Primark Sustainable Cotton Programme

Objective

The aim of the project is the implementation and execution of the 2016 launched Fairtrade textile standards in textile supply chains of the three business project partners. Participating textile companies in India go through trainings and instructions of the Fairtrade textile program, which accompanies factories on their way to certification. The Fairtrade textile team in Germany as well as the international team and employees of the Fairtrade producer network monitor the process, carry out assessments and trainings and provide assistance both in Germany and India.

Short description
Indicators:

  • At least 6 out of 10 involved plants will be certified after Fairtrade textile standards at the end of the project
  • 3 of the certified plants act as multiplier at two meetings organized by trade unions or associations in India
  • Outcomes of the project will be published on the website of the Textiles Partnership
  • Who is the target group of the initiative?: Target group is primarily the collaborating textile factories in India; all workers in the factories of those supply chains should benefit. The successful application of the Fairtrade textile standard, meaning the revelation and certification of complex supply chains, should serve as an example for all textile producers and should encourage them to promote transparency along their production chains.
  • Which sustainable changes does the initiative bring with regard to the partnership goals?: The initiative contributes to improvements of the workers’ labor and wage conditions along exemplary textile supply chains in India. Key issue is the payment of living wages. The implementation of the standard is only possible through the use of responsibly produced fibers such as Fairtrade, organic cotton or Lenzing fibers. All partners of the DeveloPPP project and the involved factories assume not only collective but also individual responsibility for their actions and the creation of sustainable processes.

Achievements

  • Status assessments/ trainings 05/2018
  • Brands Fashion supply chain: 6 assessments, 3 trainings
  • Mela wear supply chain: 5 assessments, 4 trainings
  • 3Freunde supply chain: 5 assessments, 3 trainings
  • Audits:  07/2018 audits in two packaging companies are being planned

Title:
DeveloPPP-Project: Piloting the Fairtrade Textile Standard in three supply chains in the textile industry in India

Country / Region:
India

Project running time:
August 2013 – February 2020

Project partners:
Initiator: TransFair e.V. with Fairtrade International e.V.

Contact:
Juliane Roux
j.roux@fairtrade-deutschland.de
0221 / 94 20 40 78

Website & additional information

Workers Orientation Training at SAGS Apparels in
Tirupur, India. © TransFair/Juliane Roux

Workers Orientation Training at SAGS Apparels in
Tirupur, India. © TransFair/Juliane Roux

Stand: March 2018

DeveloPPP-Projekt: Piloting the Fairtrade Textile Standard in three supply chains in the textile industry in India

Zielsetzung

Zielsetzung des Projekts ist die Einführung und Umsetzung des 2016 eingeführten Fairtrade-Textilstandards in den textilen Lieferketten der drei Unternehmens-Projektpartner. Teilnehmende Textilbetriebe in Indien durchlaufen Trainings und Schulungen des Fairtrade-Textilprogramms, das die Fabriken auf dem Weg zur Zertifizierung begleitet. Das Fairtrade-Textilteam aus Deutschland, auf internationaler Ebene sowie die Mitarbeiter des Fairtrade Produzentennetzwerks begleiten den Prozess, führen Assessments und Trainings durch und geben Hilfestellung auf deutscher und indischer Seite.

Kurzbeschreibung

Indikatoren:

  • Mind. 6 der 10 involvierten Fabriken werden am Projektende nach dem Fairtrade-Textilstandard zertifiziert sein
  • 3 der zertifizierten Fabriken dienen als Multiplikator bei zwei Meetings organisiert durch Gewerkschaften oder Verbände in Indien
  • Ergebnisse aus dem Projekt werden auf der Textilbündnis-Seite veröffentlicht
  • Zielgruppe sind primär die mitwirkenden Textilbetriebe in Indien; profitieren sollen alle Arbeiter*innen in den Fabriken dieser Lieferketten. Die erfolgreiche Anwendung des Fairtrade Textilstandards, d. h. die Aufdeckung und die Zertifizierung kompletter textiler Lieferketten, soll Vorbild für alle Textilhersteller sein, sie ermutigen Transparenz in ihren Produktionsketten voranzutreiben.
  • Welche nachhaltige Veränderung bewirkt die Initiative mit Blick auf die Bündnisziele?: Die Initiative trägt zur Verbesserung der Arbeits- und Lohnbedingungen der Arbeiter*innen entlang exemplarischer textilen Lieferketten in Indien. Kern ist die Zahlung von existenzsichernden Löhnen. Einstieg in den Standard ist nur möglich durch Einsatz von verantwortlich produzierten Fasern wie Fairtrade-, Bio-Baumwolle oder Lenzing-Fasern. Alle Partner des DeveloPPP-Projekts und die beteiligten Fabriken übernehmen gemeinsame, aber auch individuelle Verantwortung für ihr Handeln und die Gestaltung nachhaltiger Prozesse.

Bisherige Ergebnisse

  • Status Assessments/ Trainings 05/2018
  • Brands Fashion-Lieferkette: 6 Assessments, 3 Trainings
  • Melawear-Lieferkette: 5 Assessments, 4 Trainings
  • 3Freunde-Lieferkette: 5 Assessments, 3 Trainings
  • Audits:  07/2018 Audits in zwei Konfektionierungsbetrieben in konkreter Planung

Name:

DeveloPPP-Projekt: Piloting the Fairtrade Textile Standard in three supply chains in the textile industry in India

Land/Region/Stadt:
Indien

Projektbeginn und Laufzeit:
15.08.2017- 15.02.2020

Projektpartner:

TransFair und Fairtrade International führen gemeinsam mit dem Produzentennetzwerk NAPP (Network of Asia Pacific Producers) das Projekt in den Ketten der Markenhersteller durch

Kontakt:
Juliane Roux
j.roux@fairtrade-deutschland.de
0221 / 94 20 40 78

Website & Weiterführende Informationen

Workers Orientation Training bei SAGS Apparels
in Tirupur, Indien. © TransFair/Juliane Roux

Workers Orientation Training bei SAGS Apparels
in Tirupur, Indien. © TransFair/Juliane Roux