what it takes to implement social standards across the entire value chain. Suppliers give us insight into their purchase prices, their internal payroll systems and local social security policies, which requires a high level of trust and accessibility. We have also received a lot of positive feedback: Our customers are clearly aware of our commitment."

What are your recommendations to the members of the Partnership for Sustainable Textiles?

Rabea Schafrick:"To enter into active dialogue with your suppliers. Create transparency about supply chains and prices. Calculate together how living wages can be achieved and what price difference it really makes in the end."

Finally, please complete these sentences:

In 2030, living wages in the textile value chain...

Rabea Schafrick: "are reality in not all, but a lot of countries around the world."

In 2030, customers say about conventional textiles...

Henning Siedentopp: "...that they are intolerable."

In 2030, you will tell your children...

Henning Siedentopp: "...that we were the first to act and to actively pay their producers more money for the textiles."

Rabea Schafrick: "... that the beginning was difficult, but that it was worth pushing the issue of living wages."

"The Fairtrade Textile Standard provides a good basis for workers in textile companies to be able to negotiate their own wages and to know what their work is worth. Achieving this requires joint effort."

Rapha Breyer, Business Development Textiles,
Fairtrade Germany

Share this article

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest

Partnership for Sustainable Textiles

c/o Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale
Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH
Friedrich-Ebert-Allee 36
53113 Bonn

mail@textilbuendnis.com
Phone: +49 228 4460-3560

@2019 Partnership for Sustainable Textiles

© Copyright - Partnership for Sustainable Textiles

Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien
Praxis - Projekte unserer Mitglieder

Existenzsichernde Löhne im Fokus

Überblick

Handlungsfeld

Projektpartner

 

 


Region

Projektlaufzeit

Sozialstandards & existenzsichernde Löhne

Brands Fashion
Melawear
3Freunde
Fairtrade
Sechs Textilfabriken

Indien (Nordindien & Tamil Nadu)

Herbst 2016 bis Februar 2020

Hintergrund

Mit dem neuen Fairtrade Textilstandard sollen die Arbeitsbedingungen und Löhne in der gesamten Verarbeitungskette der Textilbranche verbessert werden. Ziel ist es, lieferkettenweit existenzsichernde Löhne zu gewährleisten und an alle Zulieferer dieselben Umwelt-, Arbeitssicherheits- und Sozialanforderungen zu stellen. Im Rahmen des Programms „Piloting the Fairtrade Textile Standard“ arbeiten die Unternehmen Brands Fashion, Melawear und 3Freunde seit August 2017 in Indien daran, dieses Ziel zu erreichen: Sie wollen nicht nur ihre Konfektionierungsbetriebe, sondern auch deren Vorlieferanten (wie Entkörnungsbetriebe, Spinnereien, Webereien und Färbereien) nach dem Fairtrade-Textilstandard zertifizieren lassen. Die besondere Herausforderung: Als erster Standard überhaupt definiert der Textilstandard einen festen Zeitrahmen von sechs Jahren, innerhalb dessen ein existenzsichernder Lohn erreicht werden muss. Finanziell gefördert wird das Projekt im Rahmen des develoPPP.de-Programms durch die GIZ. 

Vom Wissen zum Handeln - wie der Fairtrade-Textilstandard Arbeiter*innen unterstützt

Interview mit Rabea Schafrick und Henning Siedentopp

Welche Erfahrungen haben die beteiligten Unternehmen im ersten Jahr gemacht? Vor welchen Herausforderungen stehen sie? Diese Fragen haben wir zwei Projektpartnern gestellt:

Rabea Schafrick ist Nachhaltigkeitsmanagerin bei Brands Fashion. Das Unternehmen entwickelt und produziert qualitativ hochwertige und modische Arbeitskleidung sowie Fashion Kollektionen. Ziel ist es, möglichst alle Kollektionen aus nachhaltigen Materialien, wie biologischer Baumwolle herzustellen.

Henning Siedentopp ist Geschäftsführer von Melawear. Melawear steht für fair und ökologisch in Indien produzierte Shirts, Hoodies, Rucksäcke und Sneakers.

Was ist das Ziel des Pilotprogramms?

