In the "Bauwerk", a converted industrial building in Cologne Kalk, around 160 members of the Textiles Partnership met on 11 and 12 July to work together. The participants focused their thoughts and discussions in eight workshops, setting the course for the further development of the Textiles Partnership in terms of content and structure.

In the "Supply Chain Transparency" group of around 50 members, participants presented their own case studies. Reports of blockchain solutions for passing on information in the supply chain or barcodes that provide information on the origin of a product directly to the smartphone showed the possibilities of digital innovations.

As an annual theme for 2018, "Living wages" were also taken up in a workshop. In a specialist lecture, it was presented how the challenge of achieving higher wages across the board can be tackled in the first steps. The participants also discussed how the Partnership can work more closely with other initiatives to create synergies.

More than 40 Partnership members worked on regenerated fibres, synthetic fibres and biobased plastics under the title "Man-Made Fibres". Challenges for the use of socially and ecologically more compatible man-made fibres were identified. Meanwhile, the workshop "Chemical and Environmental Management" focused on relevant instruments and practicable objectives, especially for the lower supply chain.

In order to take even greater account of the issue of corruption prevention in the future, the responsible expert group drew up a proposal for integrating the issue into the Partnership's questionnaire. The workshop on "Impact assessment" also dealt with indicators. Here, the members exchanged views on how the impact of our activities can be measured on the ground. A concrete proposal for the topics "living wages" and "chemicals and environmental management" is to be drawn up before the end of this year.

The participants in the workshops on "Internationalisation" and "Communication" were more concerned with structural issues: How can the Partnership become more international in the future and which arguments are the most convincing to win new members for the Textiles Partnership?

Arbeitstreffen der Bündnismitglieder in Köln

Im „Bauwerk“, einem umfunktionierten Industriebau in Köln Kalk, trafen sich am 11. und 12. Juli rund 160 Mitglieder des Textilbündnisses, um miteinander zu arbeiten. Konzentriert überlegten und diskutierten die Teilnehmenden in acht Workshops und stellten damit Weichen für die inhaltliche und strukturelle Weiterentwicklung des Textilbündnisses.

 

In der rund 50-köpfigen Gruppe „Lieferkettentransparenz“ präsentierten Mitglieder eigene Fallbeispiele. Berichte von Blockchain-Lösungen zur Weitergabe von Informationen in der Lieferkette oder von Barcodes, die Informationen zur Herkunft eines Produktes direkt auf das Smartphone liefern, zeigten die Möglichkeiten digitaler Innovationen.

Als Jahresthema 2018 wurden auch „Existenzsichernde Löhne“ in einem Workshop aufgegriffen. In einem Fachvortrag wurde dargestellt, wie die Herausforderung, flächendeckend höhere Löhne zu erreichen, in ersten Schritten angegangen werden kann. Die Teilnehmenden diskutierten außerdem, wie das Bündnis verstärkt mit anderen Initiativen zusammenarbeiten kann, um Synergien zu nutzen.

Mehr als 40 Bündnismitglieder beschäftigten sich unter dem Titel „Chemiefasern“ mit Regeneratfasern, synthetischen Chemiefasern und biobasierten Kunststoffe. Dabei wurden Herausforderungen für den Einsatz von sozial und ökologisch verträglicheren Chemiefasern identifiziert. Währenddessen standen im Mittelpunkt des Workshops „Chemikalien- und Umweltmanagement“ relevante Instrumente und praktikable Zielsetzungen, besonders für die tiefere Lieferkette.

Um das Thema „Korruptionsprävention“ zukünftig noch stärker zu berücksichtigen, erarbeitete die zuständige Expertengruppe einen Vorschlag zur Integration des Themas in das Frageraster des Bündnisses. Auch im Workshop zu „Wirkungsmessung“ ging es um Indikatoren. Hier tauschten sich die Mitglieder darüber aus, wie die Wirkungen unserer Aktivitäten vor Ort gemessen werden können. Ein konkreter Vorschlag für die Themen „existenzsichernde Löhne“ und „Chemikalien- und Umweltmanagement“ soll noch in diesem Jahr erarbeitet werden.

Eher strukturelle Fragen trieben die Teilnehmenden der Workshops „Internationalisierung“ und „Kommunikation“ um: Wie kann sich das Bündnis in Zukunft stärker international ausrichten und welche Argumente überzeugen am meisten, um neue Mitglieder für das Textilbündnis zu gewinnen?