Henning Siedentopp (Melawear): „Bestehende Zertifizierungen wie Fairtrade Cotton und GOTS decken das Thema ‚existenzsichernde Löhne‘ nicht ausreichend ab. Mit dem Fairtrade Textilstandard wollen wir diese Lücke schließen – und gemeinsam mit unseren Lieferanten und ihren Subunternehmen in Indien tragfähige Lösungsansätze für einen strukturellen Wandel erarbeiten.“

Rabea Schafrick (Brands Fashion): „Dabei legen wir einen zentralen Fokus auf die Stärkung der Arbeitnehmer*innenrechte. Wir wollen dabei unterstützen, in den Fabriken demokratisch gewählte Arbeitskomitees zu etablieren. Denn diese können sich für Lohnerhöhungen einsetzen. Beide Themen sind eng miteinander verzahnt.“

Existenzsichernde Löhne werden viel diskutiert. Wie sieht Ihr Ansatz aus?

Henning Siedentopp: „Grundsätzlich befinden wir uns in einer laufenden Diskussion zwischen Politik und Zivilgesellschaft, was eigentlich einen existenzsichernden Lohn ausmacht – auch in Indien wird diese Diskussion geführt. Hier docken wir an: Fairtrade ermittelt anhand vorliegender, mit den lokalen Gewerkschaften verhandelter Tarife einen sektoralen existenzsichernden Lohn. Bei nicht vorhandenen Tarifvorgaben werden regionale Benchmarks ermittelt. Wir haben den Anspruch, die Löhne in einem nicht unerheblichen Maß zu erhöhen – und zwar freiwillig, ohne gesetzliche Vorgaben.“

Wie gehen Sie dabei konkret vor?

Rabea Schafrick: „In sogenannten ‚Pre-Assessments‘ ermitteln Fairtrade und deren lokale Partner zunächst den Status quo. In Workshops und Trainings werden dann gemeinsam mit Arbeiter*innen und Management konkrete Fragen bearbeitet. Etwa: Welche Wünsche haben die Beschäftigten an das Management? Was macht eine gute Arbeitssituation aus? Es geht darum, ein Bewusstsein für gerechte Löhne zu schaffen und die Arbeiter*innen zu sensibilisieren und aufzuklären.“

Henning Siedentopp: „Dabei geben wir unseren indischen Partnern die Höhe der Löhne nicht vor. Wir zeigen ihnen die Differenz zwischen Mindestlohn und existenzsicherndem Gehalt auf – diese Differenz ist übrigens auf den einzelnen Wertschöpfungsstufen unterschiedlich groß. Fairtrade und seine Partner schulen die Arbeiterkomitees und geben ihnen Hilfestellung, wie sie ihre monatlichen Fixkosten, zum Beispiel für Miete, Nahrung, Sozialabgaben, berechnen und Ersparnisse für Ausnahmesituationen anlegen können. Bei den Lohnverhandlungen mit dem Management ist Fairtrade aber nicht dabei, denn es geht darum, die Selbstständigkeit und Eigenständigkeit der Arbeitskomitees zu fördern.“

Arbeiter*innen bei einem Training in einem Konfektionsbetrieb (Mai 2018)
Arbeiter*innen bei einem Einführungstraining des Faitrade-Textilprogramms

Wie reagieren die Zulieferer?

Rabea Schafrick: „Viele Lieferanten sind zunächst skeptisch. Eine der ersten Fabriken im Projekt war eine Färberei, deren Kunden bis dato meist nur wenig Anforderungen an die Einhaltung von Sozialstandards stellte. Dementsprechend hatten sie dort wenig Erfahrung mit dem Thema. Zu Beginn des Projektes haben sie die Forderung aus Deutschland gar nicht richtig ernst genommen. Da mussten wir ganz schön viel Überzeugungsarbeit leisten, was das Projekt zu einer echten Pionieraufgabe für uns macht.

Generell stellen wir fest: In der Konfektionierung, der letzten Wertschöpfungsstufe, gestaltet sich die Zusammenarbeit mit den Lieferanten noch relativ einfach, da wir hier eine enge und langfristige Kooperation pflegen. Je tiefer man aber in die Lieferkette geht, desto kleiner ist unser Anteil am Produktionsvolumen. Umso schwieriger ist es für uns folglich, die Lieferanten zu überzeugen. Wenn eine Färberei beispielsweise nur zehn Prozent ihrer Aufträge von uns bekommt, ist die Skepsis natürlich höher als in einer Konfektionierung, die viel enger mit uns zusammenarbeitet.

Gerade diese Lieferanten befürchten häufig auch, andere Kunden zu verschrecken – also die Auftraggeber zu verlieren, die keinen Wert auf existenzsichernde Löhne bei ihren Zulieferern legen. Daher hoffen wir darauf, dass sich weitere Textilunternehmen unserem Weg anschließen, denn: Je mehr mitmachen, desto schneller werden wir zu fairen Löhnen kommen.“

Das klingt nach einer anspruchsvollen Aufgabe. Welche Erfolge können Sie bisher verzeichnen?

Rabea Schafrick: „2018 werden sich insgesamt zwei Konfektionierer zertifizieren lassen. Damit haben wir ein Teilziel erreicht. Bis zum Ende der Projektlaufzeit sollen vier weitere Fabriken in Lieferketten der drei Projektpartner dazu kommen. Und wir bekommen heute schon die Rückmeldung, dass der gewünschte Bewusstseinswandel tatsächlich nach und nach in den Fabriken passiert. Es findet ein intensiverer Dialog zwischen Beschäftigten und Management statt, die Arbeiter*innen wissen mehr über die eigenen Rechte – und nicht zuletzt hat dies oft auch positive Auswirkungen auf den wirtschaftlichen Erfolg des Unternehmens. In den Trainings, bei denen wir anwesend waren, konnten wir beobachten, wie die Teilnehmer zunehmend selbstbewusster wurden und eigene Anregungen und Ideen anbrachten. Zugegeben, das sind bisher weiche Faktoren, aber die Zertifizierung wird letztlich den Fortschritt messen.

Klar ist auch: Das ist eine große Aufgabe, der wir uns gestellt haben und die viele personelle Ressourcen bindet. Ohne die finanzielle Förderung durch die GIZ wäre es für einen Mittelständler wie uns schwer geworden, das zu realisieren.“

Welchen Mehrwert haben Sie als Unternehmen von diesem Engagement?

Henning Siedentopp: „Zum einen stärken wir die Beziehung zu unseren Produzenten, da wir aktiv an der Verbesserung der Lebensqualität der Angestellten in Indien mitwirken. Zum anderen schärfen wir auch hier in Europa das Bewusstsein, dass Kleidung einen Preis hat, der über die aktuellen Produktpreise am Markt hinausgeht – und fördern damit auch die Akzeptanz beim Kunden.“

Rabea Schafrick: „Wir verstehen nun besser was es braucht, um Sozialstandards in der kompletten Wertschöpfungskette umzusetzen. Die Lieferanten geben uns Einblicke in ihre Einkaufspreise, ihr internes Lohnabrechnungssystem und die lokale Sozialversicherungspolitik, was ein großes Maß an Vertrauen und Zugänglichkeit verlangt. Außerdem erhalten wir viel positive Resonanz: Unsere Kunden nehmen unser Engagement ganz klar wahr.“

Was sind Ihre Empfehlungen an die Mitglieder des Textilbündnisses?

Rabea Schafrick: „In den aktiven Dialog mit seinen Lieferanten zu treten. Transparenz schaffen über Lieferketten und Preise. Gemeinsam konkret kalkulieren, wie existenzsichernde Löhne erreicht werden können und welchen preislichen Unterschied es am Ende wirklich macht.“

Bitte vervollständigen Sie zum Schluss einen dieser Sätze:

2030 sind existenzsichernde Löhne in der textilen Wertkette …

Rabea Schafrick: nicht weltweit, aber in vielen Ländern Realität.“

2030 sagen Kunden über konventionelle Textilien …

Henning Siedentopp: „…dass diese eine Zumutung sind.“

2030 erzählen Sie Ihren Kindern …

Henning Siedentopp: „…dass wir die ersten waren, die gehandelt haben und aktiv ihren Produzenten mehr Geld für die Textilien gezahlt haben.“

Rabea Schafrick: „…dass der Anfang schwer war, es sich aber gelohnt hat, das Thema existenzsichernde Löhne voranzutreiben.“

Der Fairtrade Textilstandard bietet eine gute Grundlage dafür, dass Arbeiter*innen in den Textilbetrieben befähigt werden, selbst ihre Löhne verhandeln zu können und zu wissen, was ihre Arbeit wert ist. Dies zu erreichen bedarf gemeinsamer Anstrengung.

Rapha Breyer, Business Development Textilien,
Fairtrade Deutschland

Diesen Beitrag teilen

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest

Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien

c/o Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale
Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH
Friedrich-Ebert-Allee 36
53113 Bonn

mail@textilbuendnis.com
Telefon: +49 228 4460-3560

@2019 Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien

© Copyright - Bündnis für nachhaltige Textilien